Investing in Business Innovation

Through Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the launch of the Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives, which includes Investing in Business Innovation (IBI).

IBI provides mentorship, entrepreneurial support and financing to help new businesses grow and succeed. The initiative is designed to foster a more competitive southern Ontario economy by focusing on providing business support to new entrepreneurs, helping them transform their ideas into globally-competitive products and services, and increasing their access to private sector investment and advice.

High-growth businesses and new entrepreneurs are critical to southern Ontario’s competitiveness. Support through IBI increases the potential for businesses to succeed by strengthening angel networks and encouraging the development of partnerships between early-stage businesses and investors so that entrepreneurs have the tools and capital they need to become world-leading innovators.

Who can apply?

IBI funding is available for:

  • Not-for-profit organizations that provide skills development and seed financing to new entrepreneurs;
  • Innovative, early-stage businesses with less than 50 employees to help leverage angel and capital investments; and
  • Southern Ontario-based angel investor networks.

What activities are eligible?

Not-for-profit organizations

This initiative will support the activities of eligible organizations delivering services to entrepreneurs to undertake activities related to providing innovative new entrepreneurs with business skills, education and seed financing to prepare them for investment readiness such as:

  • Business and market development skills programs;
  • Early stage business development programs; and
  • Seed financing programs and support.

Early-stage Businesses

This initiative will support the activities of eligible early-stage businesses to undertake activities related to late-stage development and early-stage commercialization of innovative, unique products and processes (including business development), for example, activities related to:

  • Business development including building high-performance teams; adopting best management practices, processes and systems; and improving governance and investment readiness;
  • Late-stage product development geared towards market diversification and growth;
  • Customer and market development; and
  • Developing and implementing marketing and distribution strategies.

Angel Networks

This initiative will support the activities of eligible Angel Investor Networks to attract more investment and increase the efficiency and effectiveness of investment in innovative, high-growth potential start-up businesses. Areas of focus may include:

  • Outreach;
  • Building capacity;
  • Providing mentorship;
  • Education and resource development; and
  • Coordination and convening.

Important Information

Financial assistance from government programs may have tax implications for your business. It is recommended that advice be obtained from a qualified tax professional.

Please contact us should you have questions or inquiries, or if you do not receive a confirmation email after submitting your application.

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises

À travers le Plan d'action économique 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en lançant l'Initiative pour la prospérité, dont fait partie le programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises (IIE).

L'initiative IIE fournit du mentorat, un soutien aux entrepreneurs et un financement afin de contribuer à la croissance et à la réussite des nouvelles entreprises. L'initiative est conçue pour favoriser une économie plus concurrentielle dans le Sud de l'Ontario en se concentrant sur la prestation d'un soutien opérationnel aux nouveaux entrepreneurs, en les aidant à transformer leurs idées en produits et services concurrentiels à l'échelle internationale et en augmentant leur accès aux investissements et aux conseils du secteur privé.

Les entreprises à croissance élevée et les nouveaux entrepreneurs sont essentiels à la compétitivité de l'Ontario. Le soutien offert au moyen de l'initiative IIE permet d'accroître le potentiel de succès des entreprises en renforçant les réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et en encourageant l'établissement de partenariats entre les entreprises en démarrage et les investisseurs afin que les entrepreneurs aient les outils et le capital dont ils ont besoin pour devenir des innovateurs de renommée mondiale.

Qui est admissible?

Le financement de l'initiative IIE est offert :

  • aux organismes à but non lucratif qui fournissent un perfectionnement de compétences et un financement de départ aux nouveaux entrepreneurs;
  • aux entreprises en démarrage innovatrices ayant moins de cinquante (50) employés pour les aider à obtenir par effet de levier des investissements providentiels et de capitaux; et
  • aux réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario.

Quelles sont les activités admissibles?

Organisations à but non lucratif

Cette initiative appuiera les organismes admissibles qui offrent aux nouveaux entrepreneurs novateurs des services leur permettant d'acquérir des compétences et une formation en affaires pour se préparer à l'investissement, ainsi qu'un financement de départ. Il s'agit, en outre, de :

  • programmes de compétences en affaires et de développement des marchés;
  • programmes de développement des entreprises en démarrage;
  • programmes de financement de départ et de soutien.

Entreprises en démarrage

Cette initiative appuiera les activités des entreprises en démarrage admissibles afin qu'elles entreprennent des activités liées au développement à un stade ultérieur et à la commercialisation de démarrage de produits et de processus novateurs et uniques (y compris le développement des entreprises), par exemple, des activités liées :

  • au développement des entreprises, y compris la constitution d'équipes hautement performantes, l'adoption de pratiques, de procédés et de systèmes exemplaires de gestion, et l'amélioration de la gouvernance et de la préparation aux investissements;
  • au développement de produits qui en sont à la dernière étape destinés à la diversification et à la croissance des marchés;
  • au développement de la clientèle et des marchés;
  • au développement et la mise en œuvre de stratégies de marketing et de distribution.

Réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels

Cette initiative appuiera les activités des réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels admissibles afin d'attirer plus d'investissements et d'accroître l'efficience et l'efficacité des investissements dans les entreprises en démarrage ayant un potentiel élevé de croissance. Les secteurs d'intervention peuvent comprendre ce qui suit :

  • Sensibilisation
  • Renforcement des capacités
  • Prestation du mentorat
  • Formation et développement de ressources
  • Coordination et rassemblement

Information importante

L'aide financière provenant des programmes gouvernementaux pourrait avoir des conséquences sur votre entreprise sur le plan fiscal. Nous vous recommandons d'obtenir des conseils d'un professionnel qualifié en matière de conseil fiscal.

Veuillez communiquer avec nous pour toute question ou demande de renseignements ou si vous ne recevez pas de courriel de confirmation après avoir présenté votre demande.

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.