BEAM facility attracts biomedical innovators to new collaborative healthcare project

Recipient: McMaster University - Biomedical Engineering and Advanced Manufacturing (BEAM) centre
Region: Hamilton
Program: Investing in Commercialization Partnerships
Total funding allocated: up to $11.96 million

Important biomedical solutions for Canadians being creating through the BEAM project centre
Important biomedical solutions for Canadians being creating through the BEAM project centre

The McMaster Innovation Park in Hamilton, Ontario, has become a beacon for life-science research, attracting world-class researchers to a highly anticipated, new bioengineering facility. The Fraunhofer-McMaster Project Centre for Biomedical Engineering and Advanced Manufacturing (BEAM), created through a joint partnership with McMaster University and the Fraunhofer Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology, welcomes industry professionals and leading academics in the fields of medicine, engineering and manufacturing. FedDev Ontario supported the development of BEAM, which opened early in 2018, with a $12 million contribution through the Investing in Commercialization Partnerships initiative.

“FedDev Ontario funding was absolutely foundational to the establishment of BEAM,” says John Brennan, Director of BEAM. “When we came up with the idea for the project centre in 2013, there was obviously a need to create a new space, to get equipment into that space and to find people who were going to be the ones running it. FedDev Ontario’s investment was really the key funding that helped all of this happen.”

Since the 20,000-square-foot facility’s opening, BEAM researchers have been exploring and developing sought-after health care tools and technologies, preparing them for the marketplace. With a number of active industry partners, the collaborative centre is currently focusing on cancer treatment issues, working to locate biomarkers (markers in the body that signify disease) and developing new biomaterials that help speed up the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and infections.

“All of these areas of research have huge benefits to society and, over the next several years, we expect to ramp up our abilities in each of these areas and link them together,” says Brennan. “For example, the biomarker discovery and the diagnostic technologies go hand-in-hand, and thanks to FedDev Ontario funding, we’re already working with colleagues in Germany to develop new tests that will do more for accurate detection of prostate cancer and infectious disease.”

With its important emphasis on science-based innovation, BEAM is positioning southern Ontario for continued success in this collaborative field. BEAM is expecting to create nearly 100 jobs within its facility, attracting new talent to the region while also accelerating the growth of small businesses in the area.

“There is significant potential for spin-off companies that will emerge out of BEAM’s work in these various areas,” says Brennan.

According to Brennan, “Ultimately, there’s going to be a huge benefit. Not just to the Hamilton region, but to society in general from the emergence of the technologies we’re developing.”

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario is foundational in helping us develop new technologies—in moving them from the lab bench to commercialization, where they can really benefit society.
John Brennan, Director, BEAM
Date modified:

L’installation du BEAM attire des innovateurs en biomédecine à un nouveau projet de collaboration de soins de la santé

Bénéficiaire: McMaster University — Centre , Biomedical Engineering and Advanced Manufacturing (BEAM)
Région : Hamilton
Programme : Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation
Total du financement alloué : jusqu’à 11,96 millions de dollars

Des solutions biomédicales importantes pour les Canadiens sont créées au centre de projet du BEAM
Des solutions biomédicales importantes pour les Canadiens sont créées au centre de projet du BEAM

Le parc de l’innovation de la McMaster University à Hamilton, en Ontario, est devenu un pôle d’attraction pour les recherches en sciences de la vie, attirant des chercheurs de calibre mondial à une nouvelle installation de génie biomédical très attendue. Le centre Fraunhofer-McMaster Project Centre for Biomedical Engineering and Advanced Manufacturing (BEAM), créés à l’aide d’un partenariat conjoint entre la McMaster University et le Fraunhofer Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology, accueille des professionnels de l’industrie et des universitaires éminents dans les domaines de la médecine, du génie et de la fabrication. L’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a appuyé la création du BEAM, qui a ouvert ses portes au début 2018, par une contribution de 12 millions de dollars au moyen de l’initiative Investir dans les partenariats de commercialisation. 

« Le financement de FedDev Ontario était absolument fondamental à l’établissement du BEAM, affirme John Brennan, directeur du BEAM. Lorsque nous avons eu l’idée pour le centre de projet en 2013, il était évident qu’il nous était nécessaire de créer un nouvel espace, de pouvoir remplir cet espace d’équipement et de trouver des gens pour s’en servir. L’investissement de FedDev Ontario était réellement le financement crucial qui a aidé à la réalisation de ce projet. »

Depuis l’ouverture de l’installation de 1 858 m2 (20 000 pi2), les chercheurs du BEAM étudient et créent des outils et des technologies de soins de santé recherchés et les préparent pour la mise en marché. À l’aide de nombreux partenaires actifs de l’industrie, le centre de collaboration est actuellement concentré sur les enjeux du traitement du cancer, travaillant à situer les biomarqueurs (les indicateurs à l’intérieur du corps qui signalent la présence de maladies) et la création de nouveaux matériaux biologiques pour accélérer le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies et des infections.

« Tous ces domaines de recherche présentent d’énormes avantages pour la société et, au cours des prochaines années, nous prévoyons accélérer nos capacités dans chacun de ces domaines et de pouvoir les relier ensemble, explique M. Brennan. Par exemple, la découverte d’un biomarqueur et les technologies de diagnostic vont de pair et, grâce au financement de FedDev Ontario, nous travaillons déjà avec des collègues en Allemagne pour créer de nouveaux essais qui amélioreront la précision de la détection du cancer de la prostate et des maladies infectieuses. »

Avec son accent important sur les innovations scientifiques, BEAM positionne le Sud de l’Ontario pour un succès continu dans ce domaine collaboratif. Le BEAM prévoit de créer près de 100 emplois au sein de son installation, attirant de nouveaux talents dans la région tout en accélérant la croissance des petites entreprises de la région.

« Il existe un important potentiel pour des entreprises dérivées qui émergeront des travaux du BEAM dans ces divers domaines », affirme M. Brennan.

Selon lui, « Ultimement, il y aura un bénéfice énorme. Pas seulement pour la région de Hamilton, mais pour la société en général, en raison de l’émergence des technologies que nous créons ».

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
L’aide de FedDev Ontario est fondamentale pour nous permettre de mettre au point de nouvelles technologies — de leur cheminement de la table du laboratoire à la commercialisation, d’où elles peuvent réellement être avantageuses pour la société.
John Brennan, directeur du BEAM
Date de modification :