Southern Ontario Spotlight - January 2019

Southern Ontario Spotlight

FEDDEV ONTARIO’S FOCUS ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

JANUARY 2019

decoration In this issue decorationdecoraion JANUARY 2019
ISSUES ARCHIVE
decoration

Making Headlines

Federal and Provincial Governments Provide Support in the Soo

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, meets with Algoma workers prior to delivering good news for the steel industry.

Federal and Provincial Governments Provide Support in the Soo

Ontario’s steel industry is stronger following a $90-million injection into Algoma Steel Inc. With support from FedDev Ontario, Innovation, Science and Economic Development’s Strategic Innovation Fund and the Government of Ontario, the Sault Ste. Marie steel producer will add 50 new jobs while supporting the nearly 3,000 existing jobs at its steelworks facility. Algoma is a world-class operation, integrating modern, innovative and efficient technologies to produce a range of hot and cold rolled steel sheet and plate products. It is also Canada’s second-largest integrated steel producer. The government’s commitment is expected to support dedicated steel and aluminum workers, their families and their communities for years to come.

FedDev Ontario Supports a Sound Future by Funding Clean Tech Manufacturer, Pliteq

Donna Jamieson Baker, Director, Business Development, and Paul Downey, CEO, Pliteq Inc., welcomed MP Francesco Sorbara (far left) to the opening of the company’s new facility.

FedDev Ontario Supports a Sound Future by Funding Clean Tech Manufacturer, Pliteq

The opening of Pliteq Inc.’s new 150,000-square-foot facility in Vaughan was recently celebrated. Pliteq manufactures cost-effective acoustical products made with recycled rubber from used vehicle tires and needed increased floor space to manufacture its products in-house. FedDev Ontario’s contribution of $3.8 million towards the project helped the company purchase advanced production equipment and adopt new manufacturing processes to boost productivity. The expansion has led to the creation of 62 skilled jobs, is supporting local supply chains and is helping grow the clean tech manufacturing sector. Pliteq has diverted three million tires from landfills and expects to double that amount annually by 2021.

McMaster University’s Makerspace Forges Ahead with FedDev Ontario Funding

The Honourable Filomena Tassi (centre) with McMaster representatives after announcing the funding.

McMaster University’s Makerspace Forges Ahead with FedDev Ontario Funding

McMaster University is fostering creativity and innovation and is welcoming more entrepreneurs with the planned expansion of The Forge makerspace. A $1.2-million contribution from FedDev Ontario will support the start-up incubator’s move to a new 10,000-square-foot area that will be shared with Innovation Factory. With the addition of 3D printers and other fabricating equipment, as well as increased mentoring, The Forge will almost double the number of companies accessing its services each year. The Forge is an important part of Hamilton’s entrepreneurial ecosystem, contributing to the commercialization of innovative products and services, as well as creating new jobs.

FedDev Ontario Provides New Funding for Eastern Ontario Start-ups

MP Kim Rudd (centre-right) announced additional funding for the Northumberland CFDC, which will support 25 new start-ups.

FedDev Ontario Provides New Funding for Eastern Ontario Start-ups

Northumberland Community Futures Development Corporation (CFDC) is expanding its N1M program with $1.1 million in additional support from FedDev Ontario. The program, which runs out of Northumberland CFDC headquarters at Venture13, provides high-potential entrepreneurs with seed funding, training and mentoring to help launch their businesses. Since 2015, N1M has supported over 30 technology start-ups, resulting in over 70 jobs created. The additional funding is expected to help launch 25 new companies. Northumberland CFDC also plans to expand the program across southern Ontario through partnerships with the Impact Centre, the Brilliant Entrepreneurship program and GreenCentre Canada.

Dialogue Days Provide an Opportunity to Connect with Canada’s OLMCs

Dialogue Days Provide an Opportunity to Connect with Canada’s OLMCs

Members from Canada’s vast network of economic development and not-for-profit organizations met in Ottawa recently to share and gather input from Official Language Minority Communities (OLMCs). Representatives from FedDev Ontario were part of the conversation, along with Innovation Canada and Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED) Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Lisa Setlakwe, who provided opening remarks that focused on the Innovation and Skills Plan and the importance of collaboration. Workshops were scheduled so stakeholders could explore new partnerships to identify priorities, review available programs and uncover what OLMCs need to achieve economic growth. Dialogue Day is a bi-annual event that is organized by ISED.

decoration

Project News & Updates

AC JumpStart Ready to Select Participants for Cohort #9
AC JumpStart Ready to Select Participants for Cohort #9

The Accelerator Centre provides start-ups with the right guidance to turn their ideas into successes.

AC JumpStart Ready to Select Participants for Cohort #9

Waterloo’s Accelerator Centre (AC) can now accept more participants into its 12-month start-up program. Recently, FedDev Ontario provided additional funding so that the innovative incubator can continue to play a critical role in the local start-up ecosystem. AC JumpStart launched in 2015 and has supported 194 start-up businesses, creating more than 500 jobs. The new funding will allow another 126 companies to receive seed funding and professional one-to-one mentoring. The University of Guelph has also joined the University of Waterloo, Wilfrid Laurier University and Conestoga College as a program partner. The ninth cohort starts February 1, 2019.

Unilever Gains Valuable Business Insights Thanks to Collaborative Project with FedDev Ontario-Supported SOSCIP
Unilever Gains Valuable Business Insights Thanks to Collaborative Project with FedDev Ontario-Supported SOSCIP

Unilever Gains Valuable Business Insights Thanks to Collaborative Project with FedDev Ontario-Supported SOSCIP

Over the past few years, Unilever Canada has embarked on a digital transformation journey, using artificial intelligence (AI) in business decision making to provide better analytical insights. Thanks to FedDev Ontario's support of SOSCIP (formerly the Southern Ontario Smart Computing Innovation Platform), Unilever has expanded these activities through research partnerships with two member universities, geared at using AI to produce better insights into trade investment, business forecasting and automated learning. Building on these projects, Unilever North America is establishing an AI/Business Intelligence hub at its Ontario office. This mandate will continue to grow in the coming years, underlining a common goal of SOSCIP and Unilever to foster and expand the collaborative partnership model that has shown such success.

FedDev Ontario Third-Party Funding Supports Savoury Venture
FedDev Ontario Third-Party Funding Supports Savoury Venture

Old Man & Son is one of three restaurants run by the worker-owned operation.

FedDev Ontario Third-Party Funding Supports Savoury Venture

There’s a distinct revival going on in Stratford’s culinary scene, and Old Man & Son is the latest addition to Ramshackle Industries’ chain of worker-owned restaurants. The collaborative model was developed when Red Rabbit opened in 2015, with 11 owners and additional funding provided through subscriptions that can be used towards food purchases. The management model allows staff to work between venues, which helps all three in the chain thrive in a highly competitive environment. The chain currently employs 18 full-time and 16 part-time staff. Perth Community Futures Development Corporation, which receives funding from FedDev Ontario, has played a role in the launch of all three locations.

South Simcoe Rivals Hollywood North with FedDev Ontario Support
South Simcoe Rivals Hollywood North with FedDev Ontario Support

South Simcoe Rivals Hollywood North with FedDev Ontario Support

The spotlight is on the Film Liaison at Nottawasaga Futures as it sets the stage for the area’s growing entertainment and creative cluster. Since 2000, the Film Liaison has been the conduit between host communities and production companies, acting as location scout and agent for local services and goods, leading to valuable economic spin-offs. South Simcoe has hosted a number of productions including the television series Murdoch Mysteries and Kardia, a film entered at the Cannes Film Festival. FedDev Ontario support through the Community Futures Program is helping organizations like Nottawasaga Futures develop and implement strategies that drive local economies.

decoration

LinkedIn Highlights

FedDev Ontario-supported research and innovation hub IDEAWORKS produces impactful academia-industry relationships. The hub, located in Hamilton’s Mohawk College, helps connect students with local business owners through their participation in the Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing and Innovation. Students bring current applied research knowhow to help companies solve problems and increase their competitiveness.

Dejero wins an Emmy! The Waterloo-based connectivity solutions provider will be heading to Las Vegas in the spring to accept its award from the National Academy of Television Arts and Science. Congratulations and proud to have helped you along the way!

Clear Blue Technologies is back in the spotlight, having been chosen as the power service provider for Kenyan technology company, BRCK Inc. Clear Blue’s Smart Off-Grid technology will be implemented to power up thousands of WiFi spots across Africa, providing a reliable, clean and low-cost service agreement. FedDev Ontario is a proud supporter of Clear Blue!

Mississauga-based SceneDoc was acquired by Tyler Technologies, a Texas-based provider of information management services for local governments. SceneDoc was launched in 2011 and introduced a mobile-first, secure data-collection platform for law enforcement agencies that lets officers collect and work with evidence using smartphones. SceneDoc management and staff will become part of Tyler’s Public Safety Division, and its 18 employees are expected to remain in their current locations. FedDev Ontario congratulates SceneDoc on its success!

decoration

Upcoming Events

SIGN UP FOR REGULAR ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT UPDATES IN YOUR INBOX

Links to websites not under the control of the Government of Canada are provided solely for the convenience of users.
The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency, language or the reliability of the content nor does it endorse the sites.

Date modified:

L’actualité économique du Sud de l’Ontario - janvier 2019

L’actualité économique du Sud de l’Ontario

CONCENTRATION DE FEDDEV ONTARIO SUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT ÉCONOMIQUE

JANVIER 2019

decoration DANS CE NUMÉRO decorationdecoraion JANVIER 2019
ARCHIVES DES NUMÉROS
decoration

Faisant les manchettes

Les gouvernements fédéral et provincial fournissent un soutien dans Sault Ste. Marie

L’honorable Navdeep Bains, ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique rencontre des travailleurs d’Algoma avant d’annoncer de bonnes nouvelles pour l’industrie sidérurgique.

Les gouvernements fédéral et provincial fournissent un soutien dans Sault Ste. Marie

L’industrie de l’acier de l’Ontario est plus forte depuis l’injection de 90 millions de dollars dans Algoma Steel Inc. Avec un soutien de FedDev Ontario, du Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et du gouvernement de l’Ontario, le producteur d’acier de Sault Ste. Marie créera 50 nouveaux emplois tout en soutenant les près de 3000 emplois déjà existants à son aciérie. Algoma est une entreprise d'envergure mondiale, qui intègre des technologies modernes, novatrices et efficientes pour produire un éventail de produits de plaques et de tôles en acier laminées à chaud et à froid. C’est également le deuxième plus gros producteur d'acier intégré du Canada. On s’attend à ce que l’engagement du gouvernement appuie les travailleurs dévoués du secteur de l’acier et de l’aluminium ainsi que leurs familles et leurs collectivités pour les années à venir.

FedDev Ontario promeut un avenir sain en finançant Pliteq, un fabricant du secteur des technologies propres

Donna Jamieson Baker, Directrice, promotion commerciale, et Paul Downey, PDG, Pliteq Inc., accueillent le député Francesco Sorbara (à l’extrême gauche) lors de l’inauguration de la nouvelle installation de la société.

FedDev Ontario promeut un avenir sain en finançant Pliteq, un fabricant du secteur des technologies propres

L’ouverture des nouveaux bureaux de 13 935 mètres carrés de Pliteq Inc., à Vaughan, a récemment été soulignée. Pliteq fabrique des produits acoustiques économiques à partir de caoutchouc recyclé provenant de pneus usagés, et avait besoin de plus d’espace pour fabriquer ses produits à l’interne. Grâce à la contribution de 3,8 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, l’entreprise a pu acheter de l’équipement de production de pointe et adopter de nouveaux procédés de fabrication pour accroître sa productivité. L’expansion a entraîné la création de 62 emplois spécialisés, en plus de soutenir les chaînes d’approvisionnement locales et de contribuer à la croissance du secteur manufacturier des technologies propres. Pliteq a détourné trois millions de pneus des sites d’enfouissement et prévoit doubler cette quantité annuellement d’ici 2021.

Le laboratoire ouvert de The Forge de l’Université McMaster va de l’avant grâce au financement de FedDev Ontario

L’honorable Filomena Tassi (au centre) avec des représentants de la McMaster University après avoir annoncé le financement.

Le laboratoire ouvert de The Forge de l’Université McMaster va de l’avant grâce au financement de FedDev Ontario

L’Université McMaster, qui encourage la créativité et l’innovation, pourra accueillir un plus grand nombre d’entrepreneurs grâce à l’agrandissement prévu du laboratoire ouvert de The Forge. La contribution de 1,2 million de dollars de FedDev Ontario permettra à l’incubateur d’entreprises de s’installer dans un espace de 10 000 pieds carrés qu’il partagera avec Innovation Factory. Avec l’ajout d’imprimantes 3D et d’autres outils de fabrication, et par un mentorat accru, The Forge doublera presque le nombre d’entreprises qui accèdent à ses services chaque année. L’incubateur, joueur important de l’écosystème entrepreneurial de Hamilton, contribue à la commercialisation de produits et de services novateurs ainsi qu’à la création de nouveaux emplois.

FedDev Ontario verse d’autres fonds pour les entreprises en démarrage de l’Est de l’Ontario

La députée Kim Rudd, (centre-droit) a annoncé un financement supplémentaire pour la SADC de Northumberland, qui soutiendra 25 nouvelles entreprises en démarrage

FedDev Ontario verse d’autres fonds pour les entreprises en démarrage de l’Est de l’Ontario

La Société d’aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) de Northumberland élargit son programme N1M grâce à un soutien financier supplémentaire de 1,1 million de dollars de FedDev Ontario. Le programme, dirigé par le siège social de la SADC de Northumberland, Venture13, offre aux entrepreneurs prometteurs un financement de démarrage, de la formation et du mentorat pour les aider à lancer leur entreprise. Depuis 2015, le programme a soutenu plus de 30 entreprises technologiques en démarrage, entraînant la création de plus de 70 emplois. Le financement supplémentaire devrait permettre le lancement de 25 nouvelles entreprises. La SADC de Northumberland prévoit également offrir le programme dans tout le Sud de l’Ontario grâce à des partenariats avec l’Impact Centre, le programme Brilliant Entrepreneurship et le GreenCentre Canada.

Les journées de dialogue : une occasion d’établir des liens avec les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire du Canada

Les journées de dialogue : une occasion d’établir des liens avec les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire du Canada

Les membres du vaste réseau de développement économique et d’organismes sans but lucratif du Canada se sont réunis récemment à Ottawa pour discuter et recueillir les commentaires des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM). Des représentants de FedDev Ontario ont pris part à la discussion, avec la sous-ministre adjointe principale d’Innovation Canada et d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), Lisa Setlakwe, dont le discours d’ouverture portait sur le Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences ainsi que sur l’importance de la collaboration. Des ateliers ont été organisés pour permettre aux participants d’envisager de nouveaux partenariats visant à déterminer les priorités, à examiner les programmes offerts et à découvrir ce dont les CLOSM ont besoin pour croître sur le plan économique. Deux journées de dialogue sont organisées chaque année par ISDE.

decoration

Nouvelles et mises à jour sur les projets

Programme AC JumpStart : la sélection des participants à la cohorte 9 peut commencer
Programme AC JumpStart : la sélection des participants à la cohorte 9 peut commencer

L’Accelerator Centre offre aux jeunes entreprises l’orientation dont elles ont besoin pour transformer leurs idées en réussites.

Programme AC JumpStart : la sélection des participants à la cohorte 9 peut commencer

L’Accelerator Centre (AC) de Waterloo peut maintenant accepter un plus grand nombre de participants à son programme de démarrage de 12 mois. Récemment, FedDev Ontario a fourni des fonds supplémentaires pour que l’incubateur novateur puisse continuer à jouer un rôle essentiel dans l’écosystème local du démarrage. AC JumpStart, lancé en 2015, a aidé 194 entreprises en démarrage, lesquelles sont à l’origine de la création de plus de 500 emplois. Les nouveaux fonds permettront à 126 autres entreprises de recevoir un financement de démarrage et un mentorat professionnel individuel. L’Université de Guelph s’est associée à l’Université de Waterloo, à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier et au Collège Conestoga en tant que partenaire du programme. La neuvième cohorte commencera le 1er février 2019.

Unilever obtient de précieux renseignements d’affaires grâce à un projet de collaboration avec la SOSCIP, financée par FedDev Ontario
Unilever obtient de précieux renseignements d’affaires grâce à un projet de collaboration avec la SOSCIP, financée par FedDev Ontario

Unilever obtient de précieux renseignements d’affaires grâce à un projet de collaboration avec la SOSCIP, financée par FedDev Ontario

Au cours des dernières années, Unilever Canada a entrepris une démarche de transformation numérique par l’intelligence artificielle (IA) pour la prise de décisions commerciales afin de fournir de meilleures perspectives analytiques. Grâce au soutien financier versé par FedDev Ontario à la SOSCIP (anciennement la Plateforme d’innovation dans l’information intelligente du Sud de l’Ontario), Unilever a élargi ces activités au moyen de partenariats de recherche avec deux universités membres dans le but d’utiliser l’IA pour mieux comprendre les investissements commerciaux, les prévisions commerciales et l’apprentissage automatique. Misant sur ces projets, Unilever Amérique du Nord travaille à la création d’un carrefour de l’IA et de veille stratégique à son bureau de l’Ontario. Ce mandat continuera de prendre de l’importance dans les prochaines années, vu l’objectif commun de la SOSCIP et d’Unilever de favoriser le recours au modèle de partenariat de collaboration qui a si bien fonctionné.

Le financement de tiers de FedDev Ontario aide une entreprise de restauration
Le financement de tiers de FedDev Ontario aide une entreprise de restauration

Old Man & Son est l’un des trois restaurants exploités par l’entreprise appartenant aux travailleurs.

Le financement de tiers de FedDev Ontario aide une entreprise de restauration

Il ne fait aucun doute que le milieu culinaire de Stratford connaît un renouveau, comme l’illustre le dernier ajout, Old Man & Son, à la chaîne de restaurants appartenant aux travailleurs de Ramshackle Industries. Le modèle collaboratif, mis en place lors de l’ouverture du Red Rabbit en 2015, comprend 11 propriétaires et des fonds supplémentaires obtenus par l’entremise d’abonnements pouvant servir à acheter de la nourriture. Grâce au modèle de gestion, le personnel peut travailler dans les trois restaurants de la chaîne, ce qui aide l’entreprise à prospérer dans un domaine hautement concurrentiel. La chaîne emploie actuellement 18 personnes à temps plein et 16 à temps partiel. Perth Community Futures Development Corporation, qui reçoit des fonds de FedDev Ontario, a participé au lancement des trois restaurants.

South Simcoe rivalise avec Hollywood North grâce au soutien financier de FedDev Ontario
South Simcoe rivalise avec Hollywood North grâce au soutien financier de FedDev Ontario

South Simcoe rivalise avec Hollywood North grâce au soutien financier de FedDev Ontario

Les projecteurs sont braqués sur Film Liaison de Nottawasaga Futures qui prépare le terrain pour le pôle de divertissement et de création en pleine croissance de la région. Depuis 2000, Film Liaison joue le rôle d’intermédiaire entre les quartiers qui accueillent des tournages et les sociétés de production, agissant comme repéreur de lieux de tournage et agent pour les services et biens locaux. Son travail génère des retombées économiques importantes. Plusieurs productions ont été tournées à South Simcoe, dont la série télévisée Les enquêtes de Murdoch (Murdoch Mysteries) et Kardia, un film présenté au Festival de Cannes. Le soutien financier de FedDev Ontario, par l’entremise du Programme de développement des collectivités, aide des organismes, comme Nottawasaga Futures, à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des stratégies qui stimulent l’économie locale.

decoration

Faits saillants sur Linkedin

Le centre d’innovation et de recherche IdeaWorks appuyé par FedDev Ontario génère des relations déterminantes entre le secteur académique et l’industrie. Situé au Mohawk College à Hamilton, le centre aide à mettre les étudiants en contact avec les propriétaires d’entreprises locales grâce à leur participation au réseau du Sud de l'Ontario pour la fabrication de pointe et l'innovation. Les étudiants apportent leur savoir-faire à jour en matière de recherche appliquée pour aider les entreprises à résoudre des problèmes et à accroître leur compétitivité.

Dejero a remporté un Emmy! Le fournisseur de solutions de connectivité situé à Waterloo ira à Las Vegas au printemps pour recevoir son prix de la National Academy of Television Arts and Science. Félicitations! Nous sommes fiers de vous avoir aidé!

Clear Blue Technologies est de nouveau sous les projecteurs, ayant été choisi comme fournisseur de service d’alimentation pour la société kenyane de technologie BRCK. La technologie de réseau non relié intelligent Smart Off-Grid de Clear Blue sera instaurée pour alimenter des milliers de points d’accès WIFI dans toute l’Afrique, fournissant une entente de service à bas prix, fiable et écologique. FedDev Ontario est fier d’appuyer Clear Blue!

La société SceneDoc, établie à Mississauga, a été acquise par Tyler Technologies, un fournisseur de services de gestion de l’information pour les gouvernements locaux, établi au Texas. SceneDoc a été lancée en 2011 et a présenté une plateforme de collecte des renseignements, d’abord et avant tout pour les appareils mobiles, et sécuritaire, servant aux organismes d’application de la loi. La plateforme permet aux agents de recueillir des preuves, et travailler avec elles, en utilisant des téléphones intelligents. La direction et le personnel de SceneDoc intégreront la division de sécurité publique de Tyler, et on s’attend à ce que les 18 employés de SceneDoc soient maintenus dans leurs emplacements actuels. FedDev Ontario félicite SceneDoc pour son succès!

decoration

Événements à venir

Event September 12

19 février
 

Event September 12

4 et 5 mars
 

AI World Forum (Toronto)

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS AUX MISES JOURS RELATIVES AU DÉVELOPPEMENT ÉCONOMIQUE – CELLES-CI SERONT ENVOYÉES DANS VOTRE BOÎTE DE RÉCEPTION

Les liens vers des sites Web autres que ceux du gouvernement du Canada sont fournis aux utilisateurs uniquement par souci de commodité.
Le gouvernement du Canada n’est pas responsable de l’exactitude, de la mise à jour, de la langue d’expression choisie ou de la fiabilité du contenu et il ne cautionne pas ces sites ou leur contenu.

Date de modification :