Quarterly Financial Report — Quarter ended December 31, 2016

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel, and programs


1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report should be read in conjunction with the 2016–17 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates B. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, Mandate & Program Activities

As Canada's most populous region — home to more than 12.8 million residents living in 288 communities — southern Ontario is a key contributor to the Canadian economy. The Government of Canada created the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) in 2009 to support economic growth in southern Ontario through the delivery of federal programs and services. FedDev Ontario works with communities, businesses and not-for-profit organizations in southern Ontario to actively promote the region and build a strong foundation of investment and partnerships to help secure Canada's long-term prosperity.

FedDev Ontario works as a co-investor, convener, champion and delivery agent, intentionally directing its resources to activities with the greatest regional impacts. Working in collaboration with organizations and businesses, FedDev Ontario is able to advance innovative technologies and leverage community capacity to develop regionally-based economic solutions.

Further details on FedDev Ontario's authorities, mandate and program activities can be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes FedDev Ontario's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by FedDev Ontario—consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates B for the 2016–17 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special-purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

FedDev Ontario uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual financial statements that are part of its performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) Results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase or decrease in authorities available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended December 31, 2016.

2.1 Authorities Analysis

Planned departmental spending in fiscal year 2016–17 totals $257.8 million, a $41.2 million increase over authorities available at the close of the third quarter in the 2015–16 fiscal year. This is comprised of a $41.4 million increase in program authorities and a decrease of $0.2 million in operating authorities.

The $41.4 million increase in program authorities is the result of the approval of an additional $44.4 million in funding for the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, an adjustment to the Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives ($3.0 million decrease and $8.6 million transfer to other government departments), a decrease of $1.0 million to the Advanced Manufacturing Fund and an additional $9.6 million for the grant for the City of Brantford to support the Brantford Greenwich-Mohawk Brownfield Remediation project.

Total authorities
(in millions of dollars)
Bar chart of Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017, compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016 (in millions of dollars) (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure
Total authorities
(in millions of dollars)
Type of authorities  Fiscal Year
(in millions of dollars)
2015–16 2016–17
Operating Spending Authorities 30.3 30.1
Program Spending Authorities 186.2 227.7

2.2 Expenditure Analysis

Used during the Quarter

In the third quarter of the 2016–17 fiscal year, total budgetary expenditures were
$51.6 million compared to $47.0 million reported in the same period of 2015–16. This represents a year-over-year increase of $4.6 million (or 10 percent).

Expenditures for the Agency are primarily driven by spending in the areas of grants and contributions, and personnel. For the quarter, spending includes $45.1 million on programs and $6.5 million on operating expenditures, representing an increase of $5.0 million in programs and a decrease of $0.4 million in operating expenditures over fiscal year 2015–16.

Year-to-Date Analysis

On a year-to-date basis, as of the end of the third quarter of fiscal year 2016–17, total budgetary expenditures were $118.1 million, compared to $104.1 at the end of the same period for 2015–16. This represents a year-over-year increase of $14.0 million (or 13 percent). This increase is mainly attributed to higher expenditures in the Agency's grants and contributions for new programming under the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, and increased spending under the Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives and Advanced Manufacturing Fund, which reflects the maturity of projects and increases in claim reimbursement.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The following provides additional analysis of key expenditure variances by Standard Object:

Used during the Quarter

Spending on transfer payments was $45.1 million in the third quarter of 2016–17, compared to $40.1 million in the same quarter of 2015–16. The increase is due to the current suite of programs having committed funding against a portfolio of projects that are currently underway, resulting in increased submissions of eligible costs for reimbursement.

Personnel-related expenditures totaled $5.5 million, a decrease of $400,000 from the $5.9 million reported in the same period for 2015–16. This change is attributable to efficiencies gained through the alignment of all regional development agencies under the Innovation, Science and Economic Development portfolio in the fall of 2015, and the time involved in recruiting qualified staff to fill positions across the Agency.

Year-to-Date Analysis

Transfer payment spending has increased by $13.8 million (or 16 percent) year-over-year, which is attributed to the higher expenditures in grants and contributions during the current fiscal year as projects progressed to maturity and incurred more eligible costs.

Operating expenditures have increased by $0.2 million (or 1 percent). This minor change reflects the net impact of both spending increases and decreases across the Agency to align with current year activities.

Spending in the area of professional and special services has increased by $1.1 million reflecting the timing difference of payments for Memorandums of Understanding for services from other government departments.

Spending has decreased by $524,000 in personnel, resulting from both the savings from alignment under the Minister, ISED portfolio and the time required to staff positions arising from regular turnover. Transportation and telecommunications, and machinery and equipment have also decreased by $120,000 and $198,000 respectively, which is attributed to the timing of invoicing associated with office relocation projects. In 2015–16 FedDev Ontario relocated its headquarters to Waterloo. While regional office relocations are taking place in 2016–17, invoices have yet to be received for these activities.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

FedDev Ontario maintains a Corporate Risk Profile, which identifies and assesses risks that could impact the objectives of the agency. To minimize potential financial impact, FedDev Ontario maintains a strong system of budgeting, forecasting and internal controls, helping to mitigate financial risks related to the Agency's funding authorities.

4. Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

In Budget 2016, the Government of Canada committed an additional $150 million over two years to the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, doubling the annual contributions from FedDev Ontario to $44.4 million in fiscal years 2016–17 and 2017–18.

With respect to personnel changes, on January 4, 2017, Alexia Touralias was named acting Vice-President, Business Innovation and Community Development.

Additionally, in advance of publishing quarter-end results, on February 1, 2017 Michael Hammond was appointed as acting Chief Financial Officer.

Approval by Senior Officials

Original signed by

space to insert Nancy Horsman' signature
James Meddings
President

Ottawa, Canada

Original signed by

Space to insert Kei Moray's signature
Michael Hammond, CPA CGA
Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Table: Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2016–17 Fiscal Year 2015–16
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1–Net Operating Expenditures 26,870 5,688 17,801 27,161 6,118 17,633
Vote 5–Grants and Contributions 227,680 45,112 97,928 186,240 40,086 84,108
Budgetary statutory authorities:
Employee benefit plans 3,214 804 2,411 3,153 787 2,364
Total budgetary authorities 257,764 51,604 118,140 216,554 46,991 104,105
Non-budgetary authorities - - - - - -
Total authorites 257,764 51,604 118,140 216,554 46,991 104,105

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2016–17 Fiscal Year 2015–16
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel Footnote 2 23,018 5,525 16,454 22,893 5,871 16,978
Transportation and communications 997 165 360 985 198 480
Information 494 47 126 240 58 128
Professional and special services 4,418 717 3,090 4,658 667 1,947
Rentals 172 8 44 388 20 49
Repair and maintenance 316 2 38 596 24 90
Utilities, materials and supplies 301 12 31 130 24 75
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 0 0 0 38 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 350 15 52 365 41 250
Transfer payments 227,680 45,112 97,928 186,240 40,086 84,108
Other subsidies and payments 18 1 17 22 2 -
Total budgetary expenditures 257,764 51,604 118,140 216,554 46,991 104,105
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel — Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants concernant le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes


1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction conformément à l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prévues dans la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport devrait être lu conjointement avec le Budget principal des dépenses de 2016-2017 et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses B. Ce rapport trimestriel n'a fait l'objet d'aucune vérification externe ni d'un examen.

Autorisation, mandat et activités de programme

En tant que région la plus peuplée du Canada, comptant plus de 12,8 millions de résidents répartis dans 288 collectivités, le Sud de l'Ontario contribue de façon importante à l'économie canadienne. Le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) en 2009 afin d'appuyer la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario grâce à la prestation de programmes et de services fédéraux. FedDev Ontario travaille avec les collectivités, les entreprises et les organisations à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario pour promouvoir de manière active la région et pour construire une assise solide d'investissements et de partenariats permettant de favoriser à long terme la prospérité du Canada.

FedDev Ontario agit en tant que co-investisseur, rassembleur, champion et agent d'exécution, en plus de consacrer de façon réfléchie ses ressources aux activités dont les répercussions régionales sont les plus importantes. Grâce à sa collaboration avec des organisations et des entreprises, FedDev Ontario est en mesure de faire progresser les technologies novatrices et de tirer parti des capacités des collectivités en vue d'élaborer des solutions économiques régionales.

De plus amples renseignements au sujet des autorisations, du mandat et des activités de programme de FedDev Ontario se trouvent dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et la Partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation

La direction a élaboré le présent rapport trimestriel en utilisant une méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'État des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de FedDev Ontario accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par FedDev Ontario de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses B pour l'exercice 2016-2017. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été élaboré au moyen d'un cadre de présentation de rapports à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par des lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par des dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins précises.

FedDev Ontario utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels dans le cadre du processus de rapports sur son rendement. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et annuels cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les éléments importants qui ont contribué à l'augmentation ou à la diminution nette des autorisations disponibles pour l'année et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre qui a pris fin le 31 décembre 2016.

2.1 Analyse des autorisations

Les dépenses ministérielles prévues pour l'exercice 2016-2017 s'élèvent à 257,8 millions de dollars, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 41,2 millions de dollars par rapport aux autorisations disponibles à la fin du troisième trimestre de l'exercice 2015-2016. Cela comprend une augmentation des autorisations de programmes de 41,4 millions de dollars et une diminution de 0,2 million de dollars pour les autorisations de fonctionnement.

L'augmentation des autorisations de programmes de 41,4 millions de dollars fait suite à l'approbation de 44,4 millions de dollars supplémentaires en financement pour le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150, à un rajustement des Initiatives pour la prospérité du Sud de l'Ontario (diminution de 3 millions de dollars et transfert de 8,6 millions de dollars à d'autres ministères), à une diminution de 1,0 million de dollars du Fonds de fabrication de pointe et à un financement additionnel de 9,6 millions de dollars pour la subvention à la Ville de Brantford pour soutenir le projet d'assainissement de la friche industrielle Greenwich-Mohawk à Brantford.

Autorisations totales (en millions de dollars)
Graphique à barres illustrant les autorisations des dépenses totales (en millions de dollars) (la description détaillée se trouve sous le graphique)
Description de la figure
Autorisations totales (en millions de dollars)
Type d'autorisation Exercice financier
2015–16 2016–17
Autorisations des dépenses de fonctionnement 30,3 30,1
Autorisations des dépenses de programmes 186,2 227,7

2.2 Analyse des dépenses

Utilisé au cours du trimestre

Au cours du troisième trimestre de l'exercice 2016-2017, le total des dépenses budgétaires s'élevait à 51,6 millions de dollars, comparativement au montant de 47,0 millions de dollars enregistré au cours de la même période en 2015-2016, ce qui représente une augmentation d'un exercice à l'autre de 4,6 millions de dollars (soit 10 %).

Les dépenses de l'Agence sont surtout liées aux dépenses consacrées aux subventions, aux contributions et au personnel. Les dépenses trimestrielles comprennent 45,1 millions de dollars pour les programmes et 6,5 millions de dollars pour le fonctionnement, ce qui représente une hausse de 5,0 millions de dollars pour les dépenses de programmes et une baisse de 0,4 million de dollars pour les dépenses de fonctionnement au cours de l'exercice 2015-2016.

Analyse depuis le début de l'exercice

Depuis le début de l'exercice, à la fin du troisième trimestre de l'exercice 2016-2017, le total des dépenses budgétaires s'élevait à 118,1 millions de dollars comparativement au montant de 104,1 millions de dollars enregistré au cours de la même période en 2015-2016, ce qui représente une augmentation d'un exercice à l'autre de 14,0 millions de dollars (ou 13 %). Cette augmentation est attribuable principalement aux dépenses plus élevées en subventions et contributions de l'Agence afin d'élaborer de nouveaux programmes dans le cadre du Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 et à une augmentation des dépenses dans le cadre des Initiatives pour la prospérité du Sud de l'Ontario (IPSO) et du Fonds de fabrication de pointe (FFP), ce qui reflète la maturité des projets et l'augmentation des demandes de remboursement.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Nous présentons ci-dessous une analyse supplémentaire des principaux écarts liés aux dépenses par article courant.

Utilisé au cours du trimestre

Les dépenses liées aux paiements de transfert s'élevaient à 45,1 millions de dollars au cours du troisième trimestre de 2016-2017, par rapport au montant de 40,1 millions de dollars enregistré au cours du même trimestre en 2015-2016. Cette hausse est attribuable à la série actuelle de programmes dont le financement est engagé par rapport à un portefeuille de projets en cours, ce qui entraîne une augmentation des demandes de remboursement des coûts admissibles..

Les dépenses liées au personnel s'élevaient à 5,5 millions de dollars, ce qui représente une baisse de 400 000 dollars par rapport aux dépenses de 5,9 millions de dollars enregistrées pendant la même période en 2015-2016. Ce changement est attribuable aux gains d'efficacité réalisés par l'harmonisation de tous les organismes de développement régional dans le portefeuille d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique à l'automne de 2015, et au temps accordé au processus de recrutement du personnel qualifié pour doter des postes dans l'ensemble de l'Agence.

Analyse depuis le début de l'exercice

Les dépenses de paiements de transfert ont augmenté de 13,8 millions de dollars (ou 16 %), une hausse qui s'explique par des dépenses plus élevées en ce qui concerne les subventions et contributions au cours de l'exercice actuel à mesure que les projets progressent vers la maturité et que des coûts supplémentaires admissibles sont engagés.

Les dépenses de fonctionnement ont augmenté de 0,2 million de dollars (soit 1 %). Ce changement mineur reflète l'incidence nette des hausses et des baisses des dépenses pour l'ensemble de l'Agence afin de s'harmoniser aux activités de l'année en cours.

Les dépenses dans le domaine des services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 1,1 million de dollars, reflétant la différence temporelle des paiements relatifs au protocole d'entente conclu pour des services offerts par d'autres ministères gouvernementaux.

Les dépenses en personnel ont diminué de 524 000 dollars, en raison des économies de l'alignement relevant du ministre, du portefeuille d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) et du temps consacré à la dotation résultant d'un constant roulement du personnel. Les dépenses relatives au transport, aux télécommunications, ainsi qu'à la machinerie et à l'équipement ont aussi diminué de 120 000 dollars et de 198 000 dollars respectivement; une baisse qui s'explique par le calendrier de facturation associé aux projets de déménagement du bureau. En 2015-2016, FedDev Ontario a déménagé son administration centrale à Waterloo. Bien que les déménagements des bureaux régionaux aient lieu en 2016-2017, les factures pour ces activités n'ont pas encore été reçues.

3. Risques et incertitudes

FedDev Ontario tient à jour un profil de risque organisationnel, qui permet de déterminer et d'évaluer les risques qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les objectifs de l'Agence. Afin de réduire au minimum d'éventuelles répercussions financières, FedDev Ontario maintient un solide système d'établissement du budget, de prévisions et de contrôles internes qui contribue à atténuer les risques financiers liés aux autorisations de financement de l'Agence.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Dans le budget de 2016, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à offrir un financement additionnel de 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans au Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150, doublant ainsi les contributions annuelles de FedDev Ontario, qui atteindront 44,4 millions de dollars au cours des exercices 2016-2017 et 2017-2018.

Pour ce qui est des mutations du personnel, le 4 janvier 2017, Alexia Touralias a été nommée au poste de vice-présidente intérimaire d'Innovation commerciale et développement communautaire.

En outre, avant la publication des résultats de la fin du trimestre, Michael Hammond a été nommé au poste de dirigeant principal des finances (DPF) intérimaire le 1er février 2017.

Approuvé par les cadres supérieurs

Original signé par

space to insert Nancy Horsman' signature
James Meddings
Président

Ottawa, Canada

Original signé par

Space to insert Kei Moray's signature
Michael Hammond, CPA CGA
Dirigeant principal des finances

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Tableau : État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement nettes 26 870 5 688 17 801 27 161 6 118 17 633
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 227 680 45 112 97 928 186 240 40 086 84 108
Autorisations législatives budgétaires :
Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 214 804 2 411 3 153 787 2 364
Autorisations budgétaires totales 257 764 51 604 118 140 216 554 46 991 104 105
Autorisations non budgétaires - - - - - -
Autorisations totales 257 764 51 604 118 140 216 554 46 991 104 105

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnelles Note de bas de page 2 23 018 5 525 16 454 22 893 5 871 16 978
Transports et communications 997 165 360 985 198 480
Information 494 47 126 240 58 128
Services professionnels et spéciaux 4 418 717 3 090 4 658 667 1 947
Locations 172 8 44 388 20 49
Services de réparation et d'entretien 316 2 38 596 24 90
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 301 12 31 130 24 75
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 0 0 0 38 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 350 15 52 365 41 250
Paiements de transfert 227 680 45 112 97 928 186 240 40 086 84 108
Autres subventions et paiements 18 1 17 22 2 -
Dépenses budgétaires totales 257 764 51 604 118 140 216 554 46 991 104 105
Date de modification :