Ontario Businesses Go Digital

Recipients: Ontario Business Improvement Area Association, Toronto Association of Business Improvement Areas, Communitech, Invest Ottawa, Toronto Region Board of Trade
Region: Ontario
Total funding allocated: $50 million

Main Street Digital

With widespread access to services across southern Ontario, no community or main street will be left behind.

The scene is all too familiar: the once vibrant and bustling main streets in communities across Ontario are eerily quiet. Many entrepreneurs never thought they would need to survive a time when their clients could no longer buy products at their counters. Now living this reality, many business owners are rethinking their business models and exploring new ways to serve their clients. Businesses with existing digital ordering capabilities are at an advantage, but they are starting to see that with greater exposure and purposeful online marketing, their business could grow globally.

That’s where the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario’s (FedDev Ontario’s) investment in the Digital Main Street Platform comes in. With a $50-million investment through the Regional Relief and Recovery Fund, key partners across the province will use their expertise to help main street businesses and SMEs transform their operations so that they can compete now and prosper in the post-COVID-19 economy. The Government of Ontario is also providing $7.6 million to expand the platform further to businesses in Northern Ontario.

The Digital Main Street Platform

Main streets have always been an important part of life in any community. Their diverse businesses make Main Street in any town a place to gather, a place to get things done, a place to work, a place to buy local, a place to celebrate. As COVID-19 presents an unprecedented challenge to the store fronts that make a city feel like home, resources are on the way to help them adapt. Get ready for Main Street to go digital.

With the power of leading innovation hubs and experienced business improvement associations (BIAs), paired with the keen minds of post-secondary students, the Digital Main Street Platform will support nearly 23,000 businesses across Ontario and create jobs for more than 1,400 students.

The Digital Main Street Platform offers three distinct levels of support to meet the individual needs of small businesses, whether they are located in a small rural community or along one of the diverse main streets of Ontario’s largest cities.

The entry level of support, delivered by the Ontario Business Improvement Area Association (OBIAA), will provide non-repayable contributions of $2,500 to main street businesses seeking to adopt new digital technologies. These contributions can be used toward the cost of activities such as registering for a new website, enhanced photography, or any number of other measures needed to create a compelling online presence.

OBIAA commends FedDev Ontario for this sound investment in our main streets. Together, with our partners, we will direct support to main street small businesses through Digital Service Squads and Digital Transformation Grants offered through the Digital Main Street Platform. - Kay Matthews, Executive Director of the Ontario BIA Association

If you are a small business looking for support to begin your digital transformation, please visit the Digital Main Street website and register online.

OBIAA will also provide financial support to municipalities, chambers of commerce and BIAs to establish local Digital Service Squads: teams of post-secondary students and recent graduates to engage main street businesses to develop their digital transformation plans.

If you are a municipality or chamber of commerce seeking a grant to establish a local Digital Service Squad, please visit the Digital Main Street website and register online.

The next level of support will be delivered by the Toronto Association of Business Improvement Areas (TABIA), Communitech and Invest Ottawa, for those businesses that already have an established digital presence. Support entails helping businesses develop a customized online storefront, using one of the many e-commerce platforms available offering tools like point-of-sale software and inventory and order management. Expanding on the ShopHere model that was launched in Toronto in partnership with Google and Shopify, businesses can gain nationwide exposure, finding new customers in other provinces and even other countries. Business owners will work with experienced post-secondary students to build their online store, create a social media presence and develop other basic digital marketing strategies needed to compete in the e-commerce market.

With the help and support of this announcement and commitments by an unprecedented number of corporate partners, companies, educational institutions and volunteers, we are that much closer to making Ontario’s small businesses more resilient and prepared to face the future. - John J. Kiru, Executive Director, Toronto Association of Business Improvement Areas

If your business is ready to expand its digital marketing opportunities and take its online presence to the next level, please visit the Digital Main Street website and register online.

The Future-Proofing Main Street initiative is targeted to businesses looking for an advanced level of support, taking their established online presence and ambitious market growth plans to the next level. Powered by Communitech, Invest Ottawa, and other regional innovation centres across southern Ontario, business owners will have access to teams of qualified co-op students, experienced digital marketing professionals and business advisors to develop sophisticated digital marketing plans to identify and pursue new domestic and global market opportunities, through their online sites.

Building on critical support from our federal government, we are honoured to collaborate with FedDev Ontario and partners across the province to help future-proof our main street business and economy. - Michael Tremblay, President and CEO, Invest Ottawa and Bayview Yards
Alongside our regional innovation partners, Communitech is ready to get to work and help businesses engage with their communities online, embrace e-commerce and reach new customers. - Iain Klugman, CEO and President at Communitech

If your business has ambitious expansion plans and is looking for new domestic and global markets, please visit the Digital Main Street website and register online.

The Recovery Activation Program

While the Digital Main Street Platform will help small companies located along main streets across Ontario, the digital transformation needs do not end at Main Street. Small- and medium-sized businesses – whether retail, manufacturing or larger service providers – also need targeted support to reignite their recovery and embrace a digital future. With that in mind, FedDev Ontario is providing $7.5 million to the Toronto Region Board of Trade to deliver the Recovery Activation Program. Working with its extensive network of chambers of commerce, industry associations and program delivery partners, SMEs will have access to virtual workshops and curated cohort-based programs. Over 1,000 SMEs in Ontario will be able to access intensive training to help digitally transform their operations in areas ranging from supply chain management to back-office IT functions.

The governments’ investment in the Recovery Activation Program makes them a valuable partner in helping businesses overcome digitization challenges, enabling us to significantly expand the program’s reach and offer it completely free to enterprises across the province. - Jan De Silva, President and CEO of the Toronto Region Board of Trade

If you are a small- or medium-sized business in Ontario seeking customized advice on digitizing any or all aspects of your operation, sign up to participate in the no-cost Recovery Activation Program, run by the Scale-Up Institute Toronto through the Toronto Region Board of Trade.

With strategic partners that have a broad reach to tens of thousands of the region’s businesses and offer a wealth of expertise, FedDev Ontario wants to future-proof Main Street businesses and SMEs by transforming business models with the armour of e-commerce platforms. These partners are best-suited to deliver this widespread support and make the greatest possible impact across the region. Together, we are working to ensure that no community, main street or business owner will be left behind.

The stores along downtown streets in communities across Ontario are a big part of civic identity and pride. FedDev Ontario and its partners will offer the support these businesses need to rebuild and retool in the digital world, while providing valuable work experience to students that may have been displaced from other opportunities by the pandemic. - Kate Young, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages (FedDev Ontario)

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Our message to Ontario’s small businesses, and those whose livelihoods rely on them, is clear: we’re working with you to support good jobs and help our economy come back stronger than ever.
- The Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages

Features

Main Street Transformation Platform
Digital Main Street

If you are a small Ontario main street business seeking support to digitize your operations, register online for support through Digital Main Street, ShopHere, or the Future Proofing Main Street initiative.

Recovery Activation Program
Recovery Activation Program

If you are an Ontario SME seeking customized advice on digitizing any aspect of your operations, sign up to participate in the no-cost Recovery Activation Program through the Toronto Region Board of Trade.

Date modified:

Les entreprises ontariennes passent au numérique

Bénéficiaire : Ontario Business Improvement Area Association, Toronto Association of Business Improvement Areas, Communitech, Investir Ottawa, Toronto Region Board of Trade
Région : Ontario
Montant des fonds alloués : 50 millions de dollars

Main Street Digital

Grâce à l’accès généralisé aux services dans tout de l’Ontario, aucune collectivité ou rue principale ne sera laissée pour compte.

La scène n’est que trop familière : les rues principales des collectivités de l’Ontario, jadis animées et grouillantes de vie, sont étrangement silencieuses. De nombreux entrepreneurs n’ont jamais pensé qu’ils devraient survivre à une époque où leurs clients ne pourraient plus acheter de produits à leurs comptoirs. Aux prises aujourd’hui avec cette réalité, de nombreux propriétaires d’entreprises repensent leur modèle d’entreprise et explorent de nouvelles façons de servir leurs clients. Les entreprises qui disposent déjà de capacités de commande numérique sont avantagées, mais elles commencent à se rendre compte qu’avec une plus grande exposition et un marketing en ligne ciblé, leurs activités pourraient prospérer mondialement.

C’est là qu’intervient l’investissement de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) dans la Plateforme de la rue principale numérique. Grâce à un investissement de 50 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds d’aide et de relance régionale, des partenaires clés de toute la province utiliseront leur savoir-faire pour aider les entreprises de la rue principale et les PME à transformer leurs activités afin qu’elles puissent devenir compétitives dès maintenant et prospérer dans l’économie post-COVID. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario fournit aussi 7,6 millions de dollars pour accroître la plateforme pour qu’elle atteigne les entreprises dans le Nord l’Ontario.

La plateforme numérique des rues principals

Les rues principales ont toujours représenté une partie importante de la vie de toute collectivité. La diversité de leurs activités fait de la « rue principale », dans n’importe quelle ville, un lieu de rassemblement, un lieu de travail, un lieu d’achat local, un lieu de célébration. Comme la COVID-19 représente un défi sans précédent pour les vitrines de magasins qui donnent à une ville tout son cachet, des ressources sont en cours d’élaboration pour les aider à s’adapter. Préparez-vous donc à ce que la rue principale passe au numérique.

Avec la puissance des pôles d’innovation dominants, et des associations chevronnées vouées à l’amélioration entreprises jointes aux esprits affûtés des étudiants postsecondaires, la plateforme numérique des rues principales appuiera près de 23 000 entreprises à travers de l’Ontario et créera des emplois pour plus de 1400 étudiants.

la plateforme numérique des rues principales offre trois niveaux d’aide distincts pour répondre aux besoins individuels des petites entreprises, qu’elles soient situées dans une petite collectivité rurale ou le long d’une des rues principales des plus grandes villes de l’Ontario.

Le soutien de premier niveau, fourni par l’Ontario Business Improvement Area Association (OBIAA), fournira des contributions non remboursables pouvant atteindre 2 500 dollars aux entreprises de la rue principale qui cherchent à adopter les nouvelles technologies numériques. Ces contributions peuvent être utilisées pour couvrir le coût d’activités telles que l’inscription d’un nouveau site Web, une photographie améliorée, ou toute autre mesure nécessaire pour créer une présence en ligne convaincante.

L’OBIAA félicite FedDev Ontario pour cet investissement judicieux à l’égard de nos rues principales. Ensemble, nous commencerons la tâche de la relance en leur apportant un soutien direct par l’entremise des équipes de services numériques et des subventions pour la transformation numérique. - Kay Matthews, directrice générale, Ontario Business Improvement Area Association

Si vous êtes une petite entreprise cherchant un appui pour commencer votre transformation numérique, veuillez visiter le site Web Rue principale numérique (en anglais) et vous inscrire en ligne.

L’OBIAA apportera également un soutien financier aux municipalités, aux chambres de commerce et aux associations vouées à l’amélioration des entreprises pour la mise en place d’Équipes locales de services numériques : ces équipes composées d’étudiants de l’enseignement supérieur et de jeunes diplômés inciteront les entreprises de la rue principale à élaborer leurs plans de transformation numérique.

Si vous êtes une municipalité ou une chambre de commerce cherchant une subvention pour établir une Équipe de services numériques, veuillez visiter le site Web Rue principale numérique (en anglais) et vous inscrire en ligne.

Le niveau de soutien suivant, pour les entreprises qui ont déjà une présence numérique établie, sera fourni par la Toronto Association of Business Improvement Areas (TABIA), Communitech et Investir Ottawa. L’appui consiste à aider les entreprises à développer une vitrine en ligne personnalisée, en utilisant l’une des nombreuses plateformes de commerce électronique disponibles qui offrent des outils tels que des logiciels de point de vente, et des logiciels de gestion des stocks et des commandes. S’appuyant sur le modèle AchatsICI lancé à Toronto en partenariat avec Google et Shopify, les entreprises peuvent se faire connaître à l’échelle nationale, en trouvant de nouveaux clients dans d’autres provinces et même d’autres pays. Les propriétaires d’entreprises travailleront avec des étudiants chevronnés de l’enseignement supérieur pour construire leur boutique en ligne, créer une présence dans les médias sociaux et développer d’autres stratégies de marketing numérique de base nécessaires pour devenir concurrentiels sur le marché du commerce électronique.

Grâce à l’aide et au soutien de cette annonce et aux engagements pris par un nombre sans précédent de partenaires, d’entreprises, d’établissements d’enseignement et de bénévoles, nous sommes plus près de faire des petites entreprises de l’Ontario des entreprises plus résistantes et mieux préparées à affronter l’avenir. - John J. Kiru, directeur général, Toronto Association of Business Improvement Areas

Si votre entreprise est déjà prête à élargir ses possibilités de marketing numérique et à élever sa présence en ligne au prochain niveau, veuillez visiter le site Web Rue principale numérique (en anglais) et vous inscrire en ligne.

L’initiative « Rue principale à l’épreuve de l’avenir » s’adresse aux entreprises à la recherche d’un niveau de soutien avancé, pour faire passer leur présence en ligne établie et leurs plans ambitieux de croissance du marché à un niveau supérieur. Grâce à Communitech, à Investir Ottawa et à d’autres centres d’innovation régionaux du Sud de l’Ontario, les propriétaires d’entreprises auront accès à des équipes d’étudiants stagiaires qualifiés, à des professionnels d’expérience du marketing numérique et à des conseillers en affaires pour élaborer des plans de marketing numérique raffinés afin de définir et de poursuivre de nouvelles possibilités de marché nationales et mondiales, par l’entremise de leurs sites en ligne.

En nous appuyant sur le soutien essentiel de notre gouvernement fédéral, nous sommes honorés de collaborer avec FedDev Ontario et des partenaires de toute la province pour aider à assurer l’avenir de nos entreprises et de notre économie. - Michael Tremblay, président et directeur général, Investir Ottawa et Cours Bayview
Aux côtés de nos partenaires régionaux en matière d’innovation, nous sommes prêts à nous mettre au travail et à aider les entreprises à mobiliser leurs communautés en ligne, à adopter le commerce électronique et à atteindre de nouveaux clients. - Iain Klugman, PDG et président, Communitech

Si votre entreprise a d’ambitieux plans et se cherche de nouveau marchés au pays et dans le monde, veuillez visiter le site Web Rue principale numérique (en anglais) et vous inscrire en ligne.

La Programme d’activation de la relance

Même si la plateforme numérique des rues principales aidera les petites entreprises situées le long des rues principales de l’Ontario, les besoins en matière de transformation numérique ne s’arrêtent pas à la rue principale. Les petites et moyennes entreprises – qu’il s’agisse de détaillants, de fournisseurs de services de fabrication ou d’importants fournisseurs de services – ont également besoin d’un soutien ciblé pour ranimer leur relance et adopter un avenir numérique. Dans cette optique, FedDev Ontario fournit 7,5 millions de dollars à la chambre de commerce de la région de Toronto pour assurer la prestation de la Programme d’activation de la relance. Travaillant avec son réseau étendu de chambres de commerce, d’associations des secteurs d’industries et ses partenaires d’exécution du programme, les PME auront accès à des ateliers virtuels et des programmes organisés fondés sur une cohorte. Plus de 1 000 PME de l’Ontario pourront accéder à une formation intensive pour les aider à se transformer numériquement leurs activités dans des domaines allant de la gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement aux fonctions des technologies de l’information des services de soutien.

L’investissement du gouvernement fédéral dans le Programme d’activation de la relance en fait un partenaire incontournable pour aider les entreprises à surmonter ces difficultés, ce qui nous permet d’élargir considérablement la portée du programme et de l’offrir entièrement gratuitement aux entreprises de toute la province. - Jan De Silva, président et directeur général de la Chambre de commerce de Toronto

Si vous êtes une petite ou moyenne entreprise en Ontario cherchant des conseils sur mesure pour numériser quelque aspect ou tous les aspects de vos activités, inscrivez-vous pour participer au Programme d’activation de la relance (en anglais) sans frais, dirigé par le « Scale-Up Institute Toronto » à travers la chambre de commerce de la région de Toronto.

Avec des partenaires stratégiques qui rejoignent largement des dizaines de milliers d’entreprises de la région et offrent une pléthore de savoir-faire, FedDev Ontario veut assurer l’avenir des entreprises de la rue principale et des PME en transformant les modèles commerciaux pour leur conférer l’armure des plateformes de commerce électronique. Ces partenaires sont les mieux à même de fournir ce vaste soutien et d’avoir le plus grand impact possible dans toute la région. Ensemble, nous nous efforçons ainsi de faire en sorte qu’aucune collectivité, rue principale ou propriétaire d’entreprise ne soit laissé pour compte.

Les magasins situés le long des rues du centre-ville dans les communautés à travers l’Ontario forment une grande partie de notre identité et fierté civiques. FedDev Ontario et ses partenaires leur offriront le soutien nécessaire pour qu’ils puissent se reconstruire et se réoutiller dans le monde numérique, tout en offrant une expérience professionnelle précieuse aux étudiants qui peuvent avoir perdu d’autres possibilités en raison de la pandémie. – Kate Young, secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre du Développement économique et des Langues officielles (FedDev Ontario)

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
Notre message aux petites entreprises de l’Ontario, et à ceux dont la subsistance dépend de ces entreprises est clair : nous travaillons avec vous pour appuyer de bons emplois et nous aidons notre économie à revenir plus forte que jamais.
- L’honorable Mélanie Joly, ministre du Développement économique et des Langues officielles

En vedette

Plateforme de transformation des entreprises rurales de la rue principale
plateforme numérique des rues principales

Si vous êtes une petite entreprise rurale ontarienne cherchant à numériser vos activités, inscrivez-vous en ligne pour obtenir de l’aide au titre de Digital Main Street, ShopHere ou de l’initiative Future Proofing Main Street.

Recovery Activation Program (programme d’activation de la relance)
Recovery Activation Program (programme d’activation de la relance)

Si vous êtes une PME de l’Ontario et que vous cherchez des conseils personnalisés sur la numérisation d’un aspect quelconque de vos activités, inscrivez-vous pour participer au Programme d’activation du rétablissement sans frais à l’aide de la Chambre de commerce de la région de Toronto.

Date de modification :