Canadian Film Centre has its eyes on the future with leading-edge digital technology

Recipient: Canadian Film Centre
Region: Toronto, Ontario
Program: Prosperity Initiative; Investing in Commercialization Partnerships
Total funding allocated: $8.26 million

Virtual Reality is one of the leading-edge and rapidly accelerating digital platforms being explored at Canadian Film Centre.
Virtual Reality is one of the leading-edge and rapidly accelerating digital platforms being explored at Canadian Film Centre.

The entertainment ecosystem, with its traditional channels and emerging platforms, has found a thriving network in southern Ontario where disruptive technology is the new norm. Toronto-based Canadian Film Centre (CFC) has envisioned the future of the digital media industry and is committed to seeing it through.

Founded by iconic Canadian filmmaker Norman Jewison as a national film school in 1988, CFC is a not-for-profit organization that provides advanced, market-driven training for media professionals, including opportunities to experiment, grow, and flourish. CFC’s Media Lab—as an example—fosters innovation and cultivates Canada’s most promising digital media practitioners.

FedDev Ontario provided non-repayable funding for two CFC projects that bolster the growing digital media environment: CFC Accelerate, in support of IDEABOOST; and CFC Catalyze—a project that targets emerging companies and has positioned CFC to become the hub for the digital entertainment cluster in southern Ontario.

As Canada’s only digital entertainment accelerator and start-up community, CFC’s IDEABOOST supports high-potential digital media companies and individual entrepreneurs. Managed by an all-female team, the accelerator offers a four-month bootcamp, a nurturing ecosystem, and access to its rich network of mentors, advisors, investors and other resources.

“The support offered by FedDev Ontario has been crucial to CFC,” says Ana Serrano, Chief Digital Officer, Canadian Film Centre and founder of CFC Media Lab. “It allows us to go beyond merely sustaining current business models. It enables us to fuel new industries and technologies, which are poised to become central economic opportunities for tomorrow.”

FedDev Ontario has readily supported CFC’s focus on developing new, immersive technologies, such as Augmented Reality (AR), 3D and Machine Learning/Intelligence and Virtual Reality (VR), which is quickly gaining momentum in the market.

Since its launch in 2012, IDEABOOST has supported a total of 84 start-ups, as well as accelerated six cohorts of companies. Both Mobio Interactive and Brinx are members of IDEABOOST Network Connect and are making waves in the virtual reality marketplace.

Mobio Interactive employs designers, scientists and programmers who are generating ways to mix technology with traditional healing practices. The company has produced a calming VR experience called Qualia: Zen Eagle that engages players in mindfulness techniques to improve their health and vitality.

Brinx is another alumni company that develops virtual reality tools to create 3D collaborative content. Its latest product, MasterpieceVR, is a ground-breaking platform that simplifies 3D sculpting and painting, making it easy to create high-quality 3D models that can be used in games, movies and 3D printing. Brinx clients include Lockheed Martin and Shopify.

“CFC Media Lab is building a convergence of AI (Artificial Intelligence), immersive media and IoT (Internet of Things)—all key areas poised to become crucial to entertainment and other enterprises in the next five years,” says Serrano. “Already, our investment in this future is paying off.”

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
The support of FedDev Ontario is key to early-stage work, giving new talent and companies the opportunity to thrive in the digital media industry when they otherwise wouldn’t have the chance.
Ana Serrano, Chief Digital Officer, Canadian Film Centre
Date modified:

Le Canadian Film Centre a les yeux tournés vers l’avenir grâce à une technologie numérique de pointe

Bénéficiaire : Canadian Film Centre
Région : Toronto (Ontario)
Programme : Initiative pour la prospérité; Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation
Financement total accordé : 8,26 millions de dollars

La réalité virtuelle est l’un des supports numériques de pointe en transformation rapide étudiés au Canadian Film Centre.
La réalité virtuelle est l’un des supports numériques de pointe en transformation rapide étudiés au Canadian Film Centre.

L’écosystème du divertissement, avec ses canaux traditionnels et ses plateformes émergentes, a trouvé un réseau prospère dans le Sud de l’Ontario alors que les techologies pertubatrices y sont la norme. Le Canadian Film Centre (CFC), basé à Toronto, a visualisé l’avenir de l’industrie des médias numériques et est déterminé à le voir se réaliser.

Fondé en 1988 par un cinéaste canadien emblématique, Norman Jewison, en tant qu’école nationale de cinéma, le CFC est un organisme à but non lucratif qui offre une formation avancée axée sur le marché pour les professionnels des médias, y compris des occasions d’expérimenter, de croître et de se développer.  Le laboratoire des Médias du CFC, comme exemple, favorise l’innovation et entretient les professionnels les plus prometteurs des médias numériques.

FedDev Ontario a fourni un financement non remboursable pour deux projets de CFC  qui stimule l’environnement du média numérique en croissance : CFC Accelerate  à l’appui de IDEABOOST; et CFC Catalyze, un projet qui cible les sociétés émergentes et qui a fait du CFC le carrefour de la grappe du divertissement numérique dans le Sud de l’Ontario.

En tant que seul accélérateur de divertissement numérique du Canada et collectivité de démarrage, IDEABOOST du CFC aide les entreprises spécialisées dans les médias numériques et les entrepreneurs individuels à fort potentiel. Dirigé par une équipe féminine, l’accélérateur offre un camp d’entraînement de quatre mois, un écosystème stimulant et un accès à son riche réseau de mentors, de conseillers, d’investisseurs et à d’autres ressources.

« Le soutien offert par FedDev Ontario a été crucial pour le CFC, a déclaré Ana Serrano, responsable du service numérique du Canadian Film Centre et fondatrice du laboratoire des Médias du CFC . Cela nous permet d’aller au-delà du simple maintien des modèles d’affaires actuels. Cela nous permet d’alimenter de nouvelles industries et technologies, qui tendent à devenir des possibilités économiques centrales pour l’avenir. »

FedDev Ontario a facilement soutenu l’objectif du CFC qui consiste à mettre au point de nouvelles technologies immersives, telles que la Réalité augmentée (RA), la 3D et l’apprentissage machine et l’Intelligence artificielle et la réalité virtuelle (RV), qui prennent rapidement de l’ampleur sur le marché.

Depuis son lancement en 2012, IDEABOOST a soutenu un total de 84 entreprises en démarrage et a fait progressé six cohortes d’entreprises. Mobio Interactive et Brinx sont tous deux membres d’IDEABOOST Network Connect et font des vagues dans le marché de la réalité virtuelle.

Mobio Interactive (en anglais seulement) emploie des concepteurs, des scientifiques et des programmeurs qui trouvent des façons d’intégrer la technologie aux pratiques de guérison traditionnelles. La société a produit une expérience de VR apaisante appelée Qualia : Zen Eagle (en anglais seulement) qui mobilise des acteurs dans des techniques de pleine conscience en vue d’améliorer leur santé et leur vitalité.

Brinx (en anglais seulement) est une autre société d’anciens élèves qui met au point des outils de réalité virtuelle pour créer du contenu collaboratif en 3D. Son plus récent produit, MasterpieceVR, est une plate-forme révolutionnaire qui simplifie la sculpture et la peinture en 3D, ce qui facilite la création de modèles 3D de haute qualité pouvant être utilisés dans les jeux, les films et l’impression 3D. Lockheed Martin et Shopify comptent parmi les clients de Brinx.

« Le laboratoire des Médias du CFC est en train de capitaliser sur la convergence de l’IA (intelligence artificielle), les médias immersifs (Internet des objets), tous secteurs essentiels appelés à devenir déterminants dans le divertissement et pour d’autres entreprises dans les cinq prochaines années, explique M. Serrano.   Déjà, notre investissement dans cet avenir porte ses fruits. »

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Le soutien de FedDev Ontario est essentiel au travail à un stade précoce, donnant aux nouveaux talents et aux entreprises la possibilité de prospérer dans l’industrie des médias numériques du divertissement alors qu’ils n’en auraient pas eu l’occasion autrement.
Ana Serrano, responsable du service numérique, Canadian Film Centre
Date de modification :