Electronic company now plugged in to North American auto market

Recipient: APAG Elektronik
Region: Windsor
Total funding allocated: $4 million

apag
A circuit board used in electronic components.

APAG Elektronik has deep roots in the automotive market, particularly in Europe. The company is a long-time producer of electronics and ambient lighting components for automotive customers. When the time came to establish its North American headquarters and manufacturing facility, APAG turned its attention to Windsor, Ontario.

With $4 million in support from FedDev Ontario, the Switzerland-based company set up its first North American headquarters in the southwestern Ontario city. The 32,000-square-foot facility incorporates state-of-the-art equipment that is helping the company increase productivity and remain competitive as the demand for its products increase. To meet that increasing demand, the team has grown to over 32 associates, and APAG anticipates creating over 100 jobs in the region.

In addition to helping APAG establish the facility, the funds also leveraged foreign investment of $7.4 million from APAG’s parent company, APAG Holding AG.

Canada’s automotive sector is a powerhouse, with over 500,000 direct and indirect jobs, contributing $18 billion to Canada’s gross domestic product (GDP). This new facility, based strategically at a key trade hub with the U.S. border, will allow the company to take advantage of this strong export market and better support the needs of automotive clients on this side of the Atlantic.

“FedDev Ontario’s support came at a pivotal time in the launch of our North American design and manufacturing location in Windsor,” says Mr. Anand Kanoria, Vice Chair of the Board of Directors and Joint CEO. “The contribution has allowed us to grow to over 32 associates, five production programs with three international customers, two new design programs and several customer visits all within the first eight months of our grand opening in April 2019. The FedDev Ontario support is greatly appreciated.”

As the company scales up, it has also created employment opportunities for people from Windsor as well as other areas of Ontario, including through recruitment of engineering students from the University of Windsor. APAG has been fortunate to expand the hardware and software development teams as well as the supply chain team.

“We are very excited to have APAG invest in Canada, bringing its quality manufacturing capabilities to Canada, and contributing to our economy with new jobs and opportunities for Canadians,” says Sandeep Gupta, General Manager of Future Electronics and one of APAG’s suppliers. “Future Electronics and APAG have enjoyed a strong business relationship in both Switzerland and the Czech Republic since 2006, and we are honoured to expand this world-class relationship in Canada.”

APAG is now equipped to work with and provide tailored products to companies like GM, BMW and Ford, directly from its facility in Windsor.

In addition to automotive electronics, they can also provide electronic manufacturing services to other industries such as industrial, telecommunications and medical. APAG Canada is open for business and the team looks forward to sharing their capabilities with other companies in Ontario, Canada and the U.S.

As the company looks to its future in North America, it plans to expand on its solid footing, creating more opportunities to support the local economy utilizing its state-of-the-art facility, equipment and talent. APAG anticipates benefitting the local supply chain as they source materials from southern Ontario companies.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
FedDev Ontario's support came at a pivotal time in the launch of our North American design and manufacturing location in Windsor.
Anand Kanoria, Vice Chair of the Board of Directors and Joint CEO
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Une entreprise du secteur électronique est maintenant branchée sur le marché nord-américain de l’automobile

Bénéficiaire : APAG Elektronik
Région : Windsor
Total des fonds alloués : 4 millions de dollars

apag
Une carte de circuits imprimés utilisée dans des composants électroniques.

APAG Elektronik a des racines profondes dans le marché automobile, notamment en Europe. L’entreprise fabrique depuis longtemps des composants électroniques et d’éclairage ambiant pour ses clients du secteur de l’automobile. Lorsque le moment est venu d’établir son siège social et son usine de fabrication en Amérique du Nord, APAG s’est tournée vers Windsor, en Ontario.

Avec un soutien de 4 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, l’entreprise suisse a établi son premier siège social en Amérique du Nord dans cette ville du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. L’installation de 32 000 pieds carrés comprend de l’équipement de pointe qui aide l’entreprise à accroître sa productivité et à demeurer concurrentielle à mesure que la demande pour ses produits augmente. Pour répondre à cette demande croissante, l’équipe compte maintenant plus de 32 associés, et APAG prévoit créer plus de 100 emplois dans la région.

Non seulement l’investissement a aidé APAG à mettre en place son installation, mais il lui a aussi permis d’obtenir des investissements étrangers de 7,4 millions de dollars de la société mère d’APAG, APAG Holding AG.

Le secteur canadien de l’automobile est une force vive de notre économie avec plus de 500 000 emplois directs et indirects. Il apporte 18 milliards de dollars au produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada. Cette nouvelle installation, située stratégiquement à un carrefour commercial clé près de la frontière américaine, permettra à l’entreprise de tirer parti de ce marché d’exportation solide et de mieux répondre aux besoins des clients du secteur de l’automobile de ce côté-ci de l’Atlantique.

« Le soutien de FedDev Ontario est arrivé à un moment charnière dans le lancement de notre centre nord-américain de conception et de fabrication à Windsor », a déclaré M. Anand Kanoria, vice-président du conseil d’administration et co-directeur général. « Cette contribution nous a permis d’accueillir plus de 32 associés, cinq programmes de production avec trois clients internationaux, deux nouveaux programmes de conception et plusieurs visites de clients au cours des huit premiers mois depuis notre ouverture officielle en avril 2019. Le soutien de FedDev Ontario est grandement apprécié. »

À mesure que l’entreprise prend de l’expansion, elle crée des possibilités d’emploi pour les gens de Windsor et d’autres régions de l’Ontario, notamment grâce au recrutement d’étudiants en génie de la University of Windsor. APAG a eu la chance d’élargir les équipes de développement du matériel et des logiciels ainsi que l’équipe de la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

« Nous sommes très heureux qu’APAG investisse au Canada, apporte au pays ses capacités de fabrication de qualité et contribue à notre économie en créant des emplois et des débouchés pour les Canadiens », a déclaré Sandeep Gupta, directeur général de Future Electronics et l’un des fournisseurs d’APAG. « Future Electronics et APAG entretiennent de solides relations d’affaires en Suisse et en République tchèque depuis 2006, et nous sommes honorés d’élargir ces relations de calibre mondial au Canada. »

APAG est maintenant équipée pour travailler avec des entreprises comme GM, BMW et Ford, et pour leur fournir des produits sur mesure à partir de ses installations de Windsor.

En plus de l’électronique automobile, l’entreprise peut fournir des services de fabrication électronique à d’autres domaines comme l’industrie, les télécommunications et la médecine. APAG Canada est à l’affût des occasions d’affaires et son équipe a hâte de partager ses capacités avec d’autres entreprises en Ontario, au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Au moment où l’entreprise envisage son avenir en Amérique du Nord, elle prévoit renforcer ses assises déjà solides et créer plus de possibilités pour soutenir l’économie locale en utilisant ses installations, son équipement et ses talents de pointe. APAG s’attend à ce que la chaîne d’approvisionnement locale profite de l’approvisionnement en matériaux auprès des entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario.

 

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
Le soutien de FedDev Ontario est arrivé à un moment charnière dans le lancement de notre centre nord-américain de conception et de fabrication à Windsor.
Anand Kanoria, vice-président du conseil d’administration et co-directeur général
Date de modification :