Our Role

The Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) is part of the Innovation, Science and Economic Development portfolio and one of six regional development agencies, each of which helps to address key economic challenges by providing regionally-tailored programs, services, knowledge and expertise.

As Canada's most populous region—home to 12.3 million residents living in 288 communities—southern Ontario is a key contributor to the overall Canadian economy. FedDev Ontario helps create and grow businesses, cultivate partnerships and build strong communities across the region through its programs and services, including Canada Business Ontario, as well as its program delivery partners.

The Agency was established in August 2009 with a mandate to:

Since its creation, FedDev Ontario has:

Southern Ontario

FedDev Ontario is headquartered in Waterloo and has offices throughout southern Ontario to support program delivery. Its mandate covers the region as defined by the following 37 Statistics Canada census divisions:

A list of the communities that form each census division is available on the Statistics Canada website.

The map of southern Ontario below shows FedDev Ontario's scope of operations, from Cornwall in the east to Owen Sound in the west, and from Pembroke in the north to Windsor in the south.

Figure - Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) - Catchment Area and Census Divisions (the long description is located below the image)
Description of figure: FedDev Ontario - Catchment Area and Census Divisions

A map of southern Ontario that shows FedDev Ontario's scope of operations, from Cornwall in the east to Owen Sound in the west, and from Pembroke in the north to Windsor in the south. According to Statistics Canada's annual population estimates for 2013, southern Ontario has a population of more than 12 million people, representing 94 percent of Ontario's total population and 36.3 percent of the total population of Canada.

Our Reports

For more detailed information on our Agency, please see FedDev Ontario's Report on Plans and Priorities and the Departmental Performance Report, which can be found on Our Reports page where you can access Audits and Evaluations, Official Languages and Access to Information and Privacy Reports.

The Government of Canada aims to create greater transparency and accountability and increase citizen engagement so that Canadians are better able to hold Parliament, their government and public sector officials accountable. On our Transparency page, you will find our Disclosure of Contracts, Disclosure of Grants and Contribution Awards Over $25,000, Disclosure of Position Reclassifications and Disclosure of Travel and Hospitality Expenses as well as our Completed Access to Information Requests.

Our Service Commitment

FedDev Ontario is committed to delivering effective, efficient and client-focused service to applicants. To learn more about our commitment to you, please see our Service Commitment.

Date modified:

Notre rôle

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) fait partie du portefeuille de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique et est l'une des six agences de développement régional qui aident toutes à répondre aux défis économiques clés en fournissant des programmes, des services, des connaissances et un savoir-faire qui correspondent aux réalités régionales.

En tant que région la plus peuplée du Canada – foyer de plus de 12,3 millions de résidents vivant dans 288 collectivités – le Sud de l'Ontario est un élément clé de la prospérité économique du Canada dans son ensemble. FedDev Ontario aide à créer et à faire croître des entreprises, à cultiver des partenariats et à construire des collectivités fortes à travers la région dans le cadre de ses programmes et services, y compris Entreprises Canada Ontario, ainsi que ses partenaires dans l'exécution des programmes.

L'Agence a été fondée en août 2009 avec le mandat de :

Depuis sa création, FedDev Ontario a :

Sud de l'Ontario

FedDev Ontario a son siège social à Waterloo et des bureaux partout dans le Sud de l'Ontario pour appuyer l'exécution de ses programmes. Son mandat touche la région définie par les 37 divisions de recensement de Statistique Canada :

Une liste des collectivités qui composent chaque division de recensement est disponible sur le site web de Statistique Canada.

La carte du Sud de l'Ontario ci-dessous indique l'étendue des opérations de FedDev Ontario, de Cornwall à l'est à Owen Sound à l'ouest, et de Pembroke au nord jusqu'à Windsor au sud.

Figure : Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) - Zone desservie at divisions de recensement (la description complète est sous l'image)
Description de la figure : FedDev Ontario – Zone desservie et divisions de recensement

Une carte du Sud de l'Ontario qui indique l'étendue des opérations de FedDev Ontario, de Cornwall à l'est à Owen Sound à l'ouest, et de Pembroke au nord jusqu'à Windsor au sud. Selon l'estimation annuelle de la population de Statistique Canada pour 2013, le Sud de l'Ontario compte une population de plus de 12 millions d'habitants, représentant 94 pour cent de la population totale de l'Ontario et 36 pour cent de la population totale du Canada.

Nos rapports

Pour plus d'informations sur notre agence, veuillez consulter le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de FedDev Ontario et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement, qui se trouvent sur la page Nos rapports où vous pouvez accéder aux rapports suivants : Vérifications et évaluations, Langues officielles et Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels.

Le gouvernement du Canada vise à créer une transparence et une responsabilisation plus grandes et à augmenter la mobilisation des citoyens afin que les Canadiens puissent être mieux à même de demander des comptes au Parlement, et aux agents du gouvernement et du secteur public. Sur notre page sur la transparence, vous trouverez notre divulgation des contrats, divulgation proactive des octrois de subventions et de contributions supérieures à 25 000 $, divulgation des reclassifications de postes et divulgation des frais de voyage et d'accueil ainsi que nos demandes d'accès à l'information complétées.

Notre engagement en matière de services

À FedDev Ontario, nous nous engageons à fournir à nos demandeurs un service efficace, efficient et axé sur leurs besoins. Pour en apprendre plus au sujet de notre engagement envers vous, veuillez consulter notre engagement en matière de services.

Date de modification :