Language selection

Search

Realizing the vision of a locally rooted, internationally competitive and globally renowned Waterloo Region

Recipient: Waterloo Region Economic Development Corporation
Region: Waterloo Region
Stream: Regional Innovation Ecosystem
Total funding allocated: $3 million

Members of the Waterloo EDC team look on as Waterloo Region business leaders participate in a panel discussion on scaling a tech company at the Collision Conference in May 2019. Waterloo EDC planned and co-ordinated the panel with the Lazaridis Institute.
Members of the Waterloo EDC team look on as Waterloo Region business leaders participate in a panel discussion on scaling a tech company at the Collision Conference in May 2019. Waterloo EDC planned and co-ordinated the panel with the Lazaridis Institute.

What do you get when you combine a diversified economy with a skilled workforce, world-class research hubs and post-secondary institutions that generate work-ready talent pools? You get Waterloo Region.

With its innovative culture and growing set of amenities, Waterloo Region garners attention from companies looking to locate, relocate or expand. It also draws talent and investors searching for a strategically located and connected ecosystem. Waterloo has grown into a thriving central hub of economic activity, spanning industries such as technology, advanced manufacturing, automotive and more.

Created in 2015, the Waterloo Region Economic Development Corporation (Waterloo EDC) serves as the first point of contact for foreign businesses looking to set up in Waterloo. It leads foreign investment attraction efforts for global investors looking for a foothold in North America, and supports local companies as they invest and expand. In fact, from 2016 to 2018, Waterloo EDC facilitated 30 investments in Waterloo Region, totaling more than $645 million.

“In our first three years, Waterloo EDC has demonstrated a clear ability to attract investments and help foreign-owned businesses expand in our region. The numbers speak for themselves,” says Tony LaMantia, Waterloo EDC’s President and CEO. “This investment from FedDev Ontario will supercharge our efforts, including building our capacity to generate and nurture leads. Our mission-driven team truly believes that our work is having positive social impact, strengthening our ecosystem and improving the lives of the people in our community.”

This collaborative project, with a $3-million investment from FedDev Ontario, involves targeting global companies from a variety of sectors to take part in 45 organized investment missions in the region, with help from up to 80 local companies to introduce them to global investors and export opportunities. Waterloo EDC has already hosted a delegation of German tech companies, connecting them with various local start-ups, and introduced a large automotive multinational to additional local companies. Additionally, it has welcomed a multinational aerospace company to Waterloo Region to discuss potential investment opportunities and introduced them to five local companies with shared interests.

Moreover, with FedDev Ontario’s support, Waterloo EDC expects to bring $40 million in brand new investments to the region, which will ultimately generate more than 275 jobs across southern Ontario. The organization has already found success, having helped Insticator—a New York-based adtech company—set up a development office with the potential for 40 new jobs and almost $10 million in investment through 2023. Enlighted, a Siemens-owned and California-based Internet-of-Things company, provides another example, having opened an R&D centre in Waterloo Region with an estimated 20 new jobs and $7 million in investment over the next five years.

Additionally, this collaborative project is working to enhance the region’s entrepreneurial ecosystem by strengthening working relationships and partnerships with the City of Guelph, Toronto Global and the City of Hamilton.

“This investment will build upon the Toronto-Waterloo Corridor’s global significance as a leading innovation cluster. Together with our partners, we are committed to attracting high-value foreign direct investment that builds sustainable prosperity not just in our own regions, but across southern Ontario and Canada,” says LaMantia.

FedDev Ontario is committed to working with Waterloo EDC to realize its vision of a locally rooted, internationally competitive and globally renowned Waterloo Region.

Stay Connected

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS Feeds
This investment will build upon the Toronto-Waterloo Corridor’s global significance as a leading innovation cluster. Together with our partners, we are committed to attracting high-value foreign direct investment that builds sustainable prosperity not just in our own regions, but across southern Ontario and Canada.
Tony LaMantia, President and CEO, Waterloo EDC
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Réaliser la vision d’une région de Waterloo enracinée localement, compétitive à l’échelle internationale et reconnue mondialement

Bénéficiaire : Waterloo Region Economic Development Corporation
Région : Région de Waterloo
Volet : Écosystème d’innovation régional
Financement total attribué : 3 millions de dollars

Des membres de l’équipe de Waterloo EDC écoutent des chefs d’entreprise de la région de Waterloo qui participent à une table ronde sur l’expansion d’une entreprise de technologie lors de la Conférence sur les collisions en mai 2019. Waterloo EDC a planifié et coordonné le groupe d’experts avec l’Institut Lazaridis.
Des membres de l’équipe de Waterloo EDC écoutent des chefs d’entreprise de la région de Waterloo qui participent à une table ronde sur l’expansion d’une entreprise de technologie lors de la Conférence sur les collisions en mai 2019. Waterloo EDC a planifié et coordonné le groupe d’experts avec l’Institut Lazaridis.

Qu’obtenez-vous lorsque vous combinez une économie diversifiée avec une main-d’œuvre qualifiée, des centres de recherche de calibre mondial et des établissements postsecondaires qui génèrent des bassins de talents aptes au travail? Vous obtenez la région de Waterloo.

Grâce à sa culture novatrice et à son ensemble croissant de commodités, la région de Waterloo attire l’attention des entreprises qui cherchent à s’établir, à déménager ou à prendre de l’expansion. Elle attire également les talents et les investisseurs à la recherche d’un écosystème stratégiquement situé et connecté. Avec les années, Waterloo est devenue une plaque tournante florissante de l’activité économique pour des industries comme celle de la technologie, de la fabrication de pointe, de l’automobile et plus encore.

Établie en 2015, la Waterloo Region Economic Development Corporation (Waterloo EDC) est le premier point de contact des entreprises étrangères qui souhaitent s’établir à Waterloo. Elle dirige les efforts d’attraction d’investissements étrangers visant les investisseurs qui cherchent à s’implanter en Amérique du Nord et soutient les entreprises locales dans leurs investissements et leur expansion. En fait, de 2016 à 2018, Waterloo EDC a facilité 30 investissements dans la région de Waterloo, totalisant plus de 645 millions de dollars.

« Au cours de ses trois premières années d’existence, Waterloo EDC a clairement démontré sa capacité d’attirer des investissements et d’aider les entreprises étrangères à prendre de l’expansion dans notre région. Les chiffres parlent d’eux-mêmes, déclare Tony LaMantia, président-directeur général de Waterloo EDC. Cet investissement de FedDev Ontario nous permettra de surpasser nos efforts, notamment en renforçant notre capacité de générer et de cultiver des pistes. Notre équipe axée sur la mission croit vraiment que notre travail a un impact social positif, qu’il renforce notre écosystème et qu’il améliore la vie des gens de notre collectivité. »

Ce projet de collaboration, dans lequel FedDev Ontario a investi 3 millions de dollars, vise à cibler des entreprises étrangères de divers secteurs pour qu’elles participent à 45 missions d’investissement organisées dans la région, avec l’aide de jusqu’à 80 entreprises locales pour les présenter aux investisseurs étrangers et leur ouvrir des possibilités d’exportation. Waterloo EDC a déjà accueilli une délégation d’entreprises de technologie allemandes, les mettant en contact avec diverses entreprises locales en démarrage, et a présenté une grande multinationale automobile à d’autres entreprises locales. De plus, elle a accueilli dans la région de Waterloo une entreprise multinationale en aérospatiale afin de discuter les possibilités d’investissement et de la présenter à cinq entreprises locales possédant des intérêts communs.

De plus, avec l’appui de FedDev Ontario, Waterloo EDC prévoit apporter 40 millions de dollars en nouveaux investissements dans la région, ce qui créera plus de 275 emplois dans le Sud de l’Ontario. L’organisme a déjà connu du succès en aidant Insticator – une entreprise new-yorkaise de publicité numérique – à mettre sur pied un bureau de développement ayant le potentiel de créer 40 nouveaux emplois et d’investir près de 10 millions de dollars d’ici 2023. Enlighted, une entreprise californienne d’Internet des objets appartenant à Siemens, en est un autre exemple : elle a ouvert un centre de R-D dans la région de Waterloo, créant environ 20 nouveaux emplois et investissant 7 millions de dollars au cours des cinq prochaines années. 

De plus, ce projet de collaboration vise à améliorer l’écosystème entrepreneurial de la région en renforçant les relations de travail et les partenariats avec la Ville de Guelph, Toronto Global et la Ville de Hamilton.

« Cet investissement mettra à profit l’importance du corridor Toronto-Waterloo à l’échelle mondiale en tant que grappe d’innovation de premier plan. De concert avec nos partenaires, nous nous sommes engagés à attirer des investissements étrangers directs de grande valeur qui favorisent la prospérité durable non seulement dans nos propres régions, mais dans l’ensemble du Sud de l’Ontario et du Canada », a affirmé M. LaMantia.

FedDev Ontario s’est engagée à travailler avec Waterloo EDC pour réaliser sa vision d’une région de Waterloo enracinée localement, compétitive sur la scène internationale et reconnue mondialement.

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
Cet investissement mettra à profit l’importance du corridor Toronto-Waterloo à l’échelle mondiale en tant que grappe d’innovation de premier plan. De concert avec nos partenaires, nous nous sommes engagés à attirer des investissements étrangers directs de grande valeur qui favorisent la prospérité durable non seulement dans nos propres régions, mais dans l’ensemble du Sud de l’Ontario et du Canada
Tony LaMantia, président-directeur général de Waterloo EDC
Date de modification :