Businesses are seeing results from expertise and tools provided through Niagara College’s SONAMI partnership project

Recipient: Niagara College, Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing and Innovation (SONAMI) Project
Region: Niagara Region
Program: Investing in Commercialization Partnerships
Total funding allocated: $7.3 million

Businesses in the Golden Horseshoe are provided with the equipment and expertise to succeed through the SONAMI project.
Businesses in the Golden Horseshoe are provided with the equipment and expertise to succeed through the SONAMI project.

Over the past few decades, southern Ontario’s manufacturing industry has changed and evolved, bringing forth new innovative solutions. Academic institutions are collaborating with manufacturers to strengthen the development of emerging companies.

Niagara College, in partnership with McMaster University, Mohawk College and Sheridan College, is leading the formation of the Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing and Innovation (SONAMI)—a key project that works to support manufacturers’ research and development needs. Since December 2016, FedDev Ontario has supported the SONAMI project through the Investing in Commercialization Partnerships initiative with an investment of $7.3 million.

“SONAMI is an unprecedented collaboration that has been successful in driving research and innovation in the advanced manufacturing sector in the Golden Horseshoe, and that has only been possible thanks to support from FedDev Ontario,” says Krystyn Keir, SONAMI Project Manager.

The SONAMI project supports manufacturers in a way to adopt and integrate advanced technologies into their operations—a task not always feasible for a growing company on its own. Within the project, numerous resources are readily available as each academic institution specializes in its own niche, from additive manufacturing to flexible manufacturing to high-productivity manufacturing and industrial internet. Businesses participating in the project are encouraged to access and make use of the state-of-the-art equipment, tools, services and expertise.

“Most small businesses do not have the resources in-house to bring their innovative solutions to market and remain competitive,” says Krystyn Keir. “By partnering with one of the SONAMI institutions, these industry partners are now being helped to compete on a global stage.”

According to Bob Benner of Niagara’s Hamill Machine Co., a heavy manufacturing company that recently evolved into custom operations specializing in the agri-food sector, his company’s work with Niagara College and SONAMI has been invaluable.

“Niagara College’s research team figured out exactly what was needed for our Harvester dryer and they gave us a working product,” says Benner. “And this ingenious technology is saving specialty crop farmers thousands of dollars. As a smaller company, we wouldn’t have had the capabilities or resources to diversify and grow had it not been for SONAMI or FedDev Ontario.”

And Benner’s story of success is just one of many.

“In just a short period, we’ve seen extraordinary results from the SONAMI partnerships—with one Burlington steel company realizing a 20-fold increase in tool life thanks to their collaboration with McMaster, and a Niagara Falls machine shop now doubling both its facility space and its workforce to accommodate new business, thanks to Niagara College,” says Keir.

Since the start of the project, an estimated 186 jobs have been created in the Niagara region, with more than 150 proof-of-concept prototypes and 85 new products for commercialization. And with all of SONAMI’s current momentum, these numbers continue to rise.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
We have witnessed unparalleled success for SMEs that are accessing the leading-edge resources from the partners within SONAMI, thanks to FedDev Ontario support.
Krystyn Keir, SONAMI Project Manager
Date modified:

Les entreprises constatent les résultats de l’expertise et des outils fournis dans le cadre du projet de partenariat SONAMI du Niagara College

Bénéficiaire : Collège Niagara, projet du réseau du Sud de l'Ontario pour la fabrication de pointe et l'innovation (SONAMI)
Région : région de Niagara
Programme : Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation
Total du financement accordé: 7,3 millions de dollars

Grâce au projet SONAMI, les entreprises de la région de Niagara bénéficient de l’équipement et du savoir-faire dont elles ont besoin pour réussir.
Grâce au projet SONAMI, les entreprises de la région de Niagara bénéficient de l’équipement et du savoir-faire dont elles ont besoin pour réussir.

Depuis quelques dizaines d’années, le secteur manufacturier du Sud de l’Ontario a changé et a évolué, amenant de nouvelles solutions innovantes. Les établissements d’enseignement collaborent avec les manufacturiers pour renforcer le développement des entreprises émergentes.

Le Niagara College, en partenariat avec la McMaster University, le Mohawk College et le Sheridan College, mène la formation du projet du réseau du Sud de l'Ontario pour la fabrication de pointe et l'innovation (SONAMI), un projet clé qui vise à appuyer les besoins en recherche et développement des fabricants. Depuis décembre 2016, dans le cadre de l’initiative Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation (IPC), FedDev Ontario a appuyé le projet SONAMI en investissant 7,3 millions de dollars dans le projet SONAMI.

« Le projet SONAMI est une collaboration inédite qui stimule la recherche et l’innovation dans le secteur de la fabrication de pointe de la région du Golden Horseshoe, et qui n’aurait jamais vu le jour sans l’aide de FedDev Ontario », affirme Krystyn Keir, gestionnaire du projet SONAMI.

Le projet SONAMI a pour but d’aider les entreprises manufacturières à adopter et à intégrer des technologies avancées, ce qu’elles ne peuvent pas toujours faire toutes seules. De nombreuses ressources spécialisées sont ainsi mises à leur disposition, selon le créneau de chaque établissement d’enseignement : fabrication additive, fabrication souple, fabrication à haute productivité, technologies industrielles de l’Internet. Les entreprises participantes sont encouragées à accéder et à utiliser l’équipement, des outils, des services et du savoir-faire d’avant-garde.

« La plupart des petites entreprises manquent de moyens pour commercialiser leurs solutions novatrices et affronter la concurrence, ajoute Krystyn Keir. En s’associant à l’un des établissements partenaires du projet SONAMI, elles reçoivent le coup de pouce qu’il leur faut pour se mesurer à leurs rivales internationales. »

Pour Bob Benner, de Hamill Machine Company inc.—une entreprise de fabrication lourde de Niagara qui fait depuis peu de l’usinage sur mesure, notamment dans la filière agroalimentaire, la collaboration avec le Niagara College dans le cadre du projet SONAMI a été des plus précieuses.

« L’équipe de recherche du Niagara College a exactement cerné le type de séchoir de récolte qu’il nous fallait et nous a fourni un produit fonctionnel, déclare-t-il. Et cette technologie ingénieuse fait économiser des milliers de dollars aux producteurs de cultures spéciales. Comme petite entreprise, nous n’aurions pas eu les capacités ni les ressources de nous diversifier et de nous développer ainsi sans l’aide du projet SONAMI et de FedDev Ontario. »

Et ce n’est qu’un exemple parmi de nombreux autres.

« En très peu de temps, le projet SONAMI a généré des résultats extraordinaires : une entreprise sidérurgique de Burlington a multiplié par vingt la durée de vie de ses outils en collaborant avec l’Université McMaster, et un atelier d'usinage de Niagara Falls est en train de doubler son espace de travail et sa main-d’œuvre pour absorber sa croissance, grâce au Niagara College », indique Krystyn Keir.

Depuis le début du projet, dans la région de Niagara, on dénombre 186 emplois créés, avec plus de 150 prototypes mis au point et 85 nouveaux produits commercialisés. Et comme le projet SONAMI a le vent en poupe, ces chiffres ne cessent de grimper.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Nous avons vu des PME prospérer comme jamais après avoir obtenu des ressources de pointe grâce aux partenaires du projet SONAMI et au soutien de FedDev Ontario.
Krystyn Keir, gestionnaire du projet SONAMI
Date de modification :