Niagara College’s SONAMI projects are stimulating local economies and supporting the innovators of tomorrow

Recipient: Niagara College, Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing and Innovation (SONAMI) Project
Region: Niagara Region
Total funding allocated: $14 million

Businesses across southwestern Ontario now have the equipment and expertise to succeed through the SONAMI project.
Businesses across southwestern Ontario now have the equipment and expertise to succeed through the SONAMI project.

Southern Ontario is a key region for Canada's manufacturing industry, which remains an important driver of the Canadian economy. As the industry continues to evolve, Niagara College's Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing Innovation (SONAMI) is leveraging partnerships and expertise to help create the workforce of the future.

SONAMI is a network of academic institutions that provides small- and medium-sized manufacturers across the region with the expertise and state-of-the-art equipment needed to develop innovative products and services related to advanced manufacturing.

Since FedDev Ontario's initial $7.3-million investment in 2016, SONAMI has worked with 145 businesses to adopt next-generation manufacturing technologies and commercialize more than 144 products, including agri-food equipment that automates the harvesting process and high-powered battery systems that can replace industrial gas and diesel generators. With a growing client base, the network has also expanded to include seven post-secondary institutions—Mohawk, Sheridan, Conestoga, Fanshawe and Lambton Colleges and McMaster University. 

According to Andy Skrepnek, Director of Innovation at voestalpine Rotec Summo Corp. (vRSC), a leading manufacturer of steel tubular components for side and knee airbags for the automotive industry, the support from SONAMI has been invaluable.

"What I was looking to get out of the SONAMI network was the expertise to bring our vision into reality," says Skrepnek. "And that is exactly what happened."

As a result of the advanced drilling processes and cost savings made possible by the McMaster Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI), part of the SONAMI network, vRSC is now one of the largest worldwide suppliers of the inflator bottles, that house compressed gas used for airbag deployment in vehicles.

"Currently 13 million of these bottles are being purchased from Europe, and we are now bringing all the business into Canada," says Skrepnek. "There's nothing like this in the world."

"We don't have the expertise in-house for this specialized research and development, so without McMaster and the support from FedDev Ontario, we would not have the sales we have today," he explains. 

And Skrepnek's story is just one of many. In fact, Niagara College received the 2019 Research Partnership Award from the Canadian Association of Research Administrators (CARA) for the significant impact SONAMI has had on the regional economy.

"SONAMI is not just a network, it is a direct pipeline to state-of-the-market technology and to some of the brightest up-and-coming minds Ontario has to offer," says Dr. Marc Nantel, Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation, Niagara College.

"Colleges and institutes have the equipment and expertise that is reflective of the needs of industry in their region," he says. "By doing applied research, we help companies create new products and services, which then can generate new jobs and wealth."

Recognizing the success of the project in the Niagara region, FedDev Ontario provided an additional $14 million to SONAMI in 2019 to expand its advanced manufacturing capabilities and geographic reach. The network will grow by three members—adding expertise in bio-industrial manufacturing, green product manufacturing and "Industry 4.0" technologies, and will offer support to manufacturers across southwestern Ontario, including London, Sarnia, Middlesex and Lambton Counties.

With this new funding, SONAMI is expected to provide technical expertise to another 240 businesses, while also creating and maintaining 640 permanent jobs and providing training and development to up to 360 students and researchers.

With all of SONAMI's current momentum, it is contributing to creating the right conditions for southern Ontario's manufacturing sector to seize new opportunities, adopt the latest technologies and build skills for the jobs of the future.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Most small businesses do not have the resources to bring their innovative solutions to market. Through the additional funding provided by FedDev Ontario, SONAMI is able to partner with more institutions as we continue to help industry partners compete on a global stage.
Dr. Marc Nantel, Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation, Niagara College
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Les projets SONAMI du Niagara College stimulent les économies locales et soutiennent les innovateurs de demain

Bénéficiaire : Niagara College, Projet Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing and Innovation (SONAMI)
Région : Niagara
Total des fonds alloués : 14 millions de dollars

Les entreprises du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario disposent maintenant de l’équipement et de l’expertise nécessaires pour réussir grâce au projet SONAMI.
Les entreprises du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario disposent maintenant de l’équipement et de l’expertise nécessaires pour réussir grâce au projet SONAMI.

Le Sud de l’Ontario est une région clé pour l’industrie manufacturière du Canada, qui demeure un important moteur de l’économie canadienne. L’industrie continue d’évoluer et le Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing Innovation (SONAMI) du Niagara College mise sur les partenariats et l’expertise pour aider à créer la main-d’œuvre de l’avenir.

SONAMI est un réseau d’établissements d’enseignement qui fournit aux petits et moyens fabricants de la région l’expertise et l’équipement de pointe dont ils ont besoin pour mettre au point des produits et des services novateurs liés à la fabrication de pointe.

Depuis l’investissement initial de 7,3 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario en 2016, SONAMI a travaillé avec 145 entreprises pour les aider à adopter des technologies de fabrication de prochaine génération et commercialiser plus de 144 produits, y compris de l’équipement agroalimentaire qui automatise le processus de récolte, et des systèmes de batteries de haute puissance qui peuvent remplacer les génératrices industrielles au gaz et au diesel. Avec une clientèle croissante, le réseau s’est également élargi pour inclure sept établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire – les collèges Mohawk, Sheridan, Conestoga, Fanshawe et Lambton, et  McMaster University. 

Selon Andy Skrepnek, directeur de l’innovation chez voestalpine Rotec Summo Corp. (vRSC), important fabricant de composantes tubulaires en acier pour les coussins gonflables latéraux et pour les genoux pour l’industrie automobile, le soutien de SONAMI a été inestimable.

« Ce que je cherchais à retirer du réseau SONAMI, c’était l’expertise nécessaire pour concrétiser notre vision », dit Skrepnek. « Et c’est exactement ce qui s’est produit. »

Grâce aux procédés de perçage avancés et aux économies rendues possibles par le McMaster Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI), qui fait partie du réseau SONAMI, vRSC est maintenant l’un des plus importants fournisseurs mondiaux de bouteilles de gonflage qui contiennent de gaz comprimé servant au déploiement du coussin gonflable dans les véhicules.

« À l’heure actuelle, 13 millions de ces bouteilles sont achetées en Europe, et nous ramenons tout ce marché au Canada », déclare M. Skrepnek. « Il n’y a rien de tel dans le monde. »

« Nous n’avons pas l’expertise à l’interne pour mener ces activités de recherche et de développement. Sans McMaster et le soutien de FedDev Ontario, nous n’aurions pas le chiffre d’affaires que nous avons aujourd’hui », explique-t-il. 

Et l’histoire de Skrepnek n’est qu’un exemple parmi tant d’autres. En fait, le Niagara College a reçu le Prix de partenariat de recherche 2019 de l’Association canadienne des administratrices et des administrateurs de recherche (ACAAR) pour l’impact important que SONAMI a eu sur l’économie régionale.

« SONAMI n’est pas seulement un réseau, c’est un pipeline direct de technologies de pointe du marché et vers certains des esprits les plus brillants que l’Ontario a à offrir », déclare Marc Nantel, vice-président associé, Recherche et Innovation, Niagara College.

« Les collèges et les instituts possèdent l’équipement et l’expertise qui reflètent les besoins de l’industrie dans leur région », dit-il. « En faisant de la recherche appliquée, nous aidons les entreprises à créer de nouveaux produits et services qui peuvent ensuite créer de nouveaux emplois et de la richesse. »

Constatant le succès du projet dans la région de Niagara, FedDev Ontario a fourni 14 millions de dollars supplémentaires à SONAMI en 2019 pour accroître ses capacités de fabrication de pointe et sa portée géographique. Le réseau s’enrichira de trois nouveaux membres, ce qui permettra d’ajouter de l’expertise dans la fabrication de bioproduits, la fabrication de produits écologiques et les technologies « Industrie 4.0 », et d’offrir du soutien aux fabricants du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario, y compris de London, Sarnia, et des comtés de Middlesex et de Lambton.

Grâce à ce nouveau financement, SONAMI devrait fournir une expertise technique à 240 autres entreprises, tout en créant et en maintenant 640 emplois permanents et en offrant de la formation et du perfectionnement à jusqu’à 360 étudiants et chercheurs.

Avec l’élan actuel de SONAMI, tout cela contribue à créer les conditions propices pour que le secteur manufacturier du Sud de l’Ontario puisse saisir de nouvelles occasions, adopter les technologies les plus récentes et acquérir des compétences pour les emplois de l’avenir.

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
La plupart des petites entreprises n’ont pas les ressources nécessaires pour commercialiser leurs solutions novatrices. Grâce au financement supplémentaire fourni par FedDev Ontario, SONAMI est en mesure de s’associer avec un plus grand nombre d’établissements alors que nous continuons d’aider les partenaires de l’industrie à soutenir la concurrence sur la scène mondiale.
Marc Nantel, vice-président associé, Recherche et innovation, Niagara College
Date de modification :