Building Canada Fund

All funding for this program has been committed.

In 2008, through its $33 billion Building Canada infrastructure plan, the Government of Canada committed to working with its partners to provide long-term, stable and predictable funding to help meet infrastructure needs across Canada.

The Building Canada Fund in Ontario was a result of the Building Canada Infrastructure Framework Agreement signed between the governments of Canada and Ontario on July 24, 2008. This Agreement represented more than $6 billion in joint federal and provincial funding that helped to address infrastructure needs and priorities across the province. The priority funding categories for the Fund included Core National Highway System (NHS) Routes, Drinking Water, Wastewater, Public Transit and Green Energy. Other eligible investment priority areas included environmental projects (Solid Waste Management), projects that supported economic growth and development (Short-line Rail and Short-sea Shipping, Connectivity and Broadband, Tourism and Regional and Local Airports), as well as projects that contributed to the ongoing development of safe and strong communities (Disaster Mitigation, Culture, Sport, Local Roads and Bridges, and Brownfield Redevelopment). Funding was used to support public infrastructure owned by provincial, territorial and municipal governments and entities, as well as private industry, in certain cases.

The Building Canada Fund (BCF) had two components: the Communities Component and the Major Infrastructure Component.

Communities Component (BCF-CC)

The Communities Component (BCF-CC) focused on projects in communities with populations of less than 100,000. FedDev Ontario was responsible for delivering the BCF-CC in Ontario in partnership with the Government of Ontario. Projects in Ontario were selected through an application-based process and were evaluated based on the criteria outlined in the two different intakes.

For more information on the Communities Component, visit the Infrastructure Canada website.

Major Infrastructure Component (BCF-MIC)

The Major Infrastructure Component (BCF-MIC) targeted larger, strategic projects of national and regional significance. Under MIC, two-thirds of funding, on a national basis, was directed to several national priorities. Projects were selected on the basis of merit through a federal-provincial/territorial negotiation process and all projects were required to meet criteria targeting environmental, economic and quality of life objectives—regardless of the category. Innovative technologies and partnerships were emphasized. Infrastructure Canada (INFC) is responsible for delivering MIC projects in Ontario.

For more information on the Building Canada Fund across the country, visit the Infrastructure Canada website.

  • Share
Date modified:

Fonds Chantiers Canada

Tous les fonds qui étaient disponibles pour ce programme ont été engagés.

En 2008, dans le cadre de son plan d'infrastructure Chantiers Canada de 33 milliards de dollars, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à collaborer avec ses partenaires pour fournir un financement à long terme, stable et prévisible, afin de répondre aux besoins en matière d'infrastructures partout au pays.

Le Fonds Chantiers Canada en Ontario était le résultat de l'Entente-cadre sur l'infrastructure Chantiers Canada, signée par les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario le 24 juillet 2008. L'Entente-cadre représentait une valeur de plus de 6 milliards de dollars en investissements fédéraux et provinciaux communs qui aidaient à répondre aux besoins et aux priorités de la province en matière d'infrastructures. Les catégories de financement prioritaires incluaient les suivantes : les routes du réseau routier national, l'eau potable, les eaux usées, le transport en commun et l'énergie verte. Parmi les autres secteurs d'investissements prioritaires admissibles, mentionnons les projets environnementaux (gestion des déchets solides), les projets qui stimulaient la croissance et le développement économiques (lignes ferroviaires sur courtes distances et transport maritime à courte distance, connectivité et services à large bande, tourisme et aéroports régionaux et locaux), de même que les projets qui contribuaient à l'amélioration soutenue de la sécurité et de la vitalité des collectivités (atténuation des effets des catastrophes, culture, sport, routes et ponts locaux et réaménagement des friches industrielles). Les fonds servaient au financement d'infrastructures publiques appartenant à des administrations et à des entités provinciales, territoriales et municipales, de même qu'à l'industrie privée dans certains cas.

Le Fonds Chantiers Canada (FCC) comptait deux grands volets principaux : le Volet Collectivités et le Volet Grandes infrastructures.

Le Volet Collectivités

Le Volet Collectivités (FCC-VC) était axé sur les projets mis en œuvre dans les collectivités dont la population est inférieure à 100 000 habitants. FedDev Ontario était responsable de la mise en œuvre du FCC-VC en Ontario en partenariat avec le gouvernement de l'Ontario. Les projets en Ontario ont été choisis dans le cadre d'un processus de présentation de demandes et ont été évalués conformément aux critères retenus lors des deux périodes distinctes de présentation de demandes.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations au sujet du Volet Collectivités, veuillez visiter le site Web d'Infrastructure Canada.

Le Volet Grandes infrastructures

Le Volet Grandes infrastructures (FCC-GI) ciblait des projets stratégiques de plus grande envergure, d'importance nationale et régionale. Dans le cadre de ce volet, les deux tiers du financement, à l'échelle nationale, allaient à plusieurs priorités nationales. Les projets s'inscrivant dans ce volet étaient choisis en fonction du mérite dans le cadre d'un processus de négociation fédéral-provincial/territorial, et tous les projets devaient répondre à des critères ciblant des objectifs environnementaux, économiques et relatifs à la qualité de vie, indépendamment de la catégorie. On a aussi mis l'accent sur les technologies innovatrices et les partenariats. Infrastructure Canada (INFC) est responsable de la prestation des projets du Volet GI en Ontario.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations au sujet du Fonds Chantiers Canada à travers le pays, visitez le site Web d'Infrastructure Canada.

  • Partager
Date de modification :