CCRM’s Centre for Advanced Therapeutic Cell Technologies is bridging the gap between research and commercialization

Recipient: Centre for Commercialization of Regenerative Medicine (CCRM)
Region: Toronto
Program: Advanced Manufacturing Fund
Total funding allocated: $20 million

Scientist Danylo Sirskyj at work at the CATCT.
Scientist Danylo Sirskyj at work at the CATCT.

In the face of incurable diseases that continue to challenge medical research worldwide, Canada is poised to be a leader in regenerative medicine. The Centre for Commercialization of Regenerative Medicine (CCRM), through its advanced cell research, is discovering how cell therapies can treat chronic conditions and is providing alternatives to traditional medicines or surgeries.

And with the combined expertise of GE Healthcare and other industry partners, CCRM is working to bridge the gap between pre-clinical research and commercially ready manufacturing of cell and gene therapies.

This forward-thinking, collaborative approach sparked FedDev Ontario’s funding investment of $20 million to CCRM through the Advanced Manufacturing Fund, which was matched by GE Healthcare, to build and operate the Centre for Advanced Therapeutic Cell Technologies (CATCT).

As the first cell therapy development facility in the world, CATCT positions Toronto to be a global hub for regenerative medicine.

Situated in Toronto’s renowned MaRS Discovery District, CATCT is accelerating the development of cell manufacturing technologies by offering a variety of scientific and business services to companies in the biotech industry. Scientists now have access to valuable resources, including onsite consultation offices and a large, fully equipped lab.

“In a short period of time, CATCT has made progress in addressing specific bottlenecks limiting commercial-scale manufacturing of cell and gene therapies,” explains Dr. Michael May, President and CEO, CCRM. “We are working to identify, develop and adopt advanced manufacturing solutions that will benefit the global industry.”

Since CATCT’s researchers (who have 300 years of combined cell and gene therapy experience) moved into the space in 2017, the team has tackled high-impact health challenges, such as cancer and heart disease.

To ensure products are consistently produced and controlled, CCRM is partnering with University Health Network to build the Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) facility. This facility, scheduled to open in October 2018, will help CATCT provide more efficient technology transfer and process development services to support manufacturing. The GMP facility will enable therapeutic developers to manufacture their products in Ontario and then export them worldwide, in a safe and efficient manner, creating high-value job opportunities for the region in the process.

“Ontario manufacturing capability ensures that the companies that we are launching, scaling and attracting are sustainable in Ontario. FedDev Ontario funding has been critical to building sustainability into our commercialization strategy,” says Dr. May.

As research progresses and cures to common diseases appear within reach, facilities like CATCT are more important than ever.

“These efforts are creating high-paying jobs and drawing significant investment to Ontario, while accelerating the pathway of revolutionary new therapeutics to patients,” says Dr. May. “It is a success on many levels.”

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario funding and our partnership with GE Healthcare have been instrumental in CCRM’s mission to put Canada on the global regenerative- medicine map.
Dr. Michael May, President and CEO, CCRM
Date modified:

Le Centre for Advanced Therapeutic Cell Technologies du CCMR comble l’écart entre la recherche et la commercialisation

Bénéficiaire : le Centre pour la commercialisation de la médecine régénératrice (CCMR)
Région : Toronto
Programme : Fonds de fabrication de pointe
Total des fonds alloués : 20 millions de dollars

Scientifique Danylo Sirskyj au travail au CATCT.
Scientifique Danylo Sirskyj au travail au CATCT.

Face à des maladies incurables qui continuent de mettre la recherche médicale au défi partout dans le monde, le Canada est sur le point d’être un chef de file en médecine régénératrice. Le Centre pour la commercialisation de la médecine régénératrice (CCMR), grâce à sa recherche avancée sur les cellules, découvre comment les thérapies cellulaires peuvent traiter les maladies chroniques et offre des solutions de rechange aux médicaments traditionnels ou aux chirurgies.

Avec l’expertise combinée de GE Healthcare et d’autres partenaires de l’industrie, le CATCT s’efforce de combler l’écart entre la recherche préclinique et la fabrication de thérapies cellulaires et géniques prêtes pour être commercialisées.

Cette approche axée sur l’avenir et la collaboration a déclenché l’investissement de 20 millions de dollars de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) dans le CATCT par l’entremise du Fonds de fabrication de pointe, auquel GE Healthcare a versé un montant équivalent, pour construire et exploiter un centre de technologies de pointe axées sur les cellules thérapeutiques (CATCT).

En tant que première installation de développement de thérapies cellulaires au monde, le CATCT positionne Toronto comme un pôle mondial de la médecine régénératrice.

Situé dans la célèbre MaRS Discovery District de Toronto, le CATCT accélère le développement des technologies de fabrication de cellules en offrant une variété de services scientifiques et commerciaux aux entreprises de l’industrie de la biotechnologie. Les scientifiques ont maintenant accès à des ressources précieuses, y compris des bureaux de consultation sur place et un grand laboratoire entièrement équipé.

« En peu de temps, le CATCT a fait des progrès dans l’élimination de certains goulots d’étranglement qui limitent la fabrication à l’échelle commerciale de thérapies cellulaires et géniques, explique le Dr Michael May, président et chef de la direction du CATCT. Nous travaillons à trouver, à élaborer et à adopter des solutions de fabrication de pointe qui profiteront à l’industrie mondiale. »

Depuis que les chercheurs du CATCT (qui possèdent 300 ans d’expérience combinée en thérapie cellulaire et génique) ont déménagé dans l’espace en 2017, l’équipe s’est attaquée à des problèmes de santé à fort impact, comme le cancer et les maladies cardiaques.

Pour garantir que les produits sont fabriqués et contrôlés de façon uniforme, le CATCT s’associe au Réseau universitaire de santé pour construire l’installation de bonnes pratiques de fabrication (BPF). Cette installation, dont l’ouverture est prévue en octobre 2018, aidera le CATCT à fournir des services de transfert de technologie et de développement de procédés plus efficaces pour appuyer la fabrication. L’installation de BPF permettra aux développeurs de produits thérapeutiques de fabriquer leurs produits en Ontario et de les exporter dans le monde entier, de façon sécuritaire et efficace, créant ainsi des possibilités d’emploi de grande valeur pour la région.

« La capacité manufacturière de l’Ontario garantit que les entreprises que nous lançons, que nous élargissons et que nous attirons sont viables en Ontario. Le financement de FedDev Ontario a été essentiel pour intégrer la durabilité à notre stratégie de commercialisation », déclare Dr May.

Au fur et à mesure que la recherche progresse et que les remèdes aux maladies courantes apparaissent à portée de main, les installations comme le CATCT sont plus importantes que jamais.

« Ces efforts créent des emplois bien rémunérés et attirent des investissements importants en Ontario, tout en accélérant le cheminement de nouveaux traitements révolutionnaires pour les patients, déclare le Dr May. C’est un succès à plusieurs niveaux. »

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Le financement de FedDev Ontario et notre partenariat avec GE Healthcare ont joué un rôle déterminant dans la mission du CATCT visant à positionner le Canada sur la carte mondiale de la médecine régénératrice.
Dr Michael May, président et chef de la direction, CATCT
Date de modification :