President

James Meddings

President James Meddings

James Meddings was appointed President of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) on October 31, 2016.

FedDev Ontario delivers programs and services to support innovation and economic growth in Canada’s most populous region. With its headquarters in Waterloo and offices in Toronto, Peterborough and Ottawa, the Agency has a presence across southern Ontario to actively promote the region and provide regionally-tailored knowledge and expertise.

Southern Ontario is a key contributor to the Canadian economy, representing over 35 percent of Canada's population. It accounts for nearly 40 percent of Canada's gross domestic product (GDP) and domestic exports and produces half of all Canadian manufacturing exports. It is also home to key economic clusters, including automotive, finance, information communications technology (ICT) and life sciences, and is a hub for emerging clusters such as cyber-security, regenerative medicine and bio-based chemicals, among others. The region's innovation ecosystem, including an educated labour force, over 100 incubators and accelerators, 40 post-secondary education institutions and aspiring entrepreneurs and venture capitalists, provides the necessary ingredients for economic growth. The Agency plays an important role in convening key regional stakeholders to support the commercialization of new technologies, assist in community transformation, build on regional competitive advantages and spur innovation in the region. These activities are creating the jobs of the future and maintaining Canada’s competitive edge in the increasingly global economy.

James served as Assistant Deputy Minister of Policy and Strategic Direction at Western Economic Diversification from 2011- 2016 and Vice President, Individual Learning and later Vice President, Organizational Leadership at the Canada School of Public Service from 2006 to 2011.

In his 28 years of federal public service Mr. Meddings has also held positions as Director General, Policy and Corporate Affairs, at the Meteorological Service of Canada; Director General, Parliamentary and Corporate Affairs, Human Resources Development Canada; Policy Analyst at the Privy Council Office, and Advisor to the Chief Commissioner, at the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

Prior to joining the federal public service, Mr. Meddings taught economics and political science in public and private schools in the United Kingdom and Canada.

Mr. Meddings has a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Economic and Social Studies from the University of East Anglia; a Post Graduate Certificate in Education from the University of Birmingham; and, a Masters in Public Policy and Public Administration from Concordia University.

He is married and lives in Almonte, Ontario with his wife Susie Quackenbush and their four children: Sam, Harry, Max and Georgia.

Date modified:

Le président

James Meddings

Président James Meddings

James Meddings a été nommé président de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) le 31 octobre 2016.

FedDev Ontario offre des programmes et des services pour nourrir l’innovation et la croissance économique dans la région la plus peuplée du Canada. Avec son siège social à Waterloo et des bureaux à Toronto, à Peterborough et à Ottawa, L’Agence est présente partout dans le Sud de l’Ontario afin de promouvoir activement cette région et d’y fournir des connaissances et un savoir-faire propres au secteur.

Foyer de plus de 35 pour cent de la population canadienne, le Sud de l’Ontario contribue de façon importante à l’économie canadienne. Il représente près de 40 pour cent du produit intérieur brut (PIB) et des exportations du Canada et il produit la moitié de ses exportations de produits manufacturés. Il accueille également des regroupements économiques clés, notamment dans l’automobile, la finance, les technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) et les sciences de la vie, et constitue un carrefour pour des grappes émergentes, notamment dans les domaines de la cybersécurité, de la médecine régénératrice et des produits chimiques d’origine biologique. L’écosystème d’innovation de cette région, qui comprend une main-d’œuvre instruite, plus de 100 incubateurs et accélérateurs, 40 établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, de futurs entrepreneurs et des investisseurs en capital risque, fournit les ingrédients nécessaires en faveur de la croissance économique. L’Agence joue un rôle important en rassemblant les principaux intervenants régionaux dans l’optique de favoriser la commercialisation de nouvelles technologies, d’appuyer la transformation communautaire, de bâtir à partir des avantages concurrentiels régionaux et de propulser l’innovation dans la région. Ces activités créent les emplois de demain et préservent l’avantage concurrentiel du Canada dans une économie qui se mondialise sans cesse.

James a été sous-ministre adjoint, Politiques et orientation stratégique, au sein de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest de 2011 à 2016 ; et vice-président, Apprentissage individuel, ainsi que vice-président, Leadership organisationnel à l'École de la fonction publique du Canada de 2006 à 2011.

Au cours de ses 28 années de service au sein de la fonction publique fédérale, M. Meddings a également occupé des postes de directeur général, Politiques et Affaires ministérielles, au Service météorologique du Canada; de directeur général, Affaires parlementaires et ministérielles, à Développement des ressources humaines Canada; d’analyste des politiques au Bureau du Conseil privé, et de conseiller auprès du commissaire en chef à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

Avant de se joindre à la fonction publique fédérale, M. Meddings a enseigné l'économie et les sciences politiques dans des écoles publiques et privées au Royaume-Uni et au Canada.

M. Meddings est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts (avec distinction) en études économiques et sociales de la University of East Anglia; d’un certificat d'études supérieures en éducation de la University of Birmingham; et d’une maîtrise en politique publique et administration publique de l'Université Concordia.

Il est marié et habite à Almonte, en Ontario, avec sa femme Susie Quackenbush et leurs quatre enfants : Sam, Harry, Max et Georgia.

Date de modification :