George Brown College’s Green Building Centre promotes sustainable construction solutions

Recipient: George Brown College – Green Building Centre
Region: Toronto
Program: Prosperity Initiative
Total funding received: $6.6 million

New technology and innovative solutions are continuously developed in the Green Building Centre.
New technology and innovative solutions are continuously developed in the Green Building Centre.

Green sustainability is being explored and redefined at George Brown College’s Green Building Centre, which has become an important hub for innovative and environmentally responsible practices in the construction sector. The Centre, which is a state-of-the-art, industry-focused applied research and innovation structure, was funded in part by FedDev Ontario’s Prosperity Initiative. It’s a space where businesses and students have access to advanced research laboratories so they can work together to test, prototype and commercialize a variety of green technologies, including building automation and sustainable energy production.

“Since the Centre opened, we’ve assisted over 50 industry partners on 72 projects [that create] systems and services that will have a lasting impact on our environment,” says Dawn Davidson, Associate Vice-President of Research and Innovation for George Brown College. “Funding from FedDev Ontario was crucial in standing up the building, outfitting the labs, and providing business supports to help local industry bring their ideas to life.”

The Green Building Centre is driving Canadian innovation by focusing on construction practices that are environmentally responsible, resource-efficient and can be sustained throughout a building's life-cycle: from siting to design, construction, operation, maintenance, renovation and demolition.

Created to meet the innovation needs of local firms, the Green Building Centre was developed in response to the marketplace and, since its opening, has provided an environmentally smart location for the Canadian construction sector to promote green construction and sustainable building practices.

“The Canadian construction sector is currently behind the rest of the world in the research, adoption and integration of BIM (Building Information Modeling) technology into its business models,” says Davidson. “FedDev Ontario’s investment specifically helped create the College’s BIM laboratory, which has helped Canadian construction and building owners to yield big cost and time savings and significantly reduce carbon emissions.”

In addition, the Green Building Centre is helping to deliver a new generation of highly-skilled, tech-savvy graduates, equipped with problem-solving experience in real world contexts. More over, the rapidly evolving sector will provide students with increasing employment prospects in national and international markets. This further emphasizes the value of the Centre as a cornerstone for construction and engineering technologies.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope Google+ LinkedIn RSS Feeds
This funding has enabled us to help many companies get new products and services to market, while helping our graduates gain employment.
Dawn Davidson, Associate Vice-President of Research and Innovation for George Brown College
Date modified:

Le Green Building Centre du Collège George Brown favorise les solutions durables en matière de construction

Bénéficiaire : Collège George Brown – Green Building Centre
Région : Toronto
Programme : Initiative pour la prospérité
Financement total reçu : 6,6 millions de dollars

De nouvelles technologies et des solutions novatrices sont continuellement élaborées au Green Building Centre
De nouvelles technologies et des solutions novatrices sont continuellement élaborées au Green Building Centre

Au Green Building Centre du Collège George Brown, on étudie et redéfinit la durabilité écologique. Ce centre est devenu un centre important de pratiques novatrices et écologiquement responsables dans le secteur de la construction. Le Centre, qui est une infrastructure d’avant-garde en recherche appliquée axée sur l’industrie et l’innovation, a été financé en partie par l’Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario. Il s’agit d’un espace où les entreprises et les étudiants ont accès à des laboratoires de recherche avancée pour qu’ils puissent travailler ensemble à tester, effectuer du prototypage et commercialiser une variété de technologies écologiques, y compris l’automatisation et la production d’énergie durable.

« Depuis l’ouverture du Centre, nous avons aidé plus de 50 partenaires industriels dans le cadre de 72 projets [qui créent] des systèmes et des services qui auront des effets durables sur notre environnement », a déclaré Dawn Davidson, vice-président associé de la Recherche et de l’innovation au Collège George Brown. « Le financement de FedDev Ontario était essentiel dans l’érection du bâtiment, l’équipement des laboratoires et dans la prestation du soutien d’entreprise pour aider les industries locales à donner vie à leurs idées. »

Le Green Building Centre fait progresser l’innovation canadienne par des systèmes de construction avancés en se concentrant sur les pratiques de construction responsables sur le plan environnemental et éco-efficaces tout au long du cycle de vie d’un bâtiment : de la sélection de l’emplacement à la conception, la construction, le fonctionnement, l’entretien, la rénovation et la démolition.

Créé pour répondre aux besoins d’innovation des entreprises locales, le Green Building Centre a été développé en réponse au marché et, depuis son ouverture, a fourni un lieu écologiquement intelligent pour le secteur canadien de la construction afin de promouvoir des pratiques de construction écologiques et de bâtiments durables.

« Le secteur canadien de la construction accuse actuellement un retard par rapport au reste du monde dans les domaines de la recherche, de l’adoption et de l’intégration de la technologie BIM (Modélisation de l’information du bâtiment) dans ses modèles opérationnels », a affirmé Davidson. « L’investissement de FedDev Ontario a spécifiquement aidé à créer le laboratoire BIM du Collège, lequel a aidé la construction canadienne et les propriétaires de bâtiment à réaliser des économies importantes et à gagner du temps, puis à réduire de façon importante les émissions de carbone. »

De plus, le Green Building Centre aide à la production d’une nouvelle génération de diplômés hautement qualifiés et spécialisés sur le plan technologique, dotés d’une expérience en résolution de problèmes dans des contextes propres au monde réel. Par ailleurs, le secteur qui évolue rapidement leur fournira des perspectives d’emploi grandissantes sur les marchés nationaux et internationaux, accentuant davantage la valeur du Centre en tant que pierre angulaire des technologies de la construction et de l’ingénierie.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Ce financement nous a permis d’aider de nombreuses entreprises à lancer de nouveaux produits et services tout en aidant nos diplômés à décrocher un emploi
Dawn Davidson, vice-président associé de la Recherche et de l’innovation au Collège George Brown
Date de modification :