Language selection


Our role

FedDev Ontario works actively to advance and diversify the southern Ontario economy through funding opportunities and business services that support innovation and growth in Canada’s most populous region.

The Agency is delivering impressive results, which can be seen in southern Ontario businesses that are creating innovative technologies, improving their productivity, growing their revenues, and in the economic advancement of communities across the region. Read more about the impacts we are having in southern Ontario.

Since its creation, FedDev Ontario has:


over $3.1 billion

Developed partnerships

with over 21,000 organizations


additional investments of more than $4.8 billion to support businesses, organizations and communities

Worked closely

with partners, stakeholders, investors and communities to improve local economic conditions and create new opportunities

The data in the diagram is accurate as of February 2021.

The Agency is part of the Innovation, Science and Economic Development portfolio and one of Canada's regional development agencies, each of which helps to address key economic challenges by providing regionally tailored programs, services, knowledge and expertise.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Regional Development Agencies
Regional Development Agencies

Our region: southern Ontario

As Canada’s most populous region, southern Ontario is a key contributor to the overall Canadian economy. With headquarters in Waterloo and offices in Toronto, Peterborough and Ottawa, the Agency has a presence across southern Ontario to provide regionally tailored knowledge and expertise.

Its mandate covers the region as defined by 37 Statistics Canada census divisions. A list of the communities that form each census division is available on the Statistics Canada website.

Figure - Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) - Catchment Area and Census Divisions (the long description is located below the image)
Description of figure: FedDev Ontario - Catchment Area and Census Divisions

A map of southern Ontario that shows FedDev Ontario's scope of operations, from Cornwall in the east to Owen Sound in the west, and from Pembroke in the north to Windsor in the south.

The following 37 Statistics Canada census divisions are identified in the map: Brant; Bruce; Chatham–Kent; Dufferin; Durham; Elgin; Essex; Frontenac; Grey; Haldimand–Norfolk; Haliburton; Halton; Hamilton; Hastings; Huron; Kawartha Lakes; Lambton; Lanark; Leeds and Grenville; Lennox and Addington; Middlesex; Niagara; Northumberland; Ottawa; Oxford; Peel; Perth; Peterborough; Prescott and Russell; Prince Edward and Lambton; Renfrew; Simcoe; Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry; Toronto; Waterloo; Wellington; and York.

Learn more about FedDev Ontario

Success in Southern Ontario
FedDev Ontario’s Pivotal Projects
Date modified: