Fanshawe Pioneer Village brings history to life

Recipient: London and Middlesex Heritage Museum’s Fanshawe Pioneer Village
Region: London and Middlesex
Program: Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund; Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program
Total funding received: $259,374

The newly restored boardwalk at Cooper Marsh has revitalized a key nature attraction.
Volunteers stroll through the Village in costume, re-enacting 19th-century rural living.

Preserving the historical heritage of the area is a top priority for Fanshawe Pioneer Village, the 46-acre living history site that is owned and operated by the London and Middlesex Heritage Museum. Yet, due to the size of the village, the task of maintaining its physical structure is an ongoing challenge.

The Village received funding through FedDev Ontario’s Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF) and the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program to make necessary repairs and restorations to its buildings. The projects contribute to an accessible and enjoyable experience for the public in a friendly environment that accurately represents the history of the area.

“This is truly a success story!” says Sheila A. Johnson, former-executive director of the London and Middlesex Heritage Museum and lead on the CIIF project. “As you can imagine, Fanshawe Pioneer Village is a big place to maintain when most of your staff are volunteers. Thanks to two partnerships with FedDev Ontario, that job has been made easier.”

Fanshawe Pioneer Village is a regional tourism draw contributing a minimum of $1.8 million to the local economy annually. It boasts 33 original and replica heritage buildings, set in a picturesque, natural landscape. The living village attracts 43,000 visitors annually—including 15,000 school children involved in the heritage education program—to enjoy a variety of high-quality special events, from the history of dance to historic holidays to military manoeuvers.

According to current Executive Director, Shanna Dunlop, FedDev Ontario’s investment, along with funds raised by the community, have ensured the long-term maintenance of the Village’s heritage structures and will extend the Village’s function as a fun, educational and safe destination. Prior to the renovations, specifically roof repairs and storefront restorations, she says that deterioration of the buildings were threatening their continued use.

Recently, Canada 150 funds helped transform the Villages’streetscape, providing a renewed platform for interpreting early trades and businesses in turn-of-the-century London. “It is so fitting that we will be opening our new tinsmith shop and historic Rotary office displays this summer in time to celebrate our country’s 150th anniversary,” says Dunlop.

All in all, Fanshawe Pioneer Village is a vivid reflection of the past with a clear vision for the future of London and Middlesex in promoting civic engagement through experiences with local history.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope Google+ LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Thanks to FedDev Ontario and all of our community supporters who generously matched the funding we received, we are able to share and celebrate our community history in an accessible and immersive way.
Shanna Dunlop, Executive Director of London and Middlesex Heritage Museum
Date modified:

Fanshawe Pioneer Village donne vie à l’histoire

Bénéficiaire : London and Middlesex Heritage Museum’s Fanshawe Pioneer Village
Région : London et Middlesex
Programme : Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire; Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150
Financement total reçu : 259 374 $

Des bénévoles flânent en costume dans le village, reconstituant la vie rurale du 19e siècle.
Des bénévoles flânent en costume dans le village, reconstituant la vie rurale du 19e siècle.

La préservation du patrimoine historique de la région est une priorité absolue pour le Fanshawe Pioneer Village,un lieu d’histoire vivante de 46 acres qui appartient au London and Middlesex Heritage Museum et est exploité par ce dernier. Toutefois, en raison de la taille du village, l'entretien de sa structure physique demeure un défi permanent.

Le village a reçu un financement du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) de FedDev Ontario et du Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 pour effectuer les réparations et les restaurations nécessaires à ses bâtiments. Les projets contribuent à une expérience accessible et agréable pour le public dans un environnement convivial qui représente fidèlement l’histoire de la région

« Il s'agit réellement d'une histoire de réussite!, affirme Sheila A. Johnson, ancienne directrice administrative du London and Middlesex Heritage Museum et chef du projet du FAIC. Comme vous pouvez l’imaginer, le Fanshawe Pionnier Village représente un vaste lieu à entretenir lorsque la plupart de vos employés sont des bénévoles. Grâce à deux partenariats avec FedDev Ontario, cette tâche a été rendue possible. »

Fanshawe Pioneer Village est un attrait touristique régional dont les retombées économiques dans la région atteignent au moins 1,8 million de dollars chaque année. Il compte 33 bâtiments originaux et répliques du patrimoine situés dans un paysage pittoresque et naturel. Le village vivant attire 43 000 visiteurs chaque année, dont 15 000 écoliers participant au Programme de l’éducation sur le patrimoine, pour profiter d’une variété d’événements spéciaux de haute qualité, de l’histoire de la danse aux fêtes historiques en passant par des manœuvres militaires.

Selon la directrice administrative actuelle, Shanna Dunlop, l’investissement de FedDev Ontario ainsi que les fonds recueillis par la collectivité ont permis d’assurer l'entretien à long terme des structures patrimoniales du village et de faire de celui-ci une destination amusante, éducative et sécuritaire. Avant les rénovations, en particulier la réfection des toits et la restauration des vitrines, Mme Dunlop souligne que la détérioration des bâtiments menaçait leur usage continu.

Récemment, les fonds du Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 ont contribué à transformer le paysage des rues du village, offrant ainsi une plate-forme renouvelée permettant l’interprétation des métiers et des entreprises du début du siècle. « Nous serons donc en mesure d'ouvrir notre nouvelle boutique de ferblantier et le bureau historique Rotary cet été à temps pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de notre pays », affirme Mme Dunlop.

Dans l’ensemble, Fanshawe Pioneer Village est un reflet vivant du passé offrant une vision claire de l’avenir de London et de Middlesex tout en faisant la promotion de l’engagement civique au moyen d'expériences de l’histoire locale.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope Google+ LinkedIn RSS
« Grâce à FedDev Ontario et à tous les généreux sympathisants de notre collectivité qui ont permis d'amasser une somme égale aux fonds que nous avons reçus, nous pouvons partager et célébrer l’histoire de notre collectivité de façon accessible et immersive. »
Shanna Dunlop, directrice administrative du London and Middlesex Heritage Museum
Date de modification :