Vineland’s greenhouse technology research program is cultivating positive food for thought

Recipient: Vineland Research and Innovation Centre
Region: Vineland Station, Ontario
Program: Community Adjustment Fund; Prosperity Initiative; Investing in Commercialization Partnerships
Total funding allocated: $9.15 million

Vineland’s innovative greenhouse technology is allowing growers an efficient cost-effective way to harvest and package food.
Vineland’s innovative greenhouse technology is allowing growers an efficient cost-effective way to harvest and package food.

Weather, it has always been the wild card when it comes to growing food. Yet recent advancements in greenhouse technology have taken the climate-related risk out of food production, making it easier for producers to control the growing environment. Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (Vineland) is playing an important role in this field thanks in part to support provided through several FedDev Ontario funding initiatives.

In 2010, FedDev Ontario funding helped Vineland restore the historic Lodge Building Centre, turning it into a thriving business incubator through the Community Adjustment Fund. In 2012, Vineland partnered with local growers, greenhouse operators and academia to develop and commercialize automation solutions for the greenhouse industry. In 2016, Vineland’s newly constructed Collaborative Greenhouse Technology Centre received additional support, which has significantly contributed to the Ontario greenhouse sector’s capabilities in agri-food research and to the production and and export of horticultural products.

“FedDev Ontario support helped build our capacity in engineering and was critical in bringing our first automation technology to market,” says Jim Brandle, PhD, CEO, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre.

The Collaborative Greenhouse Technology Centre is the largest pre-commercial scale horticulture research greenhouse of its kind in North America. It provides space for robotics and automation researchers to focus on a variety of automation projects, including bulb planting technology, vegetable packaging systems, smart greenhouse irrigation technology, and harvesting solutions for precision mushroom farming. The new innovative tools they’ve designed specifically for mushroom harvesting were developed through a partnership with industry, Institut national d’Optique (INO) and the University of Guelph. Through automation techniques like computer vision technology, these tools are able to gather data from a mushroom bed about which mushrooms should be harvested, allowing for a more efficient yielding.

“The international mushroom market is a multi-billion dollar industry that is experiencing dramatic growth each year and Ontario is ranked first in Canada in terms of production value,” says Brandle. “As a result, this is an area of opportunity for the introduction of automation technologies into the mushroom farming industry.”

Along with these precision farming techniques, Vineland has also developed an efficient vegetable packing system that is setting them ahead of others in the industry.

“We have an automated process that can grade, align and pack snack-sized cucumbers at a rate of 300 trays per hour,” says Brandle. “That’s roughly twice as fast as the method currently used in most greenhouses growing small vegetables. It seems like such a simple thing, but this is an exciting project using a lot of technology.”

With additional automation projects in the works, Vineland is continuing to positively impact the greenhouse industry, reducing growing costs while benefitting Ontario manufacturing and automation businesses with more jobs for high-skilled workers. Sustainable growing practices should not be a luxury and Vineland, with its food innovation technology, is ensuring sufficient, affordable food sources are available for more and more Canadian families, as well as those abroad.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario’s support of our work at the intersection of horticulture and advanced manufacturing creates a positive impact for both sectors.
Jim Brandle, CEO, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre
Date modified:

Le programme de recherche sur la technologie de culture en serre de Vineland cultive des pistes de réflexion positives

Bénéficiaire : Vineland Research and Innovation Centre
Région : Vineland Station, en Ontario
Programmes : Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités; Initiative pour la prospérité; Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation
Financement total alloué : 9,15 millions de dollars

La technologie innovatrice de culture en serre de Vineland apporte aux producteurs une méthode rentable et efficiente pour la cueillette et l’emballage des aliments.
La technologie innovatrice de culture en serre de Vineland apporte aux producteurs une méthode rentable et efficiente pour la cueillette et l’emballage des aliments.

La météo a toujours été la grande inconnue quand il s’agit de la culture d’aliments. Pourtant, les progrès réalisés récemment dans la technologie de culture en serre ont éliminé les risques liés au climat pour la production d’aliments, ce qui permet aux producteurs de contrôler plus facilement l’environnement de culture. Le Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (Vineland) joue un rôle important dans ce domaine, grâce en partie au soutien offert par plusieurs initiative de financement de FedDev Ontario.

En 2010, le financement de FedDev Ontario a aidé Vineland à restaurer l’historique Lodge Building Centre et à le transformer en un incubateur d’entreprises florissant, grâce au Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités. En 2012, Vineland a établi des partenariats avec des producteurs locaux, des exploitants de serres et des universitaires afin d’élaborer et de commercialiser des solutions d’automatisation pour l’industrie de la culture en serre. En 2016, le Centre de collaboration en technologie de culture de serre nouvellement construit, de Vineland, a reçu un soutien supplémentaire, qui a considérablement contribué aux capacités du secteur de la culture en serre de l’Ontario dans la recherche agro alimentaire ainsi qu’à la production et à l’exportation de produits horticoles.

« Le soutien offert par FedDev Ontario a aidé à renforcer notre capacité en ingénierie et a constitué un élément essentiel de la commercialisation de notre première technologie d’automatisation », a indiqué Jim Brandle, Ph. D., PDG, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre.

Le Centre de collaboration en technologie de culture de serre est la plus importante serre de recherche en horticulture à une échelle précommerciale en Amérique du Nord. Il fournit aux chercheurs en robotique et automatisation l’espace leur permettant de se concentrer sur divers projets d’automatisation, y compris la technologie de plantation de bulbes, les systèmes d’emballage des légumes, la technologie intelligente d’irrigation des serres et les solutions en matière de cueillette pour la culture de précision de champignons. Les nouveaux outils novateurs qu’ils ont conçus spécialement pour la cueillette de champignons ont été élaborés par l’intermédiaire d’un partenariat avec l’industrie, de l’Institut national d’optique (INO) et de l’Université de Guelph. Au moyen de techniques d’automatisation, comme la technologie de vision par ordinateur, ces outils peuvent recueillir des données sur une couche de champignons, à savoir quels champignons doivent être cueillis, ce qui permet un rendement plus efficace.

« Le marché international du champignon est une industrie de plusieurs milliards de dollars qui connaît une croissance spectaculaire chaque année, et l’Ontario se classe au premier rang au Canada en ce qui concerne la valeur de la production, a indiqué M. Brandle. Par conséquent, c’est un domaine de possibilité pour l’introduction de technologies d’automatisation dans l’industrie de la culture du champignon. »

En plus de ces techniques de culture de précision, Vineland a également conçu un système efficace d’emballage des légumes qui lui donne une longueur d’avance sur les autres joueurs de l’industrie.

« Nous avons un processus automatisé qui peut classer, aligner et emballer des concombres de format collation à un taux de 300 plateaux à l’heure, indique M. Brandle. Ce qui est environ deux fois plus vite que la méthode utilisée à l’heure actuelle dans la plupart des serres où l’on cultive des légumes de petite taille. Cela semble une chose simple, mais il s’agit d’un projet palpitant qui fait appel à beaucoup de technologie. »

Avec des projets d’automatisation supplémentaires en chantier, Vineland continue d’avoir une incidence positive sur l’industrie de la culture en serre, ce qui permet de réduire les coûts tout en profitant aux entreprises ontariennes de fabrication et d’automatisation en apportant un plus grand nombre d’emplois pour les travailleurs hautement spécialisés. Des pratiques de croissance durable ne devraient pas être un luxe et Vineland, grâce à sa technologie d’innovation alimentaire, assure que soient disponibles des sources d’aliments suffisantes et abordables pour un plus grand nombre de familles au Canada et à l’étranger.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Le soutien de FedDev Ontario pour notre travail au croisement de l’horticulture et de la fabrication de pointe crée une incidence positive sur les deux secteurs.
Jim Brandle, PDG, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre
Date de modification :