Windsor-Essex reinvents the wheel with new automobility innovation cluster

Recipient: WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation (WE EDC)
Region: Windsor-Essex County
Total funding allocated: $5 million

Windsor-Essex County’s VR CAVE is an immersive virtual reality environment where companies can test innovative automotive technologies.
Windsor-Essex County’s VR CAVE is an immersive virtual reality environment where companies can test innovative automotive technologies.

Rooted in more than a century of automotive manufacturing expertise, Windsor has earned its title as the “automotive capital of Canada.” But the automotive sector is evolving and changing—and at an incredible pace. Self-driving technologies, light-weight materials, connected and autonomous vehicles, electrification, artificial intelligence, cyber security and smart traffic equipment are technologies that are driving the auto industry into the future. As a resilient and industrious community, Windsor-Essex is embracing transformation and innovation to remain competitive in this rapidly changing global marketplace.

In the driver’s seat is the WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation (WE EDC)—the region’s champion dedicated to growing and sustaining economic prosperity, mainly through encouraging business growth, attracting new businesses to the region and supporting entrepreneurship. With $5 million in support from FedDev Ontario, WE EDC is leading the development of an automobility innovation cluster in the region. Once established, this will help diversify from traditional auto manufacturing to next-generation mobility innovation.

“FedDev Ontario’s investment in the Windsor-Essex automobility cluster has fostered further collaboration within the region, and will enable us to attract new investment, support industry and position our community to be more diverse, innovative and prosperous,” says Stephen MacKenzie, President and CEO, WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation.

WE EDC describes “automobility” as the movement of people and goods through vast technological advancements in the auto industry, as well as in the information and communications technology, transportation and warehousing sectors. As this new sector emerges, transportation is becoming faster, less expensive, cleaner, safer and more efficient.

WE EDC will partner with the University of Windsor, as well as many local organizations, businesses and municipalities to develop, grow and sustain this cluster. Together, they will work to advance new technologies, such as smart traffic equipment, and undertake a pilot project to operate the first bi-national autonomous shuttle.

Overall, this project is expected to support 165 companies, establish 20 new partnerships and create and maintain 665 jobs, while strengthening the region’s competitiveness. It will also facilitate global outreach, with the goal of attracting an estimated $9 million in foreign direct investment, as well as help businesses integrate into global markets.

“Automation and technology are forcing Canada’s automotive industry to be more innovative and keep pace with global changes. Canada’s automotive capital—the Windsor-Essex Region—is positioned to lead the way by transforming itself to be Canada’s automobility capital,” says Shelley Fellows, Vice-President Communications at AIS Technologies Group; Chair of Automate Canada; and, named as one of Automotive News Canada “Canadians to Watch” in 2019.

This initiative comes at a momentous time. With construction of the technologically advanced Gordie Howe International Bridge well underway and Windsor-Essex being designated as one of six Regional Technology Development Sites in Ontario to help spur connected and autonomous vehicles, opportunity abounds. And, with its geographical proximity to Detroit/southeastern Michigan—coined the “global capital of mobility”—the Windsor-Essex Region has a clear opportunity to capitalize on the innovation environment found just over the border.

While reflecting on the rich automotive heritage in this region, Windsor-Essex knows that diversification is key to resilience, and a collaborative effort is needed to realize its full economic potential. By promoting a vibrant ecosystem and embracing automation, smart technologies and innovation, WE EDC aims to make Windsor-Essex a leader in transformative automotive technologies and undergo a global re-brand—becoming the “automobility capital of Canada.”

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario’s investment in the Windsor-Essex automobility cluster has fostered further collaboration within the region, and will enable us to attract new investment, support industry and position our community to be more diverse, innovative and prosperous.
Stephen MacKenzie, President and CEO, WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation
Date modified:

Windsor-Essex réinvente la roue avec une nouvelle grappe d’innovation de l’automobilité

Bénéficiaire : WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation (WE EDC)
Région : Comté de Windsor-Essex
Montant total des fonds alloués : 5 millions de dollars

Le VR CAVE du comté de Windsor-Essex est un environnement de réalité virtuelle immersif où les entreprises peuvent mettre à l’essai des technologies automobiles novatrices.
Le VR CAVE du comté de Windsor-Essex est un environnement de réalité virtuelle immersif où les entreprises peuvent mettre à l’essai des technologies automobiles novatrices.

Forte de plus d’un siècle d’expertise en fabrication automobile, Windsor a gagné son titre de « capitale de l’automobile du Canada ». Cependant, le secteur de l’automobile évolue et change à un rythme incroyable. Les technologies des véhicules autonomes, les matériaux légers, les véhicules connectés et autonomes, l’électrification, l’intelligence artificielle, la cybersécurité et les équipements de circulation intelligents sont des technologies qui propulsent l’industrie automobile dans l’avenir. En tant que collectivité dynamique et assidue, Windsor-Essex adopte la transformation et l’innovation pour demeurer concurrentielle sur ce marché mondial en rapide évolution.

La WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation (WE EDC) a les mains sur le volant et se fait la championne de la région en se consacrant à la croissance et au maintien de la prospérité économique, principalement en encourageant la croissance des entreprises, en attirant de nouvelles entreprises dans la région et en soutenant l’entrepreneuriat. Grâce à l’appui de 5 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, WE EDC dirige le développement d’une grappe d’innovation dans le domaine de l’automobile dans la région. Une fois établie, cette démarche permettra de diversifier la production automobile traditionnelle et l’innovation en matière de mobilité de la prochaine génération.

« L’investissement de FedDev Ontario dans la grappe de l’automobilité Windsor-Essex a favorisé une collaboration plus poussée dans la région et nous permettra d’attirer de nouveaux investissements, de soutenir l’industrie et de positionner notre collectivité de façon à la rendre plus diversifiée, innovatrice et prospère », a déclaré Stephen MacKenzie, président et directeur général de la WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation.

WE EDC décrit l’automobilité comme le déplacement de personnes et de biens par l’entremise de vastes progrès technologiques dans l’industrie de l’automobile, ainsi que dans les secteurs des technologies de l’information et des communications, des transports et de l’entreposage. Grâce à l’émergence de ce nouveau secteur, les transports deviennent plus rapides, moins coûteux, plus écologiques, plus sécuritaires et plus efficaces.

WE EDC s’associera à l’Université de Windsor, de même qu’à bon nombre d’organismes, d’entreprises et de municipalités à l’échelle locale pour exploiter et soutenir cette grappe. Ensemble, ces organismes s’emploieront à faire progresser les nouvelles technologies, comme l’équipement de transport intelligent, et à entreprendre un projet pilote pour exploiter la première navette binationale autonome.

Dans l’ensemble, ce projet devrait soutenir 165 entreprises, établir 20 nouveaux partenariats, et créer et maintenir 665 emplois, tout en renforçant la compétitivité de la région. Il facilitera également la communication à l’échelle mondiale, l’objectif étant d’attirer environ 9 millions de dollars d’investissements étrangers directs et d’aider les entreprises à s’intégrer dans les marchés mondiaux.

« L’automatisation et la technologie obligent l’industrie automobile canadienne à être plus innovatrice et à suivre le rythme des changements mondiaux. La capitale canadienne de l’automobile, la région de Windsor-Essex, est en mesure de montrer la voie en se transformant en capitale canadienne de l’automobile », a déclaré Shelley Fellows, vice-présidente des communications d’AIS Technologies Group, présidente d’Automate Canada et finaliste dans la catégorie des « Canadiens à surveiller » d’Automotive News Canada.

Cette initiative arrive à un moment crucial. La construction du pont international Gordie Howe, une avancée sur le plan technologique, est sur la bonne voie et Windsor-Essex est désigné comme l’un des six sites régionaux de développement de technologies en Ontario pour aider à stimuler les véhicules branchés et autonomes, et les possibilités abondent. De plus, étant donné sa proximité géographique avec Detroit et le sud-est du Michigan – qui a été la « capitale mondiale de l’automobile » – la région de Windsor-Essex a clairement l’occasion de tirer parti de l’environnement d’innovation qui se trouve juste au nord de la frontière.

Tout en réfléchissant à la richesse du patrimoine automobile de cette région, Windsor-Essex sait que la diversification est essentielle à la résilience et qu’un effort de collaboration est nécessaire pour réaliser tout son potentiel économique. En faisant la promotion d’un écosystème dynamique et en adoptant l’automatisation, les technologies intelligentes et l’innovation, WE EDC vise à faire de Windsor-Essex un chef de file dans le domaine de la transformation des technologies automobiles et à faire l’objet d’une nouvelle image de marque à l’échelle mondiale, devenant ainsi la « capitale de l’automobile du Canada ».

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube Periscope RSS
L’investissement de FedDev Ontario dans la grappe de l’automobilité Windsor-Essex a favorisé une collaboration plus poussée dans la région et nous permettra d’attirer de nouveaux investissements, de soutenir l’industrie et de positionner notre collectivité de façon à la rendre plus diversifiée, innovatrice et prospère.
Stephen MacKenzie, président et directeur général de la WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation
Date de modification :