Canada’s tech sector makes quantum leap with development of ideas lab

Recipient: Quantum Valley Ideas Lab
Region: Waterloo
Program: Regional Innovation Ecosystem
Total funding allocated: $20 million

Quantum Valley Ideas Lab brings researchers and businesses together to develop transformative quantum technologies
Quantum Valley Ideas Lab brings researchers and businesses together to develop transformative quantum technologies.

A research community in Waterloo is opening eyes to how quantum technology can be a major driver of innovation and economic value.

Waterloo’s Quantum Valley ecosystem encompasses a growing group of investors, entrepreneurs, scientists and technology developers working together to lead quantum research towards commercialization and position Waterloo’s Quantum Valley as a global leader. Quantum exploration and commercialization will greatly improve the lives of Canadians—from enhancing X-ray technology and bringing new medicines to market more quickly, to developing smarter home and digital security tools.

As part of a $41-million Government of Canada investment towards the growth of the Quantum Valley ecosystem, in April 2019, Waterloo’s Quantum Valley Ideas Lab (QVIL) received $20 million from FedDev Ontario to support its unique facility that partners industry with researchers, engineers and tech experts to commercialize breakthrough technologies. 

FedDev Ontario’s investment comes at a pivotal time, when the Waterloo region’s solid reputation and strong culture of entrepreneurialism and innovation position the ecosystem to capture a large share of the emerging quantum technology market.

"Simply put, quantum mechanics allows us to do things that are impossible under classical rules," says Mike Lazaridis, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Quantum Valley Investments. "Our vision for the Quantum Valley was not only to build state of the art Canadian labs with world-class researchers that can develop new and transformative quantum technologies, but also to help establish and grow exciting new Canadian businesses that will take these technologies to global markets. Ideas Lab will play a critical role in making this possible."

QVIL is an independent charitable organization and the brainchild of Quantum Valley Investments founders Mike Lazardis and Doug Fregin, which funds quantum science breakthroughs with commercial potential. Lazardis and Fregin are the co-founders of Research in Motion and were responsible for establishing the Perimeter Institute and the Institute for Quantum Computing at the University of Waterloo.

"To me it’s all about people.  Attract and retain the most promising people and enable their success and big things will happen. This has been a driver in our approach to the Quantum Valley and is a driver in the development of Ideas Lab," says Lazaridis. “Our success over the past 20 years, and our traction in the commercial markets in recent years, demonstrate that the strategy can work.”

A formidable, collaborative project, QVIL will help hasten the cycle of understanding to discovery, to the development and commercialization of new and transformative quantum technologies. With a futuristic vision and a committed collaborative approach, QVIL has established itself as a leader in a new global industry that will drive innovation and economic value for years to come.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Simply put, quantum mechanics allows us to do things that are impossible under classical rules.
Mike Lazaridis, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Quantum Valley Investments
Date modified:

Le secteur canadien de la technologie fait un bond en avant grâce au développement d’un laboratoire d’idées

Bénéficiaire : Quantum Valley Ideas Lab
Région : Waterloo
Programme : Écosystème d’innovation régional
Financement total alloué : 20 millions de dollars

Quantum Valley Ideas Lab réunit des chercheurs et des entreprises afin de développer des technologies quantiques transformatrices.
Quantum Valley Ideas Lab réunit des chercheurs et des entreprises afin de développer des technologies quantiques transformatrices.

Un groupe de chercheurs de Waterloo a entrepris de démontrer en quoi la technologie quantique peut s’avérer un important vecteur d’innovation et de valeur économique.

L’écosystème de la Quantum Valley, à Waterloo, attire de plus en plus d’investisseurs, d’entrepreneurs, de scientifiques et de concepteurs de technologies, qui travaillent ensemble pour faire le pont entre la recherche quantique et la commercialisation et pour faire de Quantum Valley de Waterloo un chef de file mondial. L’exploration et la commercialisation quantiques amélioreront grandement la vie des Canadiens, que ce soit en perfectionnant la technologie des rayons X, en accélérant la mise sur le marché de nouveaux médicaments ou en mettant au point des outils de sécurité numériques et domestiques plus efficaces.

Dans le cadre d’un investissement de 41 millions de dollars du gouvernement du Canada pour la croissance de l’écosystème de la Quantum Valley, le Quantum Valley Ideas Lab (QVIL) de Waterloo a reçu 20 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario en avril 2019 pour soutenir son installation unique, qui allie industrie, chercheurs, ingénieurs et spécialistes en technologie en vue de la commercialisation de technologies révolutionnaires.

L’investissement de FedDev Ontario arrive à point, alors que la bonne réputation de la région de Waterloo et sa solide culture d’entrepreneuriat et d’innovation positionnent l’écosystème de façon à lui permettre de s’approprier une grande part du marché émergent des technologies quantiques.

« En un mot, la mécanique quantique nous permet de faire des choses que ne nous permettent pas les règles classiques », explique Mike Lazaridis, cofondateur et directeur associé de Quantum Valley Investments. « Notre vision pour la Quantum Valley consistait non seulement à construire des laboratoires canadiens à la fine pointe de la technologie et à les doter de chercheurs de calibre mondial capables de concevoir de nouvelles technologies quantiques transformatrices, mais également à contribuer à la création et au développement de nouvelles entreprises canadiennes prometteuses qui mettront ces technologies sur les marchés mondiaux. Ideas Lab aura un grand rôle à jouer dans ce projet. »

Créé par Mike Lazardis et Doug Fregin, fondateurs de Quantum Valley Investments, QVIL est un organisme de bienfaisance indépendant qui finance des percées scientifiques quantiques à potentiel commercial. MM. Lazardis et Fregin sont les anciens visionnaires de Research in Motion, à l’origine de la création du Perimeter Institute et de l’Institute for Quantum Computing de l’Université de Waterloo.

« D’après moi, tout repose sur le personnel. Lorsqu’on réussit à attirer et à retenir les esprits les plus prometteurs et à assurer leur réussite, on réalise de grandes choses. Cela a joué un rôle déterminant dans notre approche pour la Quantum Valley et pour la création de Ideas Lab », explique M. Lazaridis. « Notre succès au cours des 20 dernières années et notre récente réussite sur les marchés commerciaux démontrent que cette stratégie peut fonctionner. »

QVIL est un formidable projet de collaboration qui contribuera à accélérer le cycle de la compréhension à la découverte, au développement et à la commercialisation de technologies quantiques nouvelles et transformatrices. Grâce à sa vision futuriste et à son engagement à l’égard de la collaboration, QVIL est maintenant reconnu comme un leader dans un nouveau secteur d’activité mondial qui sera le moteur de l’innovation et un atout économique pour les années à venir.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
En un mot, la mécanique quantique nous permet de faire des choses que ne nous permettent pas les règles classiques.
Mike Lazaridis, cofondateur et directeur associé de Quantum Valley Investments.
Date de modification :