One-of-a-kind Indigenous business incubator rising in Toronto

Recipient: City of Toronto
Region: Toronto
Stream: Regional Innovation Ecosystem
Total funding allocated: $5 million

Looking east on Dundas and George streets in Toronto. ICIE conceptual design by Indigenous Design Studio/Brook McIlroy & ERA Architects.
Looking east on Dundas and George streets in Toronto. ICIE conceptual design by Indigenous Design Studio/Brook McIlroy & ERA Architects.

Support, training and a sense of community are critical elements of success for any entrepreneur. For many Indigenous peoples who leave their First Nation communities for larger urban centres like Toronto, and those who call the city home, accessing those tools in a culturally meaningful way can be a challenge. With the largest Indigenous population in Ontario and a strong culture of entrepreneurship, the City of Toronto joined forces with the local Indigenous community to create a connected and culturally focused space for Indigenous entrepreneurs.

As the first Indigenous business incubator of its kind in Ontario, the Indigenous Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (ICIE) is designed to support the growth, expansion and scale-up of Indigenous businesses in Toronto.

After years of consultations, visioning and planning, the City has committed 22,000 square feet of commercial space over three floors at 200 Dundas Street East in Toronto to serve as a culturally and technologically rich hub for Indigenous entrepreneurs. Located in the heart of downtown Toronto’s Garden District—a community that naturally evokes a sense of cultivation and growth—ICIE will transform the Dundas Street corridor into an economic and cultural catalyst for Indigenous peoples. On the doorstep of Ryerson University’s innovative urban campus, within minutes of Canada’s busiest intersection and nestled amongst a cluster of Indigenous service organizations, the Centre is well located to serve as a hub for growth and opportunity.

"FedDev Ontario funding is an important contribution to this project," says Selina Young, Manager of the Indigenous Affairs Office at the City of Toronto. "It will help to ensure the physical space and programming will meet the needs of and encourage Indigenous entrepreneurs to dream big, scale up their businesses and be more visible in Toronto and beyond."

When the Centre opens in early 2021, entrepreneurs will have access to business skills training, centralized resources, collaborative workspaces, rental desks and a traditional lodge for hosting meetings and events. Understanding the importance of community and culture, Indigenous architects wove traditional and contemporary features into the design to reflect traditional knowledge and values and inspire Indigenous-led innovation and business leadership.

With help from FedDev Ontario’s $5-million contribution, the Centre’s dedicated programming will address gaps in economic opportunities for Indigenous peoples and promote inclusive economic development, while creating a portal for Indigenous companies and communities across the region to access Toronto markets. The project is expected to support close to 420 Indigenous businesses and create 500 new jobs for Indigenous peoples across southern Ontario.

On top of the economic benefits, ICIE will cultivate a community of like-minded entrepreneurs and business owners, effectively establishing a network for Indigenous professionals and creating a model for Indigenous incubators across the country.

"ICIE's unique environment includes a focus on culture and technology that will support start-ups led by Indigenous majority-owned businesses," says Patrick Tobin, Director of Arts and Culture Services at the City of Toronto. “It will also be a vibrant hub and meeting place for Indigenous entrepreneurs, industry partners, customers and more."

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario funding for ICIE will greatly contribute to advancing economic opportunity for Indigenous people in the city and the surrounding region.
Patrick Tobin, Director of Arts and Culture Services at the City of Toronto
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un incubateur autochtone d’entreprises unique en son genre en essor à Toronto

Bénéficiaire : Indigenous Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (ICIE)
Région : La ville de Toronto
Volet : Écosystème d’innovation régional
Financement total attribué : 5 millions de dollars

En regardant vers l’Est sur les rues Dundas et George à Toronto. Étude conceptuelle de l’ICIE par les Indigenous Design Studio et Brook McIlroy & ERA Architects.
En regardant vers l’Est sur les rues Dundas et George à Toronto. Étude conceptuelle de l’ICIE par les Indigenous Design Studio et Brook McIlroy & ERA Architects.

Le soutien, la formation et le sens de la collectivité sont des éléments essentiels à la réussite de tout entrepreneur. Pour de nombreux Autochtones qui quittent leur communauté des Premières Nations pour s’installer dans de grands centres urbains comme Toronto et pour ceux qui vivent en ville, accéder à ces outils d’une manière significative du point de vue culturel peut être un défi. Avec la plus grande population autochtone de l’Ontario et une forte culture d’entrepreneuriat, la ville de Toronto a uni ses forces à celles de la communauté autochtone locale pour créer un espace connecté et à caractère culturel pour les entrepreneurs autochtones.

Premier incubateur autochtone d’entreprises du genre en Ontario, l’Indigenous Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (ICIE) est conçu pour soutenir la croissance, l’expansion et l’intensification des activités des entreprises autochtones à Toronto.

Après des années de consultations, de vision et de planification, la Ville a réservé 22 000 pieds carrés d’espace commercial sur trois étages au 200, rue Dundas Est à Toronto, afin d’offrir une plaque tournante riche d’un point de vue culturel et technologique aux entrepreneurs autochtones. Situé au cœur du Garden District du centre-ville de Toronto – une communauté qui évoque naturellement un sentiment de culture et de croissance – l’ICIE transformera la zone de la rue Dundas en un catalyseur économique et culturel pour les peuples autochtones. Aux portes du campus urbain innovateur de l’Université Ryerson, à quelques minutes de l’intersection la plus achalandée du Canada et niché au sein d’une grappe d’organismes de services aux autochtones, le Centre est bien situé pour servir de plaque tournante à la croissance et aux possibilités.

« Le financement de FedDev Ontario est une contribution importante à ce projet, affirme Selina Young, directrice du Bureau des affaires autochtones de la ville de Toronto. Il aidera à faire en sorte que l’espace physique et la programmation répondent aux besoins des entrepreneurs autochtones, et les encouragera à rêver grand, à intensifier leurs activités et à être plus visibles à Toronto et ailleurs. »

Lorsque le Centre ouvrira ses portes au début de 2021, les entrepreneurs auront accès à une formation en compétences commerciales, à des ressources centralisées, à des espaces de travail coopératif, à des bureaux en location et à un pavillon traditionnel pour accueillir des réunions et des événements. Comprenant l’importance de la communauté et de la culture, les architectes autochtones ont intégré des éléments traditionnels et contemporains dans la conception afin de refléter les connaissances et les valeurs traditionnelles et d’inspirer l’innovation et le leadership en affaires autochtones.

Grâce à la contribution de 5 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, la programmation spécialisée du Centre comblera les lacunes en matière de possibilités économiques pour les peuples autochtones et favorisera le développement économique inclusif, tout en créant un portail permettant aux entreprises et aux communautés autochtones de la région d’accéder aux marchés de Toronto. Le projet devrait soutenir près de 420 entreprises autochtones et créer 500 nouveaux emplois pour les Autochtones du Sud de l’Ontario.

En plus des avantages économiques, l’ICIE cultivera une communauté d’entrepreneurs et de propriétaires d’entreprises partageant les mêmes idées, établissant ainsi un réseau pour les professionnels autochtones et créant un modèle pour les incubateurs autochtones à travers le pays.

« L’environnement unique de l’ICIE est axé notamment sur la culture et la technologie, ce qui appuiera les entreprises en démarrage appartenant majoritairement à des autochtones, affirme Patrick Tobin, directeur des arts et de la culture à la Ville de Toronto. Ce sera aussi un centre dynamique et un lieu de rencontre pour les entrepreneurs autochtones, les partenaires de l’industrie, les clients et plus encore. »

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
Le financement de FedDev Ontario à l’ICIE contribuera grandement à l’avancement des possibilités économiques pour les Autochtones de la ville et de la région environnante.
Patrick Tobin, directeur des arts et de la culture à la Ville de Toronto
Date de modification :