Celebrating Canada’s 150th anniversary by improving community infrastructure

Brockville’s refurbished railway tunnel brings the area’s history to light

Brockville’s Refurbished Railway Tunnel Brings the Area’s History to Light

Did you know that Brockville Railway Tunnel is the oldest tunnel in Canada, running 525 metres in length right underneath Brockville City Hall? Construction of the historic tunnel began in 1854 with the goal of connecting the emerging Brockville and Ottawa railway system to Brockville’s industrial waterfront.

Located in the outlying area between the Ottawa River and St. Lawrence River, the City of Brockville recently rehabilitated the tunnel to preserve this important part of Canadian history.

Funding of $275,000, through the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, was used to upgrade the tunnel drainage system, create a concrete travel surface, repair masonry and stabilize rock, and install new lighting and ventilation systems. This project has created a safer and more accessible experience for visitors.

The City of Brockville draws in more than 30,000 visitors annually to experience Canada’s first railway tunnel—a must-see attraction in eastern Ontario. With its walls lined with a mix of stone, craggy rocks and colourful formations of mineral deposits, the historical Brockville Railway Tunnel is one piece of Canada’s beginning that will now live on well into the future.


Cornwall seniors’ centre thrives thanks to renovation project

Cornwall Seniors’ Centre Thrives Thanks to Renovation Project

Community members are enjoying the renovated Centre Charles-Émile-Claude, a multipurpose seniors’ centre located in Cornwall, Ontario. Thanks to its new energy-efficient heating system, air conditioning units, accessible reception counter, modern kitchen renovation, and restored roof, the Centre is able to reduce costs and save on energy resources.

“We are now able to offer more services and programs without increasing rates for our members,” said Linda Newman, Director General, Centre Charles-Émile-Claude. “The renovated space also attracted new community partners. In reality, this project has provided great benefits to the Cornwall community at large.”

Centre Charles-Émile-Claude received funding of up to $120,710 through the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, and was able to employ several locally contracted businesses throughout the course of work to project completion in December 2017. The Centre is proud to offer professional care and ensure a high quality of life for its senior members of the Cornwall community.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Date modified:

Célébration du 150e anniversaire du Canada en améliorant les infrastructures communautaire

Rénové, le tunnel ferroviaire de Brockville met en lumière l’histoire de la région

Rénové, le tunnel ferroviaire de Brockville met en lumière l’histoire de la région

Saviez vous que le tunnel ferroviaire de Brockville (en anglais seulement) est le plus vieux tunnel au Canada, qu’il a une longueur de 525 mètres et qu’il se rend jusqu’en dessous de la mairie de Brockville? La construction de ce tunnel historique a débuté en 1854 dans le but de relier le système ferroviaire de Brockville et d’Ottawa au secteur industriel riverain de Brockville.

Situé dans la région périphérique entre la rivière des Outaouais et le fleuve Saint Laurent, le tunnel a récemment été rénové par la ville de Brockville afin de préserver cette partie importante de l’histoire du Canada.

Un financement de 275 000 $, au titre du Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150, a été utilisé pour moderniser le système de drainage du tunnel, pour créer un passage en béton, pour réparer la maçonnerie et stabiliser le roc, ainsi que pour installer de nouveaux systèmes d’éclairage et de ventilation. Ce projet a créé une expérience plus sûre et plus accessible pour les visiteurs.

La ville de Brockville attire plus de 30 000 visiteurs annuellement qui viennent découvrir le premier tunnel ferroviaire du Canada – une attraction à voir dans l’Est de l’Ontario. Avec ses murs faits d’un mélange de pierres, de rochers escarpés et de formations colorées par des dépôts minéraux, le tunnel ferroviaire historique de Brockville, qui fait partie des débuts du Canada, vivra maintenant pendant bien des années à venir.


Le Centre des aînés de Cornwall se porte bien grâce au projet de rénovation

Cornwall Seniors’ Centre Thrives Thanks to Renovation Project

Les membres de la communauté profitent du Centre rénové Charles-Émile-Claude, un centre polyvalent des aînés situé à Cornwall en Ontario. Grâce à un système de chauffage écoénergétique, des unités de climatisation, un comptoir accessible à la réception, la rénovation d’une cuisine moderne et la réfection du toit, le Centre est en mesure de réduire les coûts et d’économiser en ressources énergétique.

«  Nous sommes maintenant en mesure d’offrir plus de services et de programmes sans accroître les impôts locatifs pour nos membres », dit Linda Newman, directrice générale du Centre Charles-Émile-Claude. « Les espaces rénovés ont également attiré de nouveaux partenaires communautaires. En fait, ce projet a été grandement bénéfique pour la communauté de Cornwall dans son ensemble ».

Le Centre Charles-Émile-Claude a reçu un financement jusqu’à 120 710 dollars à travers le Programme d’infrastructures communautaires de Canada 150, et a été en mesure d’employer plusieurs entreprises locales sous-traitantes tout au long du projet jusqu’à sa complétion en décembre 2017. Le Centre est fier d’offrir des soins professionnels et d’assurer une qualité de vie élevée pour ses aînés au sein de la communauté de Cornwall.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Date de modification :