President

James Meddings

President James Meddings

James Meddings was appointed President of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario on October 31, 2016.

Prior to this, he served as Assistant Deputy Minister of Policy and Strategic Direction at Western Economic Diversification from 2011 and Vice President, Individual Learning and later Vice President, Organizational Leadership at the Canada School of Public Service from 2006 to 2011.

In his 26 years of federal public service Mr. Meddings has also held positions as Director General, Policy and Corporate Affairs, at the Meteorological Service of Canada; Director General, Parliamentary and Corporate Affairs, Human Resources Development Canada; Policy Analyst at the Privy Council Office, and Advisor to the Chief Commissioner, at the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

Prior to joining the federal public service, Mr. Meddings taught economics and political science in public and private schools in the United Kingdom and Canada.

Mr. Meddings has a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Economic and Social Studies from the University of East Anglia; a Post Graduate Certificate in Education from the University of Birmingham; and, a Masters in Public Policy and Public Administration from Concordia University.

He is married and lives in Almonte, Ontario with his wife Susie Quackenbush and their four children: Sam, Harry, Max and Georgia.

Date modified:

Le président

James Meddings

Président James Meddings

James Meddings a été nommé président de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) le 31 octobre 2016.

Auparavant, il a été sous-ministre adjoint de la Direction des politiques et de l’orientation stratégique à Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) depuis 2011 et vice-président, Apprentissage individuel, et plus tard vice-président, Leadership organisationnel, à l’École de la fonction publique du Canada de 2006 à 2011.

Dans ses 26 ans d’expérience à la fonction publique fédérale, M. Meddings a aussi occupé des postes en tant que : directeur général, Politiques et affaires ministérielles, à Service météorologique du Canada (SMC); directeur général, Affaires parlementaires et ministérielles à Développement des ressources humaines Canada; analyste des politiques au Bureau du Conseil privé et conseiller auprès du président de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

Avant de se joindre à la fonction publique fédérale, M. Meddings a enseigné l’économie et les sciences politiques dans des écoles publiques et privées au Royaume-Uni et au Canada.

M. Meddings détient un baccalauréat ès arts (avec distinction) en sciences économiques et sociales de la University of East Anglia; un certificat d’études supérieures en éducation de la University of Birmingham; et une maîtrise en politiques publiques et en administration publique de l’Université Concordia.

Il est marié et vit à Almonte, en Ontario, avec son épouse, Susie Quackenbush, et ses enfants : Sam, Harry, Max et Georgia.

Date de modification :