University of Waterloo stokes the fire for start-ups

Recipient: University of Waterloo
Region: Waterloo
Program: Scientists and Engineers in Business
Total funding received: $630,000

Honeybees now have a greater chance at survival thanks to NOD Apiary Product’s innovative product.
Thalmic Labs co-founders (from left to right) CEO, Stephen Lake, Aaron Grant and Matthew Bailey are University of Waterloo grads and successful entrepreneurs.

The University of Waterloo is well known for its leadership in entrepreneurship and innovation and recognizes the importance of supporting start-ups, many of which  have become essential to job creation and economic growth in southern Ontario. Because of this, the University of Waterloo partnered with FedDev Ontario to have a direct impact on the entrepreneurial success of the region’s most promising science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) graduates.

The University received funding from FedDev Ontario’s Science and Engineers in Business (SEB) program to provide fellowship grants through the school’s commercialization office (WatCo). According to Gary Brock, Director of Strategic Initiatives in the University’s Office of Research, indentification of new commercial opportunities and the necessary support to help develop these highly promising new technologies would not have been possible otherwise.

“Under the direction and leadership of the University’s Office of Research, the SEB Commercialization Fellowship program filled an important gap by providing the funding, business guidance and encouragement for our start-ups to build their companies and engage with our local ecosystem and beyond into global market opportunities,” says Brock.

The SEB Commercialization Fellowship program resulted in  the launch of 17 new companies, including highly successful, Thalmic Labs, Nicoya Lifesciences Inc. and Intellijoint Surgical Inc.

This is great news not only for the southern Ontario economy, but also for the grads themselves—and the opportunity has been life-changing. For Thalmic Labs, the fellowship accelerated the development of the company’s Myo™ gesture-control armband, leading to multiple rounds of venture capital investment.

“Without this assistance, it would have been extremely difficult, if not impossible, to get Myo™ (our first product) and the company to where it needed to be to attract seed funding to keep the company afloat,” says Thalmic Labs CEO, Stephen Lake, whose first significant private investment amounted to $14.5 million, which is one of the largest in Canadian history given the age and stage of the company.

The University of Waterloo has made and continues to make start-up company creation and entrepreneurship an exciting, real option for STEM grads, which Brock says was the ultimate buisness goal.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope Google+ LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario’s funding support enabled the University of Waterloo to play a strategic role in the commercialization of early stage technologies created by its new grads.
Gary Brock, Director of Strategic Initiatives, University of Waterloo
Date modified:

L’Université de Waterloo alimente le feu pour les entreprises en démarrage

Bénéficiaire : Université de Waterloo
Région : Waterloo
Programme : Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires
Financement total reçu : 630 000 $

Cofondateurs de Thalmic Labs (de gauche à droite), Stephen Lake, qui agit à titre de directeur général, Aaron Grant et Matthew Bailey sont des diplômés de l’Université de Waterloo et des entrepreneurs reconnus.
Cofondateurs de Thalmic Labs (de gauche à droite), Stephen Lake, qui agit à titre de directeur général, Aaron Grant et Matthew Bailey sont des diplômés de l’Université de Waterloo et des entrepreneurs reconnus.

L’Université de Waterloo est bien connue pour son leadership en entrepreneuriat et en innovation, et reconnaît l’importance d’appuyer des entreprises en démarrage, dont la plupart d’entre elles sont devenues essentielles à la création d’emplois et à la croissance économique dans le Sud de l’Ontario. De ce fait, l’Université de Waterloo s’est associée à FedDev Ontario afin d’avoir une incidence directe sur le succès entrepreneurial des diplômés de programmes de sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques (STIM) les plus prometteurs de la région.

L’Université a reçu un financement du programme des Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires (SIA) de FedDev Ontario pour offrir des subventions pour des bourses de recherche grâce au Bureau de commercialisation de l’école (WatCo). Selon Gary Brock, directeur des initiatives stratégiques du Bureau de la recherche de l’Université, la détermination de nouvelles possibilités commerciales et le soutien nécessaire pour aider à élaborer ces nouvelles technologies fort prometteuses n’auraient pas été possibles autrement.

« Sous la direction et le leadership du Bureau de la recherche de l’Université, le programme de bourses de recherches en commercialisation des SIA a comblé une lacune importante en offrant un financement, des conseils d’affaires et un encouragement afin que nos entreprises en démarrage développent leurs entreprises et participent à notre écosystème local et au-delà lors d’occasions sur le marché mondial », mentionne M. Brock.

Le programme de bourses de recherches en commercialisation des SIA a occasionné le lancement de 17 nouvelles entreprises, y compris des entreprises très fructueuses, Thalmic Labs, Nicoya Lifesciences Inc. et Intellijoint Surgical Inc.

C’est une excellente nouvelle non seulement pour l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario, mais également pour les diplômés eux-mêmes, et la possibilité a changé des vies. Pour Thalmic Labs, la bourse de recherche a accéléré le développement du brassard de contrôle gestuel Myomd de l’entreprise, menant à de nombreuses rondes d’investissement de capital de risque.

« Sans cette aide, il aurait été extrêmement difficile, voire impossible, d’amener Myomd (notre premier produit) et l’entreprise à l’endroit où ils devaient être pour attirer un financement de démarrage afin de maintenir l’entreprise à flot », affirme le directeur général de Thalmic Labs, Stephen Lake, dont le premier investissement privé important totalisait 14,5 millions de dollars, l’un des plus grands dans l’histoire du Canada étant donné l’âge de l’entreprise et le stade auquel elle se trouve.

L’Université de Waterloo a rendu et continue de rendre la création et l’entrepreneuriat d’une entreprise en démarrage une option réaliste et excitante pour les diplômés en STIM, ce qui, selon M. Brock est l’objectif opérationnel ultime.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Le soutien au financement de FedDev Ontario a permis à l’Université de Waterloo de jouer un rôle stratégique dans la commercialisation des technologies émergentes créées par ses nouveaux diplômés.
Gary Brock, directeur des initiatives stratégiques, Université de Waterloo
Date de modification :