Taking collaborative innovation to a higher level

Recipient: SOSCIP
Region: Southern Ontario
Total funding allocated: $10 million

Taking collaborative innovation to a higher level

Advancements in technology can have profound benefits for Canadians. From improvements in health diagnoses and treatment, to increased efficiencies for businesses, or safer physical and digital spaces, these innovations impact our daily lives by solving social, technical and business challenges. They are also key drivers of our economy, leading to job creation, business growth, and competitiveness in the global digital economy.

Driving industry innovation is the focus of SOSCIP—Canada’s only advanced computing research and development consortium of its kind. With a membership of 15 academic institutions, IBM Canada plus six innovation partners across southern Ontario, SOSCIP provides a single point of contact for companies to work with world-leading researchers and advanced computing platforms to solve their business challenges and support their long-term growth.

FedDev Ontario has been there since the beginning in 2012 to champion collaboration among key partners to drive results for the region and to provide continued support as the project progresses. Phase one of the project established the consortium, and phase two increased industry access to its high-performing computing platform and expanded support to new sectors. As SOSCIP evolves and the success of its collaborative ecosystem continues to foster growth and innovation, phase three will enable the organization to pivot its existing activities and leverage its existing architecture to establish a first-in-Canada artificial intelligence (AI) consortium.

The Agency’s latest $10-million investment will result in SOSCIP overseeing one of the world’s foremost industry-driven AI and data science innovation platforms. With a critical mass of hard-to-find expertise, leading-edge AI infrastructure and a highly qualified talent pool, SOSCIP will unleash the potential for innovative southern Ontario companies to develop and adopt new technologies that will enhance their competitiveness in a rapidly changing global economy.

Over a three-year period, the initiative will support 400 new collaborative research projects and help 150 SMEs build AI and data science technologies into their products and operations, bringing 80 new innovations to market. About 1,000 students and researchers will benefit from AI and data science training and work experience, and 500 high-quality jobs will be created in the STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) fields.

“FedDev Ontario’s continued support will further reinforce SOSCIP’s position as the leading research and development consortium harnessing advanced computing to drive industry innovation,” says Tibor Turi, Executive Director of SOSCIP. “The SOSCIP consortium’s ability to drive impactful industry-led research projects in the field of AI and data science will bring the transformational benefits of AI to companies to help them be globally competitive, create jobs and benefit society.” 

To date, SOSCIP has worked with over 200 companies to adopt data science in their operations; supported 500 highly skilled jobs across over 120 Ontario-based businesses; and enabled over 60 percent of graduates working on SOSCIP projects to transition into high-tech careers.  The consortium has grown to include 15 of Ontario’s most research-intensive academic institutions that are committed to solving problems that improve our everyday lives—from our cities and health, to cybersecurity and advanced manufacturing.

The consortium operates three advanced computing systems backed by expert technical support through the University of Toronto (SciNet) and SHARCNET. These include the SOSCIP GPU-Accelerated Platform, which is a leading-edge, energy-efficient system that delivers powerful performance over a wide range of big data applications, such as machine learning, astronomy, image and video processing and computational chemistry.

Analytics 4 Life (A4L) was one of the first start-ups to benefit from SOSCIP. A4L uses artificial intelligence to develop machine-learned solutions to identify and assess disease, and advanced computing power supported the development of the company’s mathematical models. Following a clinical trial with more than 1,200 participants, the CorVista® System was born.  The CorVista System is a non-invasive cardiac diagnostic platform used to diagnose multiple cardiovascular conditions that can be administered in a physician’s office and provide instant test results.

“Having access to SOSCIP’s resources has accelerated our development timeline,” says Shyam Ramchandani, PhD, Chief Science Officer, A4L. “Without SOSCIP, it would have been much more difficult for a small company like A4L to obtain the funding and computational power necessary to analyze billions of data points.” A4L now has offices in Toronto, North Carolina and China.

As SOSCIP holds true to its vision, its partners’ accomplishments validate the importance of collaborating to solve problems, create opportunities and drive innovation. Not only is SOSCIP’s support helping companies grow and thrive in this innovation economy, it is also strengthening Canada’s position as a hub for multinational enterprises looking to anchor and expand their AI presence here and around the world.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Through FedDev Ontario’s visionary investments and support, SOSCIP has evolved from a successful consortium unique within Canada to one that positions Canada as a world hub to attract businesses to harness the benefits of AI.
Tibor Turi, Executive Director of SOSCIP
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Amener l’innovation collaborative à un niveau supérieur

Bénéficiaire : Southern Ontario Smart Computing Innovation Platform
Région : Sud de l'ontario
Total du financement alloué : 10 millions de dollars

Amener l’innovation collaborative à un niveau supérieur

Favoriser l’innovation est l’objectif de SOSCIP – un consortium de recherche et de développement en information intelligente unique au Canada. Avec 15 établissements universitaires, IBM Canada et six partenaires d’innovation dans le Sud de l’Ontario, SOSCIP offre aux entreprises un point de contact unique pour travailler avec des chercheurs de renommée mondiale et des plateformes informatiques avancées afin de relever leurs défis commerciaux et de soutenir leur croissance à long terme.

FedDev Ontario est présent depuis le début en 2012 pour promouvoir la collaboration entre les principaux partenaires afin d’obtenir des résultats pour la région et d’offrir un soutien continu à mesure que le projet progresse. La première phase du projet a permis d’établir le consortium et la deuxième phase a permis d’accroître l’accès de l’industrie à sa plateforme informatique très performante. Au fur et à mesure que SOSCIP évolue et que le succès de son écosystème de collaboration continue de favoriser la croissance et l’innovation, la troisième phase permettra à l’organisme de centrer ses activités existantes et de tirer parti de son architecture actuelle pour établir un premier consortium sur l’intelligence artificielle (IA) au Canada.

Le dernier investissement de 10 millions de dollars de l’Agence permettra à SOSCIP de superviser l’une des plus importantes plateformes d’innovation en matière d’IA et de science des données au monde. Avec une masse critique d’expertise difficile à trouver, une infrastructure d’IA de pointe et un bassin de talents hautement qualifiés, SOSCIP permettra aux entreprises novatrices du Sud de l’Ontario de développer et d’adopter de nouvelles technologies qui amélioreront leur compétitivité dans une économie mondiale en rapide évolution.

Sur une période de trois ans, l’initiative appuiera 400 nouveaux projets de recherche concertée et aidera 150 PME à intégrer les technologies de l’IA et des sciences des données dans leurs produits et leurs activités, ce qui permettra de commercialiser 80 nouvelles innovations. Environ 1 000 étudiants et chercheurs bénéficieront d’une formation et d’une expérience professionnelle en IA et en sciences des données, et 500 emplois de qualité seront créés dans les domaines des STIM (sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques).

« Le soutien continu de FedDev Ontario renforcera encore davantage la position de SOSCIP en tant que principal consortium de recherche et de développement exploitant l’informatique de pointe pour stimuler l’innovation dans l’industrie, déclare Tibor Turi, directeur général de SOSCIP. La capacité du consortium SOSCIP à mener d’importants projets de recherche de l’industrie dans le domaine de l’IA et de la science des données apportera les avantages transformationnels de l’IA aux entreprises pour les aider à être compétitives au niveau mondial, à créer des emplois et à être avantageuses pour la société » 

Jusqu’à présent, SOSCIP a travaillé avec plus de 200 entreprises pour adopter la science des données dans leurs opérations; a soutenu 500 emplois hautement qualifiés dans plus de 120 entreprises ontariennes; et a permis à plus de 60 % des diplômés travaillant sur des projets de SOSCIP de faire la transition vers des carrières en haute technologie. Les projets de collaboration de SOSCIP ont mené à 44 produits, 28 améliorations de processus et 17 services. Le consortium s’est agrandi pour inclure 15 des établissements universitaires les plus axés sur la recherche en Ontario qui se sont engagés à résoudre les problèmes qui améliorent notre vie quotidienne, qu’il s’agisse de nos villes, de notre santé, de la cybersécurité ou de la fabrication de pointe.

Le consortium exploite trois systèmes informatiques de pointe appuyés par un soutien technique d’experts par l’entremise de l’Université de Toronto (SciNet) et de SHARCNET. Il s’agit notamment de la plateforme SOSCIP accélérée par le GPU, un système de pointe à haut rendement énergétique qui offre des performances puissantes sur un large éventail d’applications de données importantes, telles que l’apprentissage automatique, l’astronomie, le traitement d’images et de vidéos et la chimie informatique.

Analytics 4 Life (A4L) a été l’une des premières entreprises en démarrage à bénéficier de SOSCIP. A4L utilise l’intelligence artificielle pour concevoir l’apprentissage automatique pour déterminer et évaluer la maladie apprise à la machine et la puissance de calcul qui soutient le développement des modèles mathématiques de l’entreprise. À la suite d’un essai clinique auquel ont participé plus de 1 200 personnes, le système CorVista® est né. Le système CorVista est une plateforme de diagnostic cardiaque non invasive utilisée pour diagnostiquer de multiples dysfonctions cardiaques qui peut être effectué au cabinet d’un médecin et fournir des résultats de test instantanés.

« L’accès aux ressources de SOSCIP a accéléré notre calendrier de conception, déclare M. Shyam Ramchandani, Ph. D., chef des affaires scientifiques, A4L. Sans SOSCIP, il aurait été beaucoup plus difficile pour une petite entreprise comme A4L d’obtenir le financement et la puissance de calcul nécessaires pour analyser des milliards de points de données. » A4L a maintenant des bureaux à Toronto, en Caroline du Nord et en Chine.

Comme SOSCIP est fidèle à sa vision, les réalisations de ses partenaires valident l’importance de la collaboration pour résoudre les problèmes, créer des occasions et stimuler l’innovation. Non seulement le soutien de SOSCIP aide les entreprises à croître et à prospérer dans cette économie de l’innovation, mais il renforce également la position du Canada en tant que plaque tournante pour les entreprises multinationales qui cherchent à ancrer et à étendre leur présence en IA ici et dans le monde.

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
Grâce aux investissements et au soutien visionnaire de FedDev Ontario, SOSCIP est passé d’un consortium prospère et unique au Canada à un consortium qui positionne le Canada comme une plaque tournante mondiale dans le but d’attirer les entreprises et de tirer parti des avantages de l’IA.
Tibor Turi, directeur général de SOSCIP
Date de modification :