The Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline is improving lives with new healthcare advances

Recipient: The Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline (York University and Southlake Regional Health Centre)
Region: Toronto
Program: Investing in Commercialization Partnerships
Total funding allocated: up to $15 million

The Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline develops technology to positively impact people’s lives on a daily basis.
The Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline develops technology to positively impact people’s lives on a daily basis.

There’s an old saying that, “two heads are better than one,” so when it comes to developing a leading-edge healthcare system, partnerships are ultimately the best approach for bringing new ideas—and new technology—into action. New technology can result in a life-changing breakthrough; the end of an illness or the preservation of a young life.

In southern Ontario, a new collaborative initiative called the Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline (the Health Ecosphere) is bringing scientists, businesses and research institutes together to develop technology-guided solutions that will ultimately improve patient outcomes and reduce healthcare costs. The influential consortium is led by York University in partnership with Southlake Regional Health Centre, along with the University Health Network and other industry leaders. The Health Ecosphere is being supported by FedDev Ontario through Investing in Commercialization Partnerships—an Agency initiative that focuses on innovation, collaboration, commercialization and supporting business development through various stages of growth.

“FedDev Ontario has been instrumental in generating the push needed to formalize partnerships in our consortium,” says Niusha Barmala, Executive Director, the Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline. “We believe FedDev Ontario has created new economic momentum and we are honoured to be a part of this important initiative.”

The consortium operates with the vision that healthcare is a catalyst for improving population health and sustaining innovation. The group is dedicated to developing and deploying new technologies that address many of today’s biggest health challenges. As an example, Artemis is a first-of-its-kind neonatal health informatics research project that is the brainchild of Dr. Carolyn McGregor, a computer scientist and former Canada Research Chair in Health Informatics at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. In collaboration with Southlake Regional Health Centre and IBM Canada, this project is aimed at reducing mortality rates in premature babies.

SOSCIP, which is another consortium project funded through FedDev Ontario, helped establish the architecture of Artemis while supporting the data testing to ensure its readiness for a commercial launch. Subsequent funding through the Health Ecosphere has enabled market trials of Artemis with two new hospitals that are demonstrating its potential from a medicine perspective.

“This project has fostered three indirect partnerships and the platform has expanded to three countries,” says Barmala. “Artemis currently monitors 1,000+ babies in order to enable early diagnosis and treatment of critical neonatal problems.”

The Health Ecosphere has also developed BriDi and BriDi Flight, technology used for brain assessment and functionality training in at-risk dementia patients, as well as Medly, a chronic disease management platform that was operationally deployed at the Peter Munk Cardiac Centre at the Toronto General Hospital.

“This is just the beginning for us,” says Barmala. “The consortium is only half-way through its work and has already maintained and created 81 full-time jobs, more than 32 direct partnerships, with two products deployed internationally and two products licensed.”

According to Barmala, the Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline has the tools, partnerships and infrastructure needed to transform the health of Canadians, including Indigenous population health, all the while stimulating the southern Ontario economy. FedDev Ontario is proud to be a part of this partnership.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario has been more than a funder to us. Its operational and leadership teams have consistently shown their willingness to provide their expertise in solving multiple challenges that occur in multi-sector projects.
Niusha Barmala, Executive Director, The Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline
Date modified:

Le Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline améliore les vies grâce à de nouvelles avancées en soins de santé

Bénéficiaire : Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline
Région : Toronto
Programme : Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation
Financement total accordé : jusqu’à 15 millions de dollars

La technologie développée par Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline a une incidence positive sur la vie quotidienne des gens.
La technologie développée par Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline a une incidence positive sur la vie quotidienne des gens.

Il y a un vieux dicton selon lequel « deux têtes valent mieux qu’une ». Ainsi, lorsqu’il s’agit du développement de systèmes de soins de la santé à la fine pointe, les partenariats représentent ultimement la meilleure approche pour mettre de nouvelles idées – et de nouvelles technologies – à profit. Une nouvelle technologie peut signifier une percée qui change une vie, la fin d’une maladie ou la sauvegarde d’une jeune vie.

Dans le Sud de l’Ontario, une nouvelle initiative de collaboration nommée « Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline » rassemble des scientifiques, des entreprises et des instituts de recherche dans le but d’élaborer des solutions guidées par la technologie qui amélioreront au final la situation des patients et réduiront les coûts des soins de santé. Ce consortium influent est dirigé par la York University, en partenariat avec le Centre régional de santé de Southlake et d’autres leaders de l’industrie. L’initiative « Health Ecosphere » est appuyée par FedDev Ontario dans le cadre du programme Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation – une initiative parmi plusieurs de l’Agence qui visent à appuyer le développement des entreprises à divers stades de croissance.

« FedDev Ontario a grandement contribué à l’officialisation des partenariats dans notre consortium, déclare Niusha Barmala, directrice exécutive, Health Ecosphere : An Innovation Pipeline for Commercial Health Solutions. Nous croyons que FedDev Ontario a créé un nouvel élan économique et nous sommes honorés de faire partie de cette importante initiative. »

Le consortium opère selon la vision que les soins de santé constituent un catalyseur pour l’amélioration de la santé de la population et le maintien de l’innovation. Le groupe est dédié au développement et au déploiement de nouvelles technologies destinées à aborder bon nombre des plus importants défis du jour en matière de santé. À titre d’exemple, Artemis est le premier projet de recherche du genre en informatique néonatale. Il s’agit de l’invention personnelle du Dr Carolyn McGregor, informaticienne et auparavant chaire de recherche du Canada en informatique de la santé à l’Institut universitaire de technologie de l’Ontario. En collaboration avec Centre régional de santé de Southlake et IBM Canada, ce projet cherche à réduire les taux de mortalité chez les enfants nés avant terme.

La, Plateforme d’innovation dans l’information intelligente du sud de l’Ontario (SOSCIP), qui est un autre consortium financé par FedDev Ontario, a aidé à établir l’architecture d’Artemis et soutient ses essais de modélisation pour évaluer l’état de préparation d’un lancement commercial. Un financement ultérieur dans le cadre de la Health Ecosphere, a permis des essais de mises en marché avec deux nouveaux hôpitaux qui ont démontré son potentiel d’un point de vue médical.

« Ce projet a favorisé trois partenariats indirects et la plate-forme s’est étendue à trois pays, déclare Barmala. Artemis assure en ce moment le suivi de plus de 1 000 nourrissons afin de permettre le diagnostic et le traitement précoces des troubles néonataux critiques. »

Le Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline a aussi développé BriDi et BriDi Flight, une technologie servant à l’évaluation et et à l’entraînement fonctionnel du cerveau chez les patients à risque de démence, ainsi que Medley, une plate-forme de gestion des maladies chroniques mise en œuvre de façon opérationnelle au Peter Munk Cardiac, un centre de soins cardiaques à l’Hôpital général de Toronto.

« Ce n’est que le début pour nous, » déclare Barmala. « Le consortium n’a terminé que la moitié de son travail et a déjà créé 81 nouveaux emplois à plein-temps et plus de 32 partenariats directs. Qui plus est, deux produits ont déjà été déployés à l’international et deux autres ont été autorisés.

Selon Barmala, Health Ecosphere dispose des outils, des partenariats et de l’infrastructure nécessaires pour transformer la santé, y compris la santé des peuples autochtones, tout en stimulant l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario. FedDev Ontario est fier de faire partie de ce partenariat.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
FedDev Ontario a été plus qu’un bailleur de fonds pour nous. Ses équipes opérationnelles et de leadership ont continuellement démontré leur volonté d’offrir leur expertise en relevant les nombreux défis qui surviennent au sein de projets plurisectoriels.
Niusha Barmala, directrice exécutive, The Health Ecosphere Innovation Pipeline
Date de modification :