Fueling Ontario’s automotive supply chain

Recipient: Global Plas
Location: York
Total funding allocated: $2.5 million

Global Plas
Global Plas’ newly expanded facility helps meet increasing client demand for molded plastic auto parts.

For all business owners, there are many factors when considering growing their companies. For Global Plas, a Concord-based manufacturer of plastic parts for automobiles, the right time was obvious. Opportunity knocked for the company in 2017 when contacted by a Tier 1 supplier to one of Canada’s largest vehicle manufacturers, Toyota Canada, to manufacture door and fender parts for the revamped 2019 Toyota RAV4 crossover, assembled in nearby Woodstock, Ontario.   

To meet new client demand for Global Plas’ custom interior, exterior and under-the-hood molded plastic parts, the company undertook a $7-million expansion plan to renovate its newly acquired 71,000-square-foot building, located a few blocks away from its original 55,000-square-foot plant. With help from a $2.5-million investment from FedDev Ontario, the project supported outfitting the larger facility with new production lines, five injection-molding machines, and advanced robotics and automation equipment. This overall expansion will grow the team from 65 to more than 150 employees.

“The ever-changing environment in North America shows that Canadian companies, both large and small, need to push further than they ever have,” says John Hunjan, Director of Finance and Purchasing, Global Plas. “Support from FedDev Ontario shows that we are not alone and can be the leaders in our fields, bringing us into an age of robotic technologies that give us an edge in our industry.”

With added space, expertise, and new technologies, Global Plas can manufacture a higher volume of more complex parts with reduced waste and shorter lead times. As production will have significantly increased, Global Plas is now better positioned to secure contracts from new and existing automotive manufacturing clients. In fact, the company is faced with growing market demand from significant Tier I automotive manufacturers across North America and Japan.

“Global Plas will be adding two additional fully electric machines to our current lineup this year in order to meet growing market demands. We are extremely grateful for our customer base and their trust in us,” says Hunjan.

Global Plas is also proving to be a robust link in Ontario’s automotive supply chain. In addition to buying material locally, the parts manufactured in Global Plas’ new Concord facility are being installed in vehicles assembled here in Ontario!

FedDev Ontario is proud to support Global Plas as it fuels a positive ripple effect for the regional economy and strengthens the value of the automotive plastics industry in Canada.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Support from FedDev Ontario shows that we are not alone and can be the leaders in our fields, bringing us into an age of robotic technologies that give us an edge in our industry.
John Hunjan, Director of Finance and Purchasing, Global Plas
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Alimenter la chaîne d’approvisionnement automobile de l’Ontario

Bénéficiaire : Global Plas
Région : York
Total des fonds alloués : 2,5 millions de dollars

Global Plas
Le nouvel agrandissement des installations de Global Plas aide à répondre aux besoins croissants des clients pour des pièces automobiles moulées en plastique

Pour tous les propriétaires d’entreprise, de nombreux facteurs entrent en ligne de compte lorsqu’il s’agit de faire croître leur entreprise. Pour Global Plas, un fabricant de pièces en plastique pour automobiles de Concord, il était évident que le bon moment était venu. L’entreprise a saisi l’occasion en 2017 lorsqu’elle a été contactée par un fournisseur de niveau un de l’un des plus grands constructeurs automobiles du Canada, Toyota Canada, pour la fabrication de pièces de portières et d’ailes pour le véhicule multisegment Toyota RAV4 2019 remanié, assemblé à Woodstock, en Ontario, tout près de là.

Pour répondre à la demande de nouveaux clients pour des pièces de plastique moulées sur mesure pour l’intérieur, l’extérieur et sous le capot, Global Plas a mis en œuvre un plan d’expansion de 7 millions de dollars pour rénover son immeuble de 71 000 pieds carrés nouvellement acquis, situé à proximité de son usine originale de 55 000 pieds carrés. Grâce à un investissement de 2,5 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, le projet a permis d’équiper la plus grande installation de nouvelles lignes de production, de cinq machines de moulage par injection et d’équipement de robotique et d’automatisation de pointe. Cette expansion fera passer l’équipe de 65 à plus de 150 employés.

« L’environnement en constante évolution en Amérique du Nord montre que les sociétés canadiennes, grandes et petites, doivent aller plus loin qu’elles ne l’ont jamais fait », affirme John Hunjan, directeur des finances et des achats, Global Plas. « L’appui de FedDev Ontario montre que nous ne sommes pas seuls et que nous pouvons être les chefs de file dans nos domaines, ce qui nous fait entrer dans l’ère des technologies robotiques qui nous procurent un avantage dans notre industrie. »

Avec plus d’espace, d’expertise et de nouvelles technologies, Global Plas peut fabriquer un plus grand volume de pièces plus complexes dans des délais plus courts, tout en produisant moins de déchets. Comme la production aura considérablement augmenté, Global Plas est maintenant mieux positionnée pour obtenir des contrats de la part de nouveaux clients et de ses clients actuels du secteur de la fabrication automobile. En fait, l’entreprise est confrontée à la demande croissante du marché de la part d’importants constructeurs automobiles de niveau un en Amérique du Nord et au Japon.

« Global Plas ajoutera, cette année, deux machines supplémentaires complètement électriques à notre gamme actuelle afin de répondre aux demandes croissantes du marché. Nous sommes très reconnaissants envers nous clients de la confiance qu’ils nous témoignent », dit M. Hunjan.

Global Plas se révèle aussi un maillon solide de la chaîne d’approvisionnement automobile de l’Ontario. Non seulement elle achète son matériel localement, mais les pièces fabriquées dans sa nouvelle usine de Concord sont installées dans des véhicules assemblés ici même en Ontario.

FedDev Ontario est fière d’appuyer Global Plas, une entreprise qui produit un effet d’entraînement positif pour l’économie régionale et renforce la valeur de l’industrie des plastiques automobiles au Canada.

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
L’appui de FedDev Ontario montre que nous ne sommes pas seuls et que nous pouvons être les chefs de file dans nos domaines, ce qui nous fait entrer dans l’ère des technologies robotiques qui nous donnent un avantage dans notre industrie.
John Hunjan, directeur des finances et des achats, Global Plas
Date de modification :