Canadian Experiences Fund program guidelines

Contents

Section A – General information

1. Background

The Government of Canada's Canadian Experiences Fund (CEF), delivered by Canada's regional development agencies across the country, was announced in Budget 2019 as a two-year $58.5-million national program to help Canada's tourism sector innovate and grow.

Of this funding, FedDev Ontario has been allocated more than $11 million to deliver this program in southern Ontario.

The initial priority period for applications to the Canadian Experiences Fund ended June 3, 2019. Applications may still be submitted, however applications received by June 3 are being assessed on a priority basis. Projects received after this date will only be considered if funding continues to be available.

Projects must be completed by December 31, 2020.

2. Program overview

The Canadian Experiences Fund (CEF) provides non-repayable contributions to eligible recipients for projects that create, improve or expand tourism-related infrastructure, such as accommodations, local attractions and new tourism products or experiences.

The Canadian Experiences Fund will normally target investments that range from $25,000 to $500,000 for projects that focus on one or more of the following priority segments:

  1. Tourism in rural and remote communities;
  2. Indigenous tourism;
  3. Winter and shoulder season tourism;
  4. Inclusiveness, specifically for the LGBTQ2+ community; and
  5. Farm-to-table tourism, also known as culinary tourism.

Please refer to the eligibility and funding sections of these guidelines for more details.

Section B – Eligibility requirements

3.1 Eligible applicants

To be considered eligible for funding through FedDev Ontario, an applicant must be located in southern Ontario.

Eligible applicants are:

  • Municipalities
  • Not-for-profit organizations operating in the tourism sector
  • Incorporated businesses, including:
    • Businesses and/or corporations
    • Indigenous-owned businesses
    • Co-operatives

To be considered eligible for funding, applicants must demonstrate:

  • Evidence of project funding.
  • Managerial, technical, operational and financial capacity to achieve the project's stated objectives in a timely manner.
  • Evidence of opportunities for sector/industry growth.
  • How the project addresses a gap, including evidence of economic opportunities for tourism sector.
  • A viable project plan with achievable outcomes, supported by verifiable cost estimates.

Note: Eligible applicants must be legal entities capable of entering into legally binding agreements.

3.2 Eligible projects

The Canadian Experiences Fund will support the following types of activities carried out by the tourism sector:

  • Product and service planning, development and implementation: designing new or improved tourism services and products (e.g., attraction, festival, tour);
  • Market readiness training: working with tourism associations to provide market readiness training to business; and
  • Creating or improving tourism facilities: physical assets used by tourists (e.g., trails, campgrounds, shelters).

To be eligible, projects must fall into one of five categories (examples of eligible activities have also been provided):

Tourism in rural and remote communities: Investments to help attract tourists to rural and remote destinations, such as destination development planning, adventure trails, improving public tourism facilities and community beautification.

Indigenous tourism: Investments that increase Indigenous tourism revenue, such as market readiness training, festivals celebrating Indigenous heritage, culture and art, and interpretation guides and installations.

Winter and shoulder season tourism: Investments to encourage tourism more evenly across the year, such as festivals, tours and excursions to see local attractions, wildlife and culture, and tourism facility improvements, such as signage, specialized accommodations, and facility planning and development.

Inclusiveness: Investments to increase the number of participants in LGBTQ2+ tourism events, such as urban and/or local pride festivals, LGBTQ2+ market readiness and touristic art events.

Farm-to-Table tourism/Culinary tourism: Investments to grow food and beverage spending by tourists, such as developing and marketing regional culinary tourism trails, developing and implementing food festivals and farmers’ markets, and developing new culinary products and services using local produce.

3.3 Eligible costs

Eligible costs for project activities may include:

  • Labour
  • Expertise
  • Non-Capital
  • Capital

All costs must be reasonable and directly related to the eligible project activities. Eligible costs must be incremental and not cover ongoing operational costs.

3.4 Ineligible and/or unsupported costs:

Ineligible and/or unsupported costs include:

  • Any costs deemed not reasonable and/or not directly related to the eligible project activities.
  • Activities in support of regular maintenance and/or ongoing operation costs.
  • Cost incurred prior to the eligibility date as defined in the contribution agreement.
  • Costs incurred before the date of Application or after December 31, 2020.
  • Acquisition of land and buildings.

Section C – Funding

4. Funding

Funding for the Canadian Experiences Fund is non-repayable.

The amount of project funding available is dependent on the type of applicant:

  • Municipalities and not-for-profit organizations may apply for up to 100 percent of eligible and supported costs. While projects costing $5,000 can be supported, projects would normally be within the range of $25,000 to $500,000. However, the program may support up to a maximum amount of $1 million per project.
  • Incorporated businesses, including co-operatives and Indigenous-owned businesses may apply for up to 100 percent of eligible and supported project costs, from $5,000 to a maximum of $100,000.

Total government funding (including federal, provincial and municipal) cannot exceed 100 percent of eligible and supported project costs.

The CEF also allows for third party delivery. Not-for-profit organizations such as associations and municipalities can re-allocate or redistribute funding to other eligible organizations such as small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). In this case, the SMEs must provide a minimum 50 percent cash contribution to the project. The maximum disbursement of a contribution that provides funding to SMEs as their ultimate recipient is capped at a maximum of $100,000 per SME under a FedDev Ontario project with a not-for-profit organization.

Government stacking up to 100 percent is allowed only for not-for-profit organizations and Indigenous-owned businesses.

For incorporated businesses, total government funding (including federal, provincial and municipal) for a project cannot exceed 75 percent of eligible non-capital costs and 50 percent of eligible capital costs.

FedDev Ontario support is not intended to replace or duplicate funding available from other funding sources, including private sector and/or government programs.

Financial assistance from government programs may have tax implications for an organization. It is recommended that applicants obtain advice from a qualified tax professional.

Section D – Applying for funding

5.1 Submitting an application

The initial priority period for applications to the Canadian Experiences Fund ended June 3, 2019. Applications may still be submitted, however applications received by June 3 are being assessed on a priority basis. Projects received after this date will only be considered if funding continues to be available.

Applicants are encouraged to contact FedDev Ontario prior to submitting an application by calling us at 1-866-593-5505.

Multiple and concurrent project submissions from the same applicant for this program are discouraged and may not be considered by FedDev Ontario.

5.2 Review & assessment

A complete application will undergo a due diligence review. It will be assessed against a number of factors, including managerial, operational, financial and market risks, benefits and impacts, including the degree to which the proposed project meets or addresses one or more of the priority segments.

The demand for funding has exceeded the funds available. The extent to which your project addresses the following criteria will be used by FedDev Ontario to prioritize whether, and the extent to which, the request for funding is supported or not:

  • skills development;
  • job creation;
  • economic sustainability; and/or
  • environmental sustainability.

All applications will be screened initially for completeness. Due to the high volume of funding requests, applicants with an incomplete application should not expect to be contacted. Incomplete applications will not be assessed and will be considered ineligible for funding.

All project activities under the Canadian Experiences Fund must be completed by December 31, 2020.

Complete applications are those that include all prescribed documentation containing all information needed for FedDev Ontario to complete the review. Information should be accurate, verifiable, relevant and consistent.

Assessment criteria include, but are not limited to:

  • Project's contribution to achieving the objectives of Canadian Experiences Fund and alignment with one or more of the stated priority segments.
  • Demonstrated capacity of the applicant to successfully implement the project and achieve the stated objectives. Factors to be assessed include managerial capacity, technical capacity, operational capacity and financial capacity.
  • Risks (financial, technical) and mitigation strategies.
  • Benefits of the project.
  • Demonstrated need for FedDev Ontario's investment and its incremental impact on the project in terms of scope, location and timing.
  • Support for inclusive growth priorities (e.g., women-led or Indigenous-led organizations, young entrepreneurs, Official Language Minority Communities (OLMCs), persons with disabilities, newcomers to Canada and visible minorities).

5.3 Disbursement of funding

If a project receives approval, a contribution agreement will be executed with FedDev Ontario.

To receive funding, recipients must submit claims forms, on templates provided by FedDev Ontario, that summarize eligible costs incurred and paid within a period. Generally, the duration of these periods will be no more than once a month and no less than quarterly.

5.4 Reporting requirements & visibility requirements

Recipients must submit periodic reports and annual financial statements to FedDev Ontario. Project reports will provide details on project results and completion of deliverables, including achievement of performance indicators and project benefits identified in the contribution agreement.

Recipients must agree that its name, the amount of the Contribution and a description of the general nature of the activities supported under its contribution agreement with FedDev Ontario be made publicly available for reasons of transparency and proactive disclosure. Recipients must also agree to co-develop a plan intended to maximize visibility of the support received because of the project, including but not limited to support provided to ultimate recipients if applicable.

Other

An Application Guide and Frequently Asked Questions have been developed to assist in the completion of a project proposal for the Canadian Experiences Fund. In addition, you may contact FedDev Ontario to discuss your application by calling 1-866-593-5505.

Your application must be complete and have all of the required information as outlined in this guide to be considered for funding.

FedDev Ontario reserves the right to modify these guidelines at any time without notice and may waive certain requirements on an exceptional basis.

Date modified:

Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes –
Lignes directrices du programme

Contenu

Section A – Renseignements généraux

1. Contexte

Le Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes (FEC) du gouvernement du Canada, administré par les organismes de développement régional du pays, a été annoncé dans le budget de 2019 comme programme national auquel ont été affectés 58,5 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour aider le secteur touristique du Canada à innover et à croître.

De ce financement, FedDev Ontario a reçu plus de 11 millions de dollars pour la prestation de ce programme dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

La période initiale de demandes prioritaires au fonds des expériences canadienne a pris fin le 3 juin 2019. Il est toujours possible de présenter une demande, mais la priorité sera accordée aux demandes reçues avant le 3 juin. Les projets reçus après cette date ne seront pris en considération que s’il y a des fonds disponibles.

Les projets doivent être menés à terme d'ici le 31 décembre 2020.

2. Aperçu du programme

Le Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes (FEC) verse des contributions non remboursables aux bénéficiaires admissibles pour des projets qui créent, améliorent ou agrandissent des infrastructures liées au tourisme, comme l'hébergement, les attractions locales et les nouveaux produits ou expériences touristiques.

Le Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes vise normalement des investissements allant de 25 000 $ à 500 000 $ pour des projets axés sur un ou plusieurs des segments prioritaires suivants :

  1. Le tourisme dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées;
  2. Le tourisme autochtone;
  3. Le tourisme d'hiver et d'inter-saison;
  4. L'inclusivité, en particulier pour la communauté LGBTQ2+;
  5. Le tourisme de la ferme à la table, aussi connu sous le nom de tourisme culinaire.

Veuillez consulter les sections sur l'admissibilité et le financement des présentes lignes directrices pour plus de renseignements.

Section B – Conditions d'admissibilité

3.1 Demandeurs admissibles

Pour être admissible au financement de FedDev Ontario, un demandeur doit être situé dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Les demandeurs admissibles sont :

  • Les municipalités
  • Les organismes à but non lucratif œuvrant dans le secteur du tourisme
  • Les entreprises constituées en société, y compris :
    • Les entreprises ou sociétés;
    • Les entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones;
    • Les coopératives.

Pour être admissibles au financement, les demandeurs doivent démontrer ce qui suit, à savoir :

  • Détenir une preuve du financement du projet.
  • Avoir les capacités de gestion, technique, opérationnelle et financière d'atteindre les objectifs énoncés du projet en temps opportun.
  • Démontrer des possibilités de croissance du secteur ou de l'industrie.
  • Montrer en quoi le projet comble une lacune, y compris la preuve des possibilités économiques pour le secteur du tourisme.
  • Avoir un plan de projet viable avec des résultats réalisables, étayé par des estimations de coûts vérifiables.

Remarque : les demandeurs admissibles doivent être des personnes morales capables de conclure des accords juridiquement contraignants.

3.2 Projets admissibles

Le Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes appuiera les types d'activités suivantes menées par le secteur du tourisme :

  • Planification, élaboration et mise en œuvre de produits et de services : conception de services et de produits touristiques nouveaux ou améliorés (p. ex. attraction, festival, tournée);
  • Formation sur l'état de préparation au marché : travailler avec les associations touristiques pour offrir aux entreprises une formation relative à la préparation au marché;
  • Création ou amélioration des installations touristiques : biens matériels utilisés par les touristes (p. ex., sentiers, terrains de camping, refuges).

Pour être admissibles, les projets doivent s'inscrire dans l'une des cinq catégories suivantes (des exemples d'activités admissibles ont également été fournis).

Tourisme dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées : investissements pour aider à attirer les touristes vers des destinations rurales et éloignées, comme la planification du développement des destinations, les parcours d'aventure, l'amélioration des installations touristiques publiques et l'embellissement de la collectivité.

Tourisme autochtone : les investissements qui augmentent les revenus du tourisme autochtone, comme la formation relative à la préparation au marché, les festivals célébrant le patrimoine, la culture et l'art autochtones, ainsi que les installations et les guides d'interprétation.

Tourisme d'hiver et d'inter-saison : investissements visant à encourager le tourisme de façon plus uniforme tout au long de l'année, comme les festivals, les visites et les excursions pour voir les attractions locales, la faune et la culture, et l'amélioration des installations touristiques, comme la signalisation, l'hébergement spécialisé, la planification et l'aménagement des installations.

Inclusivité : investissements pour accroître le nombre de participants aux événements touristiques LGBTQ2+, comme les festivals urbains ou locaux de la fierté, la préparation au marché LGBTQ2+ et les événements artistiques touristiques.

Tourisme de la ferme à la table ou tourisme culinaire : investissements visant à accroître les dépenses des touristes en aliments et en boissons, comme le développement et la commercialisation de parcours touristiques culinaires régionaux, le développement et la mise en œuvre de festivals alimentaires et de marchés de producteurs, et le développement de nouveaux produits et services culinaires utilisant des produits locaux.

3.3 Coûts admissibles

Les coûts admissibles pour les activités du projet peuvent inclure :

  • La main-d'œuvre
  • L'expertise
  • Les coûts admissibles autres que les immobilisations
  • Les Immobilisations

Tous les coûts doivent être raisonnables et directement liés aux activités admissibles du projet. Les coûts admissibles doivent être marginaux et ne doivent pas couvrir les coûts opérationnels permanents.

3.4 coûts inadmissibles ou non financés

Les coûts inadmissibles ou non financés comprennent les suivants.

  • Les coûts jugés non raisonnables ou ceux qui ne sont pas directement liés aux activités admissibles du projet.
  • Les activités à l'appui des coûts d'entretien régulier ou des coûts d'exploitation courants.
  • Les coûts engagés avant la date d'admissibilité telle que définie dans l'accord de contribution.
  • Les coûts engagés avant la date de la demande ou après le 31 décembre 2020.
  • L'achat de terrains et d'immeubles.

Section C – Financement

4. Financement

Le financement du Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes n'est pas remboursable.

Le montant du financement disponible dépend du type de demandeur.

  • Les municipalités et les organismes à but non lucratif peuvent demander jusqu'à 100 pour cent des coûts admissibles et financés. Même si le programme peut appuyer des coûts de projet de 5 000 $, les projets seraient normalement dans la tranche de 25 000 $ à 500 000 $.
  • Les entreprises constituées en société, y compris les coopératives et les entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones, peuvent demander jusqu'à 100 pour cent des coûts admissibles et financés du projet, de 5 000 $ jusqu'à concurrence de 100 000 $.

Le financement gouvernemental total (fédéral, provincial et municipal) ne peut excéder 100 pour cent des coûts admissibles et financés du projet.

Le FEC permet également la prestation par un tiers. Les organismes à but non lucratif comme les associations et les municipalités peuvent réaffecter ou redistribuer des fonds à d'autres organismes admissibles comme les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME). Dans ce cas, les PME doivent apporter une contribution en espèces d'au moins 50 pour cent au projet. Le déboursement maximal d'une contribution qui offre un financement aux PME à titre de bénéficiaire final est plafonné à 100 000 $ par PME dans le cadre d'un projet de FedDev Ontario avec un organisme à but non lucratif.

Le cumulatif gouvernemental jusqu'à 100 pour cent n'est permis que pour les organismes à but non lucratif et les entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones.

Pour les entreprises constituées en société, le financement gouvernemental total (fédéral, provincial et municipal inclusivement) d'un projet ne peut dépasser 75 pour cent des coûts admissibles autres que les immobilisations et 50 pour cent des coûts admissibles d'immobilisations.

Le soutien de FedDev Ontario n'a pas pour but de remplacer ou de doubler le financement offert par d'autres sources, y compris le secteur privé ou les programmes gouvernementaux.

L'aide financière provenant de programmes gouvernementaux peut avoir des répercussions fiscales pour une organisation. Il est recommandé aux demandeurs d'obtenir les conseils d'un fiscaliste qualifié.

Section D – Demande de financement

5.1 Présentation d'une demande

La période initiale de demandes prioritaires au fonds des expériences canadienne a pris fin le 3 juin 2019. Il est toujours possible de présenter une demande, mais la priorité sera accordée aux demandes reçues avant le 3 juin. Les projets reçus après cette date ne seront pris en considération que s’il y a des fonds disponibles.

Les demandeurs peuvent communiquer avec FedDev Ontario avant de présenter une demande en composant le 1-866-593-5505.

FedDev Ontario n'encourage pas un même demandeur à présenter des projets multiples et simultanés dans le cadre de ce programme. Elle pourrait même ne pas les prendre en considération.

5.2 Examen et évaluation

Une demande complète fera l'objet d'un examen de diligence raisonnable. Elle sera évaluée en fonction d'un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment les risques, les avantages et les répercussions en matière de gestion, d'exploitation, de finances et de marché, y compris la mesure dans laquelle le projet proposé répond à ou aborde un ou plusieurs des segments prioritaires.

Un trop grand nombre de demandes a été présenté dans le cadre du FEC. Étant donné que la demande de financement a dépassé les fonds disponibles: FedDev Ontario étudiera dans quelle mesure les critères suivants sont respectés dans la demande afin d'établir les priorités, pour déterminer si la demande de financement est justifiée ou non, et ce dans quelle mesure. Ces critères sont les suivants :

  • le perfectionnement des compétences;
  • la création d'emplois;
  • la viabilité économique; et/ou
  • la durabilité de l'environnement.

Toutes les demandes seront d'abord examinées pour s'assurer qu'elles sont complètes. En raison du volume élevé de demandes de financement, les demandeurs dont la demande est incomplète ne doivent pas s'attendre à ce qu'on communique avec eux. Les demandes incomplètes ne seront pas évaluées et seront considérées comme inadmissibles au financement.

Toutes les activités de projet réalisées dans le cadre du Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes doivent être terminées au plus tard le 31 décembre 2020.

Les demandes complètes sont celles qui comprennent tous les documents requis contenant tous les renseignements nécessaires pour que FedDev Ontario puisse effectuer l'examen. L'information doit être exacte, vérifiable, pertinente et cohérente.

Les critères d'évaluation comprennent, sans s'y limiter, ceux qui suivent :

  • Contribution du projet à l'atteinte des objectifs du Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes et harmonisation à un ou plusieurs des segments prioritaires énoncés.
  • Capacité démontrée du demandeur à mettre en œuvre le projet avec succès et à atteindre les objectifs énoncés. Les facteurs à évaluer comprennent la capacité de gestion, la capacité technique, la capacité opérationnelle et la capacité financière.
  • Risques (financiers, techniques) et stratégies d'atténuation.
  • Avantages du projet.
  • Besoin manifeste pour l'investissement de FedDev Ontario et son incidence supplémentaire sur le projet en termes de portée, d'emplacement et de calendrier.
  • Soutien des priorités en matière de croissance inclusive (c.-à-d. les organisations dirigées par des femmes ou par des Autochtones, les jeunes entrepreneurs, les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire [CLOSM], les personnes handicapées, les nouveaux arrivants au Canada et les minorités visibles).

5.3 Déboursement des fonds

Si un projet est approuvé, un accord de contribution sera conclu avec FedDev Ontario.

Pour recevoir du financement, les bénéficiaires doivent présenter des formulaires de demande, sur des modèles fournis par FedDev Ontario, qui résument les coûts admissibles engagés et payés dans une période donnée. Généralement, la durée de ces périodes ne sera pas plus d'une fois par mois et pas moins d'une fois par trimestre.

5.4 Exigences en matière de rapports et de visibilité

Les bénéficiaires doivent soumettre des rapports périodiques et des états financiers annuels à FedDev Ontario. Les rapports de projet fourniront des renseignements sur les résultats du projet et l'achèvement des produits livrables, y compris l'atteinte des indicateurs de rendement et les avantages du projet tels que précisés dans l'accord de contribution.

Les bénéficiaires doivent accepter que leur nom, le montant de la contribution et une description de la nature générale des activités appuyées en vertu de son accord de contribution avec FedDev Ontario soient rendus publics pour des raisons de transparence et de divulgation proactive. Les bénéficiaires doivent également convenir d'élaborer conjointement un plan visant à maximiser la visibilité du soutien reçu en raison du projet, y compris, entre autres, le soutien fourni aux bénéficiaires finaux, le cas échéant.

Autres

Un guide de demande de financement et une foire aux questions ont été élaborés pour aider à la préparation d'une proposition de projet au titre du Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes. De plus, vous pouvez communiquer avec FedDev Ontario pour discuter de votre demande en composant le 1-866-593-5505.

Votre demande doit être complète et contenir tous les renseignements exigés dans le présent guide pour que votre demande de financement soit prise en considération.

FedDev Ontario se réserve le droit de modifier ces lignes directrices en tout temps sans préavis et peut, à titre exceptionnel, renoncer à certaines exigences.

Date de modification :