Nicoya is improving human lives by helping scientists to succeed

Recipient: Nicoya
Region: Waterloo
Total funding allocated: $2.57 million

Scientist uses the Nicoya OpenSPR-2 instrument to analyze protein interactions
Scientist uses the Nicoya OpenSPR-2™ instrument to analyze protein interactions

Around the world, millions of researchers work relentlessly to better understand the inner workings of diseases in order to develop next the generation of drugs to treat them. That critical work would not be possible without the right tools and cutting-edge technology. That is where Nicoya, a biotechnology company based in Kitchener, Ontario, comes in.

By using innovative nanotechnology, Nicoya has created an affordable, easy-to-use, and low-maintenance surface plasmon resonance (SPR) instrument, a device that measures the interactions between molecules—an essential tool for the development of new drugs to treat diseases. Nicoya's OpenSPR™ is the world's only benchtop SPR, replacing traditionally expensive, high-maintenance and complex devices. For scientists, the OpenSPR™ makes it possible to use a high performing instrument to measure accurate data from the comfort of their own lab—saving time, money and energy. In fact, more than 600 scientists in more than 40 countries currently use OpenSPR™ and are trained and equipped to service and maintain their own devices.

In its pursuit to make critical lab instruments and technology more accessible to scientists, Nicoya sought FedDev Ontario support at a vital time of growth for the company. Thanks to a FedDev Ontario investment of up to $2.57 million, Nicoya is scaling up its operations, growing its team from 21 to 50 with the addition of 29 new employees, and further developing its first-to-market product, OpenSPR™, for the biotechnology and pharmaceutical sectors.

"Thanks to support from FedDev Ontario, we can keep pushing to be a global leader in biotechnology by investing in research and development to address the needs of our customers," says Ryan Denomme, Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, Nicoya. "It really allows us to stay competitive in global markets long term."

Founded in 2012 as a start-up spun out of the University of Waterloo, Nicoya received its first funding support from FedDev Ontario through a former program geared towards scientists and engineers in business, which the company credits as instrumental to its launch. Early success in business can be attributed to some of the most innovative academic researchers in North America using OpenSPR™ in their daily lab work, including scientists at the University of Waterloo, University of Toronto, John Hopkins University, Yale University and Columbia University, to name a few. In fact, Dr. George Espie from the University of Toronto credits Nicoya's benchtop OpenSPR™ in helping him to accelerate his ground-breaking biochemical research and publish within three months.

"We are thrilled that FedDev Ontario has been able to support the growth of Nicoya from inception to scale-up," says Denomme. "These investments allow us to continue to build out a world-class team that will drive growth into new markets globally. For us, FedDev Ontario's collaboration on the evolution of OpenSPR™ has enabled us to continue on our path of developing highly innovative solutions for researchers. It's with this support that we will continuously invent novel technologies to accelerate drug discovery and cure diseases."

Last year, Nicoya launched a new version of its product, the OpenSPR-2™. This novel SPR system builds on established success in the academic research market, while allowing the company to meet the needs of the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries. And this is just the beginning. With FedDev Ontario's support, Nicoya can continue to provide leading industry scientists with access to affordable, easy-to-use, high-quality instruments that will serve to accelerate the development of breakthrough drugs used to treat many of the world's harmful diseases.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS Feeds
Thanks to support from FedDev Ontario, we can keep pushing to be a global leader in biotechnology by investing in research and development to address the needs of our customers.
Ryan Denomme, Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, Nicoya
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Nicoya améliore des vies humaines en aidant les scientifiques à réussir

Bénéficiaire : Nicoya
Région : Waterloo
Total du financement alloué : 2,57 millions de dollars

Une scientifique utilise l’instrument Nicoya OpenSPR-2 pour analyser des interactions entre protéines
Une scientifique utilise l’instrument Nicoya OpenSPR-2™ pour analyser des interactions entre protéines

Partout dans le monde, des millions de chercheurs travaillent sans cesse pour mieux comprendre le fonctionnement interne des maladies afin de créer la prochaine génération de médicaments pour les traiter. Ce travail essentiel ne serait pas possible sans les outils pertinents et la technologie de pointe. C’est là que Nicoya (en anglais seulement), entreprise de biotechnologie établie à Kitchener en Ontario, entre en ligne de compte.

Au moyen de la nanotechnologie innovatrice, Nicoya a créé un instrument de détection par résonance plasmonique de surface (DRPS) abordable, convivial et facile d’entretien qui mesure les interactions entre molécules : un outil essentiel à la mise au point de médicaments pour traiter les maladies. Le OpenSPRMC de Nicoya est le seul DRPS de table au monde et il remplace des appareils habituellement dispendieux, nécessitant un entretien important et complexes. Le OpenSPRMC permet aux scientifiques d’utiliser un instrument de haute performance pour mesurer des données précises dans le confort de leur propre laboratoire, sauvant ainsi du temps, de l’argent et de l’énergie. En fait, plus de 600 scientifiques dans plus de 40 pays utilisent actuellement le OpenSPRMC, et sont formés et équipés pour entretenir et réparer leurs propres appareils.

Dans sa quête de rendre plus accessibles les instruments de laboratoire essentiels et la technologie aux scientifiques, Nicoya a sollicité l’appui de FedDev Ontario pendant une période cruciale de la croissance de l’entreprise. Grâce à l’investissement de FedDev Ontario allant jusqu’à 2,57 millions de dollars, Nicoya intensifie ses activités en agrandissant son équipe de 21 à 50 avec l’ajout de 29 employés et en poursuivant l’élaboration de son produit novateur, OpenSPRMC, pour les secteurs de la biotechnologie et de la pharmaceutique.

« Grâce à l’appui de FedDev Ontario, nous pouvons continuer à maintenir nos efforts pour être un chef de file mondial en biotechnologie en investissant dans la recherche et le développement pour répondre aux besoins de nos clients, affirme Ryan Denomme, cofondateur et chef de la direction de Nicoya. Cela nous permet de demeurer concurrentiels sur les marchés mondiaux à long terme. »

Fondé en 2012 en tant qu’entreprise en démarrage dérivée de l’Université de Waterloo, Nicoya a reçu sa première aide financière de FedDev Ontario par l’entremise d’un ancien programme qui s’adressait aux scientifiques et aux ingénieurs en affaires, que l’entreprise reconnaît comme la raison du succès de son lancement. Les premiers succès en affaires peuvent être attribués à l’utilisation du OpenSPRMC par certains chercheurs universitaires parmi les plus novateurs de l’Amérique du Nord dans leur travail de laboratoire quotidien, y compris des scientifiques de l’Université de Waterloo, de l’Université de Toronto, de John Hopkins University, de Yale University et de Columbia University, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. En fait, le Dr George Espie de l’Université de Toronto reconnaît que le OpenSPRMC de table l’a aidé à accélérer ses recherches biochimiques novatrices et publier (en anglais seulement) dans les trois mois suivants.

« Nous sommes ravis que FedDev Ontario ait pu appuyer la croissance de Nicoya de sa création jusqu’à son expansion, affirme M. Denomme. Ces investissements nous permettent de continuer à développer une équipe de calibre mondial qui stimulera la croissance pour pénétrer de nouveaux marchés à l’échelle mondiale. Notre collaboration avec FedDev Ontario pour l’évolution du OpenSPRMC nous a permis de poursuivre sur notre voie vers l’élaboration de solutions hautement novatrices pour les chercheurs. C’est grâce à cet appui que nous continuerons d’inventer des technologies nouvelles pour accélérer la découverte de médicaments et pour guérir les maladies. »

L’année dernière, Nicoya a lancé une nouvelle version de son produit, le OpenSPR-2MC. Ce système de DRPS novateur est la continuité du succès établi sur le marché de la recherche universitaire, tout en permettant à l’entreprise de répondre aux besoins des industries de la biotechnologie et de la pharmaceutique. Et ce n’est que le début. Avec l’appui de FedDev Ontario, Nicoya peut continuer à offrir aux scientifiques réputés de l’industrie un accès à des instruments abordables, faciles à utiliser et de haute qualité qui accéléreront la mise au point de médicaments novateurs utilisés pour traiter plusieurs maladies dangereuses dans le monde.

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
Grâce à l’appui de FedDev Ontario, nous pouvons continuer maintenir nos efforts pour être un chef de file mondial en biotechnologie en investissant dans la recherche et le développement pour répondre aux besoins de nos clients.
Ryan Denomme, cofondateur et chef de la direction de Nicoya
Date de modification :