Growing the next generation of anchor firms in southern Ontario

Recipient: Communitech, MaRS Discovery District, Invest Ottawa
Region: Southern Ontario
Program: Regional Innovation Ecosystem
Total funding allocated: $52.4 million

Communitech, MaRS and Invest Ottawa will work with high-potential firms to accelerate their growth and help cultivate a strong pipeline of scale-ready companies.
Communitech, MaRS and Invest Ottawa will work with high-potential firms to accelerate their growth and help cultivate a strong pipeline of scale-ready companies.

It’s a proven formula. Provide a nucleus for entrepreneurs who need financial support, increased business and marketing skills and access to mentors, workshops and potential customers. Three of Ontario’s top innovation hubs have successfully implemented this very formula to nurture start-ups, and a FedDev Ontario investment has supported them in taking it to the next level with a new Scale-Up Program. This innovative program has brought together three leading hubs—Communitech, MaRS and Invest Ottawa—to pool their resources and provide tailored services to help high-potential companies scale up. 

The Scale-Up Platform will pave the way for strong job growth and economic benefits as a driving force for Canada’s technology sector, with the potential to help transform the current Waterloo-Toronto-Ottawa start-up tech corridor into a world-leading scale-up tech cluster. The three hubs are building a pipeline of scale-ready ventures with the goal of creating 30 $100-million anchor firms by 2024. And our Agency is excited to facilitate their efforts.“FedDev Ontario is playing a pivotal role by investing more than $52 million in the first scale-up platform of its kind in Canada,” says Michael Tremblay, President and CEO, Invest Ottawa and Bayview Yards. “Our organizations have identified more than 100 high-growth and scaling firms with the potential to achieve significant revenue. A sustained focus on this cohort will produce the next generation of anchor companies for our economy.” 

Scaling companies are those growing in headcount or revenue by at least 20 percent per year over three years. They account for less than five percent of all Canadian firms, but create more than 50 percent of all new jobs. The process of getting 30 companies across the line as $100M anchor firms will also support an additional 900 companies to reach early-, mid- and late-scale readiness. This investment will directly assist 12 key and emerging sectors in southern Ontario, strengthen partnerships with several post-secondary institutions, business accelerators and incubators and help innovative companies create up to 18,000 jobs. 

According to MaRS CEO, Yung Wu, scaling companies are “crucial to fostering shared prosperity” here in Ontario and across Canada. “We need to help these scale-ups because they provide solutions that solve real problems for real people. They can cement Canada as an innovation leader, while also attracting investment and incredible talent from around the world.”

Over the next five years, Kitchener-Waterloo’s Communitech will receive $18 million, Toronto’s MaRS Discovery District will receive $17.5 million and Invest Ottawa will receive $16.9 million. The hubs will leverage FedDev Ontario’s investment and matching partner contributions to build on regional disruptive technology and talent strengths to support high-growth, globally oriented technology firms accelerate growth and commercial success.

“Our three hubs have a proven track record of success and work with companies that have the greatest potential to scale globally and, through their high-tech products, create a better world,” says Wu. “Coordinating our programs and services and jointly focusing on the highest potential companies is an evolution in how our ecosystem can support breakthrough companies with important solutions.”

As part of this platform, Communitech and Invest Ottawa are collaborating with regional partners to help cultivate a strong supply of scale-ready companies. Additionally, the platform will help enable and catalyze the growth and success of more women-owned firms and Indigenous entrepreneurs, and ensure that innovation centres in smaller communities have access to scale-up programming, advisory services and support for their client companies.

“FedDev Ontario's partnership in the Scale-up Platform is critical to our ability to support the growing number of rapidly scaling firms in southern Ontario,” says Iain Klugman, CEO, Communitech. “The investment FedDev Ontario is making will allow us to continue to support a healthy pipeline of start-up companies and to build specialized support for those high-growth companies that are on the path to $100M in annual revenue. We know that $100M firms are significant job creators. They are also the firms that are most likely to grow into $1B businesses and contribute to the health of the overall Canadian economy.”

The rise of innovation hubs as important resources for assisting entrepreneurs and accelerating business growth is a testament to the benefits of collaboration and the value of gaining access to the right expertise, networks and ecosystems at the right time. This new Scale-Up Platform—with its novel collaborative approach—will provide an even more powerful launch pad with game-changing supports that will increase our potential to generate made-in-Canada anchor firms that will drive innovation, business expansion and job creation.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario's partnership in the Scale-up Platform is critical to our ability to support the growing number of rapidly scaling firms in southern Ontario.
Iain Klugman, CEO, Communitech
Date modified:

Coup de pouce aux prochaines entreprises phares du Sud de l'Ontario

Bénéficiaires : Communitech, MaRS Discovery District, Investir Ottawa
Région : Sud de l’Ontario
Programme : Écosystème d’innovation régional
Financement total alloué : 52,4 millions de dollars

Communitech, MaRS et Investir Ottawa travailleront avec des entreprises à fort potentiel afin d’accélérer leur croissance et d’aider à la création d’un solide bassin d’entreprises prêtes à se développer.
Communitech, MaRS et Investir Ottawa travailleront avec des entreprises à fort potentiel afin d’accélérer leur croissance et d’aider à la création d’un solide bassin d’entreprises prêtes à se développer.

C’est prouvé : les réseaux sont bénéfiques pour les entrepreneurs qui ont besoin d’un soutien financier, de nouvelles compétences en affaires et en marketing et d’une source de mentors, d’ateliers et de clients potentiels. Trois des principaux centres d’innovation de l’Ontario ont adopté cette approche avec succès pour favoriser le démarrage d’entreprises, et un investissement de FedDev Ontario les a aidés à passer à la vitesse supérieure grâce à un nouveau programme d’expansion. En effet, ce programme novateur a amené Communitech, MaRS et Investir Ottawa à mettre leurs ressources en commun et à offrir des services personnalisés afin de propulser la croissance d’entreprises prometteuses.

Cette plateforme d’expansion, force motrice du secteur canadien de la technologie, aura de fortes retombées positives tant pour l’emploi que pour l’économie, et pourrait contribuer à faire passer le couloir Waterloo-Toronto-Ottawa de l’étape du démarrage à celle de l’expansion d’entreprises de calibre mondial. D’ailleurs, les trois centres d’innovation œuvrent à la création d’un réseau d’expansion dans le but de créer 30 entreprises phares ayant un chiffre d’affaires dans les 100 millions de dollars d’ici 2024. Et l’agence est enthousiaste à l’idée de faciliter leurs efforts.

« FedDev Ontario joue un rôle central en investissant plus de 52 millions de dollars dans la première plateforme d’expansion du genre au Canada », affirme Michael Tremblay, président et chef de la direction d’Investir Ottawa et des Cours Bayview. « Nos organisations ont repéré plus d’une centaine d’entreprises à forte croissance ayant le potentiel de générer des revenus importants. Une attention soutenue à cette cohorte produira la prochaine génération d’entreprises phares pour notre économie. »

Une entreprise en expansion voit son effectif ou son chiffre d’affaires augmenter d’au moins 20 % par année sur une période de trois ans. Les entreprises en expansion représentent moins de 5 % de toutes les entreprises canadiennes, mais elles créent plus de 50 % de tous les nouveaux emplois. En aidant  30 entreprises à passer le cap des 100 millions de dollars, le projet en aidera aussi 900 autres à franchir les différentes étapes de la préparation à la croissance. Cet investissement appuiera la création de plus de 18 000 nouveaux emplois, aidera directement 12 secteurs clés et émergents du Sud de l’Ontario et renforcera les partenariats avec plusieurs établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, accélérateurs et incubateurs d’entreprises.

Selon Yung Wu, chef de la direction de MaRS, l’expansion des entreprises est « cruciale pour favoriser une prospérité partagée », ici en Ontario et partout au Canada. « Nous devons contribuer à cette expansion parce qu’elle permet de trouver des solutions aux problèmes réels de vraies personnes. Elle peut consolider la position du Canada en tant que chef de file de l’innovation, tout en attirant des investissements et des talents incroyables de partout dans le monde. »

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, Communitech, de Kitchener-Waterloo, recevra 18 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, le MaRS Discovery District, de Toronto, en recevra 17,5 et Investir Ottawa en recevra 16,9. Les centres d’innovation se serviront de cet argent et des contributions équivalentes de leurs partenaires pour tirer parti des forces régionales en matière de technologies révolutionnaires et des talents afin d’aider les entreprises technologiques à forte croissance et à vocation mondiale à accélérer leur développement et leur réussite commerciale.

« Nos trois centres ont fait leurs preuves et travaillent avec les entreprises qui ont le potentiel d’expansion mondiale le plus élevé et qui, grâce à leurs produits de haute technologie, créent un monde meilleur », déclare M. Wu. « Le fait de coordonner nos programmes et services et de nous concentrer ensemble sur les entreprises les plus prometteuses marque une avancée dans notre façon d’appuyer les entreprises innovantes grâce à des solutions importantes. »

Communitech et Investir Ottawa, en tant que participants à cette plateforme, collaborent avec des partenaires régionaux en vue de créer un solide bassin d’entreprises prêtes à se développer. En outre, la plateforme permettra et catalysera la croissance et le succès d’un plus grand nombre d’entreprises appartenant à des femmes et d’entrepreneurs autochtones, et fera en sorte que les centres d’innovation des petites localités aient accès à des programmes d’expansion, des services consultatifs et un soutien pour leurs entreprises clientes. 

« Le partenariat de FedDev Ontario avec la plateforme d’expansion est essentiel à notre capacité d’appuyer le nombre croissant d’entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario qui se développent rapidement », affirme Iain Klugman, PDG de Communitech. « L’investissement de FedDev Ontario nous permettra de continuer à soutenir un bassin d’entreprises en démarrage et d’offrir un soutien spécialisé aux entreprises à forte croissance qui sont en voie de réaliser un revenu annuel de 100 millions. Nous savons que ces entreprises créent énormément d’emplois. Ce sont également les plus susceptibles d’atteindre un chiffre d’affaires d’un milliard de dollars et de contribuer à la santé de l’économie canadienne dans son ensemble. »

La montée en puissance des centres d’innovation, en tant que ressources importantes pour aider les entrepreneurs et accélérer la croissance des entreprises, témoigne des avantages de la collaboration et de la valeur de l’accès aux compétences, aux réseaux et aux écosystèmes nécessaires au bon moment. Grâce à son approche novatrice axée sur la collaboration, cette nouvelle plateforme constituera une rampe de lancement encore plus puissante; ses mesures de soutien changeront la donne et augmenteront notre capacité de créer des entreprises phares canadiennes qui favoriseront l’innovation, l’expansion commerciale et la création d’emplois.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Le partenariat de FedDev Ontario avec la plateforme d’expansion est essentiel à notre capacité d’appuyer le nombre croissant d’entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario qui se développent rapidement.
Iain Klugman, PDG de Communitech
Date de modification :