Picture this: Super support helps bring photo software to life

Recipient: Flixel Photos Inc.
Region: Toronto
Program: Investing in Business Innovation
Total funding received: $283,333

Tyra Banks, an avid supporter of Flixel Photos Inc.
Tyra Banks, an avid supporter of Flixel Photos Inc.

If a picture is worth a thousand words, Philippe Leblanc has quite the story to tell. The CEO of Flixel Photos Inc., who started his company in 2011, was on the verge of bankruptcy when Tyra Banks, supermodel and producer of America’s Next Top Model, picked his cinemagraph software to promote her show.

The cinemagraph—which integrates subtle, repeated motion in a still image—is a new medium, ideal for the digital age. Leblanc’s idea was to make the software affordable and easy to use so everyone could make “moving pictures.” Banks was so impressed that she invested in the company.

Flixel received FedDev Ontario funding through the Investing in Business Innovation initiative at a critical time in the company’s lifecycle, which helped LeBlanc complete the development of his cinemagraph software. “We are very grateful for this program,” says LeBlanc. “I don’t believe Flixel would exist today without it.”

Today, Flixel’s pioneering technology is being used by thousands of creatives around the world for Fortune 500 ads, popular TV shows—even Facebook.

Flixel has been recognized for its far-reaching achievement, winning the prestigious Apple Design Award, a milestone LeBlanc never could have dreamed of in his early days. Importantly, Flixel remains a successful contributor to the southern Ontario economy and an icon in the Toronto start-up community. With over 90 percent of its revenue coming from outside Canada, it is all reinvested back here at home.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope Google+ LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Funding by FedDev Ontario is a critical component to fostering the community.
Philippe LeBlanc, CEO, Flixel Photos Inc.
Date modified:

Imaginez ceci : un formidable support aide à donner vie au logiciel photo

Bénéficiaire : Flixel Photos inc.
Région : Toronto
Programme : Investir dans l’innovation des entreprises
Financement total reçu : 283 333 dollars

Tyra Banks, une fervente adepte de Flixel Photos inc.
Tyra Banks, une fervente adepte de Flixel Photos inc.

Si une image vaut mille mots, Philippe Leblanc a toute une histoire à raconter. Le chef de la direction de Flixel Photos inc., qui a démarré son entreprise en 2011, était au bord de la faillite lorsque Tyra Banks, top modèle et productrice d’America’s Next Top Model, a choisi son logiciel de cinémagraphie pour faire la promotion de son émission de télévision.

La cinémagraphie – qui intègre un mouvement répété subtil dans une image fixe – est un nouveau média, idéal pour l’ère numérique. L’idée de Philippe Leblanc était de rendre le logiciel abordable et convivial, afin que chacun puisse faire des « images en mouvement ». Tyra Banks était tellement impressionnée qu’elle a investi dans l’entreprise.

Flixel a reçu le financement de FedDev Ontario dans le cadre du programme Investir dans l’innovation des entreprises à un moment crucial dans le cycle de vie de l’entreprise, ce qui a aidé Philippe Leblanc à achever la conception de son logiciel de cinémagraphie. « Nous sommes reconnaissants de ce programme, dit-il. Je ne pense pas que Flixel existerait aujourd’hui sans celui-ci. »

Aujourd’hui, la technologie avant-gardiste de Flixel est utilisée par des milliers de créateurs dans le monde, par exemple les publicités de Fortune 500, des émissions de télévision populaires et même Facebook.

Flixel a été reconnu pour sa réalisation ambitieuse de grande portée, en remportant le prestigieux Apple Design Award, un événement important donc Philippe Leblanc n’aurait jamais pu rêver dans ses débuts. Plus important encore, Flixel continue de contribuer au succès de l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario et demeure une icône dans les communautés en démarrage de Toronto. Avec plus de 90 pour cent de ses revenus provenant de l’extérieur du Canada, la totalité est réinvestie ici, chez nous.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Le financement par FedDev Ontario est une composante essentielle pour encourager la communauté.
Philippe LeBlanc, chef de la direction de Flixel Photos inc.
Date de modification :