Clearpath is in the driver’s seat

Recipient: Clearpath Robotics Inc.
Region: Kitchener
Program: Investing in Business Innovation
Total funding received: $950,000

OTTO, the self-driving vehicle that’s transforming industry.
OTTO, the self-driving vehicle that’s transforming industry.

It all began as a passion for robotics for four mechatronics engineering students at the University of Waterloo. Now Matt Rendall and his partners, Bryan Webb and Ryan Gariepy, have helped Canada gain a reputation for world class technology.

Their business, Clearpath Robotics Inc., is a successful unmanned robotics company that grew out of the need for autonomous and affordable robotic solutions. The founders got things off the ground by targeting the education and research market, but it was FedDev Ontario funding through Investing in Business Innovation that helped Clearpath expand into the industrial market with the launch of their newest division, OTTO Motors.

“FedDev Ontario funding was used to accelerate the development and commercialization of our remote software management system for self-driving vehicles and to develop prototypes for client testing and evaluation,” says Rendall, who is the company’s CEO.

OTTO 1500, the first self-driving vehicle for manufacturing centres, propelled the company into serving the industrial sector with a product that can not only handle heavy loads (1500 kgs) but can also navigate on its own, using situational awareness sensors and proprietary software. In April 2016, OTTO Motors released its second self-driving vehicle, the OTTO 100, made for light-load material transport. See for yourself how OTTO is working for industry.

Today, Clearpath has become a leader in the unmanned vehicle robotics industry for research and development with such prominent clients as the Canadian Space Agency, the Department of National Defence, MIT and Carnegie Mellon University. Meanwhile, its industrial division OTTO Motors is seeing rapid adoption of its solutions from clients spanning GE and John Deere.

Based in Waterloo Region, Clearpath maintains close ties with both local universities, while also supporting the Accelerator Centre Waterloo with mentorship services and entrepreneurial insight—a program that offered them immense support in their initial year. Since their start, Clearpath has created more than 100 full time jobs across Canada in the technology sector, and exports to over 40 countries worldwide, which is a major advantage for the Canadian economy.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
To be in this field means that we’re able to have a very meaningful impact on the creation of this industry—we’re able to define the industry.
Matt Rendall, Co-founder and CEO, Clearpath Robotics Inc.
Date modified:

Clearpath est dans le siège du conducteur

Bénéficiaire : Clearpath Robotics inc.
Région : Kitchener
Programme : Investir dans l’innovation des entreprises
Financement total reçu : 950 000 dollars

OTTO, le véhicule autonome qui transforme l’industrie.
OTTO, le véhicule autonome qui transforme l’industrie.

Tout a commencé par une passion pour la robotique de quatre étudiants en génie mécatronique de la University of Waterloo. Maintenant, Matt Rendall et ses partenaires, Bryan Webb et Ryan Gariepy, ont aidé le Canada à acquérir une réputation dans la technologie de calibre mondial.

Leur entreprise, Clearpath Robotics inc., est une entreprise prospère de robotique sans équipage, qui découle du besoin de solutions robotiques autonomes et abordables. Les fondateurs ont mis les choses en branle en ciblant l’éducation et le marché de la recherche, mais c’est le financement de FedDev Ontario dans le cadre du programme Investir dans l’innovation des entreprises qui a aidé Clearpath à prendre de l’expansion et à pénétrer le marché industriel grâce au lancement de leur plus récente division, OTTO Motors.

« Le financement de FedDev Ontario a été utilisé afin d’accélérer le développement et la commercialisation de notre logiciel de système de gestion à distance pour les véhicules autonomes et de mettre au point des prototypes pour l’évaluation et les essais par les clients », informe Matt Rendall, qui est chef de la direction de l’entreprise.

OTTO 1500, le premier véhicule autonome pour les centres de production, a propulsé l’entreprise dans le secteur industriel avec un produit qui peut non seulement soulever des charges lourdes (1 500 kg), mais également se déplacer seul, à l’aide de capteurs sensibles situationnels et d’un logiciel privé. En avril 2016, OTTO Motors a lancé son deuxième véhicule autonome, l’OTTO 100, conçu pour le transport de matériel léger. Voyez par vous-même comment OTTO fonctionne pour l’industrie.

Aujourd’hui, Clearpath est devenu un chef de file dans l’industrie de la robotique des véhicules sans équipage pour la recherche et le développement avec des clients de grande renommée, comme l’Agence spatiale canadienne, le ministère de la Défense nationale, le Massachusetts Institute of Technology et Carnegie-Mellon Institute. Parallèlement, sa division industrielle OTTO Motors observe l’adoption rapide de ses solutions par des clients d’envergure comme General Electric Company et John Deere.

Situé dans la région de Waterloo, Clearpath entretient des rapports étroits avec les deux universités locales, tout en appuyant également l’Accelerator Centre de Waterloo par l’entremise de services de mentorat et un aperçu de l’entrepreneuriat – un programme qui leur a offert un soutien immense durant leur première année. Depuis leurs débuts, Clearpath a créé plus de 100 emplois à temps plein partout au Canada dans le secteur des technologies, et il exporte dans plus de 40 pays dans le monde, ce qui constitue un avantage majeur pour l’économie canadienne.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Être dans ce domaine signifie que nous sommes capables d’avoir une incidence très importante sur la création de cette industrie – nous sommes en mesure de définir l’industrie.
Matt Rendall, cofondateur et chef de la direction de Clearpath Robotics inc.
Date de modification :