ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks creates innovative clean-tech solutions

Recipient: ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks (AMTB)
Region: Woodstock, Ontario
Program: Advanced Manufacturing Fund
Total funding allocated: $12.73 million

ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks creates in-demand steel blanks that are essential to the automotive industry.
ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks creates in-demand steel blanks that are essential to the automotive industry.

An important process in any company is its evolution. ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks (AMTB) has gone through an impressive transformation over the decades since its beginning, from an independent laser welding company to a leader in the international hot stamping market. The company evolved with a purpose in mind—to create the most durable light-weight steel that would meet the demands of a variety of sectors. To address this need, AMTB began producing tailor welded blanks – a steel product made by combining two or more pieces of steel in a welding process to create a tailor-made part. This item quickly became an in-demand product for manufacturing companies, especially in the automotive sector.

Automotive companies currently face two challenges when it comes to vehicle production: the first is emissions reduction and the second is safety through crash protection. With an investment of $12.73 million through FedDev Ontario’s Advanced Manufacturing Fund, AMTB was able to build a new facility to increase production using the company’s first-in-the-world technology and also deliver innovative solutions that enhance its competitiveness.

“FedDev Ontario’s support covered half of the cost of a brand new facility in Woodstock,” says Gary Black, Director of Manufacturing Technology at AMTB. “This money enabled us to open a new plant with state-of-the-art manufacturing technology, which positioned us to easily expand and supply components to all major manufacturers in southern Ontario and the U.S.”

AMTB’s innovative technology not only provides the perfect material for efficient vehicle production and clean-tech promotion, but it also positions the company as a positive trendsetter in the welding industry.

“Our company continues to lead the way in the welded hot stamping market and is expecting to experience some significant growth over the next two years because of the overwhelming OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) interest in our technology and capability,” says Black.

With the goal to “transform tomorrow,” AMTB is right on track. Its innovative technology won the 2017 American Metal Market Award for Best Innovation: Product. The company has also created 45 new jobs since the Woodstock plant construction, which is the newest of its 10 locations.

“Our growth and expansion is helping the economy by providing steady and dependable jobs,” says Black. “Our contribution to the auto industry is all about making vehicles lighter, safer and more fuel efficient.”

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario enabled us to develop new technology, including a state-of-the-art testing lab for our hot stamping components.
Gary Black, Director of Manufacturing Technology at ArcelorMittal Tailored Blank
Date modified:

ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks crée des solutions innovatrices de technologies vertes

Bénéficiaire : ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks (AMTB)
Région : Woodstock (Ontario)
Programme : Fonds de fabrication de pointe
Fonds totaux alloués : 12,73 millions de dollars

ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks crée des flancs d’acier sur mesure qui sont essentiels pour l’industrie automobile.
ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks crée des flancs d’acier sur mesure qui sont essentiels pour l’industrie automobile.

L’évolution d’une entreprise est un processus important pour toutes les entreprises. ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks (AMTB) s’est transformé au cours des décennies, de ses débuts d’entreprise indépendante de soudure au laser à un leader sur le marché international de l’estampage à chaud. L’entreprise a évolué avec un but en tête io – créer un acier le plus durable et le plus léger possible pour répondre aux demandes d’une variété de secteurs. Pour combler ce besoin, AMTB a commencé à produire des flancs d’acier sur mesure – un produit d’acier fait par la combinaison de deux morceaux ou plus d’acier dans un processus de soudage pour créer une pièce faite sur mesure. Ce produit est vite devenu en demande pour les entreprises de fabrication, en particulier dans le secteur de l’automobile.

Les fabricants d’automobiles font présentement face à deux défis lorsqu’il s’agit de la fabrication d’automobile : le premier est la réduction des émissions et le deuxième est le rendement de sécurité contre les accidents. Avec un investissement de 12,73 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds de fabrication de pointe de FedDev Ontario, AMTB a été capable de construire une nouvelle installation pour accroître sa production en utilisant la technologie – première au monde – de l’entreprise, et aussi de fournir des solutions novatrices pour accroître sa compétitivité.

« L’aide de FedDev Ontario a couvert la moitié des coûts de la toute nouvelle installation à Woodstock », dit Gary Black, directeur de la technologie de fabrication à AMTB. Cet argent nous a permis d’ouvrir une nouvelle usine avec une technologie de fabrication de pointe, ce qui nous a permis de prendre de l’expansion facilement et d’offrir des composants à tous les fabricants majeurs du Sud de l’Ontario et des États-Unis. ».

La technologie innovatrice d’AMTB fournit non seulement les matériaux parfaits pour une fabrication d’automobile efficiente et la promotion d’une technologie verte, mais elle positionne aussi l’entreprise en tant qu’initiatrice de tendances positives dans l’industrie de la soudure.

« Notre entreprise continue d’ouvrir la voie sur le marché de la soudure de l’estampage à chaud et s’attend à une croissance assez importante au cours des deux prochaines années attribuable à l’intérêt immense des FEO (fabricants d’équipement d’origine) envers notre technologie et notre capacité », dit Gary Black.

Avec le but de « transformer l’avenir de demain », AMTB est sur la bonne voie. Sa technologie innovatrice a remporté le American Metal Market Award en 2017 pour la meilleure innovation dans la catégorie « Produit ». L’entreprise a aussi créé 45 nouveaux emplois depuis la construction de l’usine de Woodstock qui est le plus récent de ses 10 emplacements.

« Notre croissance et notre agrandissement aident l’économie en offrant des emplois stables et fiables », dit Gary Black. Notre contribution à l’industrie de l’automobile se rapporte surtout au fait de rendre les automobiles plus légères, plus sécuritaires et plus économiques en essence ».

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
FedDev Ontario nous a permis de développer une nouvelle technologie, y compris un laboratoire à la fine pointe de la technologie pour nos composants d’estampage à chaud.
Gary Black, directeur des technologies de fabrication à ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks
Date de modification :