Language selection

Search

Guelph-based manufacturer revolutionizes the way we interact with digital display solutions

Recipient: Melitron Corporation
Region: Guelph
Total funding allocated: $2.1 million

Melitron Corporation

If you have ordered from your favourite drive-thru restaurant recently, chances are you came across the technical innovation of Guelph-based Melitron Corporation's outdoor digital signage and menu boards. Now more than ever, digital technology is transforming business in new and creative ways, and Melitron has been doing its part to transform static signage and services to digital, starting with drive-thrus for many of the top quick service restaurants in Canada.

Celebrating 25 years of manufacturing in 2020, Melitron Corporation is a privately owned company that designs and manufactures integrated metal enclosure systems for electronics and electro-mechanical products. In 2017, the company developed a branded line of customizable outdoor digital signage and kiosk solutions in partnership with Samsung Electronics Canada. The weatherproof digital display products, featuring Samsung OHF series display technology, are built for all-season performance, standing up against extreme heat, sub-zero temperatures, pelleting rain, and the wear and tear of everyday use.

In 2019, FedDev Ontario supported a repayable contribution up to  $2.1 million towards Melitron’s total project costs of $6 million. This investment enabled the company to acquire and install advanced manufacturing technologies and equipment and scale quickly to meet market demand for its new digital display product line, while keeping its contract manufacturing side of the business running smoothly. The project, supported by FedDev Ontario, helped create over 20 high-quality jobs, bringing Melitron’s total workforce count to over 200.

Today, with its manufacturing facilities totaling 114,000 square feet, Melitron is able to feature some of the world’s leading brands in robotics, automation equipment and high-tech manufacturing systems, while also incorporating environmentally sustainable solutions. The company recently adopted a new eco-friendly approach to pretreating metal that strengthens paint adhesion and corrosion protection. The new technology uses faster, more efficient processes that require less energy, less water, and less waste, and is phosphate-free. As a result, Melitron is rapidly rolling out thousands of eco-friendly digital displays with thousands more in contracts planned through 2021.

In Canada, a significant percentage of restaurant revenues come from drive-thru orders. Now with safer, cleaner contactless options growing in popularity since the pandemic, drive-thru services have become essential, making Melitron’s durable digital displays even more critical to a restaurant’s operational growth. The adoption of Melitron’s products have allowed businesses to remain open while minimizing customer contact points, while following public health guidelines.

For Melitron’s President and Chief Executive Officer Mike Turner, the funding has been a “significant nod to the strength of the company.”

“The Government of Canada, through FedDev Ontario, has helped us grow and scale quickly to meet market demand,” explains Mike. “We used the funding to invest in our people, our workplace, and advanced manufacturing technologies. To date, we have outfitted over 10,000 Samsung displays into our digital signage products and have thousands more planned for rollout through 2021.”

When asked about the future of the company, Melitron is keen on highlighting its plans to expand and implement its new technology in smart cities, campuses, outdoor transit stations and Internet of Things (IoT) sectors both in Canada and abroad. For Melitron, “businesses of all sizes can benefit from transitioning their static signage to more timely, engaging and connected digital services.” 

Stay Connected

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS Feeds
The Government of Canada, through FedDev Ontario, has helped us grow and scale quickly to meet market demand. We used the funding to invest in our people, our workplace, and advanced manufacturing technologies. To date, we have outfitted over 10,000 Samsung displays into our digital signage products and have thousands more planned for rollout through 2021. - Mike Turner, President and Chief Executive Officer, Melitron Corp.
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un fabricant de Guelph révolutionne notre façon d’interagir avec les solutions d’affichage numérique

Bénéficiaire: Melitron Corporation
Région: Guelph
Financement total attribué : 2,1 millions de dollars

Melitron Corporation

Si vous avez commandé récemment du service au volant de votre restaurant préféré, il est fort probable que vous ayez vu l’innovation technique des affiches et tableaux de menus numériques extérieurs de Melitron Corporation de Guelph. Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, la technologie numérique transforme les entreprises de nouvelles façons créatives, et Melitron fait sa part pour transformer les affiches et les services statiques au numérique, en commençant par le service au volant d’un grand nombre des principaux restaurants de service rapide au Canada.

Melitron Corporation, qui a fêté 25 ans de fabrication en 2020, est une société privée qui conçoit et fabrique des systèmes de boîtiers en métal intégrés pour les produits électroniques et électromécaniques. En 2017, la société a développé une gamme de marques d’affichages numériques extérieures personnalisables et de solutions de kiosques en partenariat avec Samsung Electronics Canada. Les produits d’affiche numérique à l’épreuve des intempéries, caractérisés par la technologie d’affichage en série OHF de Samsung, sont conçus pour une performance en toutes saisons, résistant aux chaleurs extrêmes, aux températures inférieures au point de congélation, à la pluie battante et à l’usure provenant d’une utilisation quotidienne.

En 2019, FedDev Ontario a appuyé l’octroi d’une contribution remboursable à concurrence de 2,1 millions de dollars visant le projet de Melitron d’un coût total de 6 millions de dollars. Cet investissement a permis à la société d’acquérir et d’installer des technologies et de l’équipement de fabrication de pointe et d’accélérer rapidement la production afin de répondre à la demande du marché pour sa nouvelle gamme de produits d’affichage numérique, tout en maintenant l’exploitation harmonieuse de l’aspect contractuel de l’entreprise en matière de fabrication. Le projet, appuyé par FedDev Ontario a permis de créer plus de 20 emplois de grande qualité, portant l’effectif de Melitron à plus de 200 employés.

Aujourd’hui, avec des installations de fabrication totalisant 114 000 pieds carrés, Melitron est en mesure de mettre en vedette certaines des marques principales du monde en robotique, en équipement d’automatisation et en systèmes de fabrication de haute technologie, tout en intégrant des solutions durables sur le plan de l’environnement. La société vient d’adopter une nouvelle approche écologique pour le traitement préalable du métal qui renforce l’adhérence de la peinture et protège mieux contre la corrosion. La nouvelle technologie sans phosphate emploie des procédés plus rapides et plus efficaces qui exigent moins d’énergie, moins d’eau et moins de déchets. Par conséquent, Melitron déploie rapidement des milliers d’affichages numériques écologiques tandis que des milliers d’autres contrats sont prévus tout au long de 2021.

Au Canada, un pourcentage important des revenus des restaurants proviennent des commandes au volant. Maintenant, avec la hausse en popularité des options plus sures et propres sans contact depuis la pandémie, les services au volant sont devenus essentiels, faisant des affichages numériques durables encore plus essentiels à la croissance opérationnelle d’un restaurant. L’adoption des produits de Melitron a permis aux entreprises de demeurer ouvertes tout en minimisant les points de contact avec les clients, suivant ainsi les directives de la santé publique.

Pour Mike Turner, président et chef de direction de Melitron, le financement s’est avéré constituer une « reconnaissance importante de la force de la société. »

« Le gouvernement du Canada, par l’entremise de FedDev Ontario, nous a permis de croître et d’accélérer la production rapidement afin de répondre à la demande du marché, d’expliquer Mike. Nous avons utilisé le financement pour investir dans nos gens, nos lieux de travail et des technologies de fabrication de pointe. À ce jour, nous avons équipé plus de 10 000 affichages Samsung avec nos produits d’affichage numérique, et en avons des milliers d’autres que nous prévoyons déployer au cours de 2021. »

Questionnée sur l’avenir de la société, Melitron est fière de souligner qu’elle prévoit prendre de l’expansion et mettre en œuvre sa nouvelle technologie dans les villes intelligentes, les campus, les gares de transport en commun extérieures et dans le secteur de l’Internet des objets (IdO) aussi bien au Canada qu’à l’étranger. Pour Melitron, « les entreprises de toutes tailles peuvent bénéficier de passer d’un affichage statique à de meilleurs services numériques, attirants, branchés et se faisant en temps opportun. »

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
Le gouvernement du Canada, par le biais de FedDev Ontario, nous a permis de croître et d’accélérer la production rapidement afin de répondre à la demande du marché. Nous avons utilisé le financement pour investir dans nos gens, nos lieux de travail et des technologies de fabrication de pointe. À ce jour, nous avons équipé plus de 10 000 affichages Samsung avec nos produits d’affichage numérique, et en avons des milliers d’autres que nous prévoyons déployer au cours de 2021. - Mike Turner, président et chef de direction, Melitron Corp.
Date de modification :