Language selection

Search

Deep Trekker takes exploratory spirit and underwater tech to new places around the world

Recipient: Deep Trekker Inc.
Region: Kitchener
Total funding allocated: $100,000

Deep Trekker

Imagine being able to navigate through the depths of lakes and oceans, uncover lost items or take deep dives to conduct research using only a small, portable robot or drone. Deep Trekker is making this easier, more accessible and affordable, through the development of groundbreaking underwater technology. 

Deep Trekker’s founder and president, Sam Macdonald, along with partners Jeff Lotz and Shawn Pette, started the Kitchener-based company with a mission to make underwater adventure and exploration easier.  What sets Deep Trekker apart from other companies is its strong focus on portability, user-friendliness and cost-effectiveness.

Deep Trekker has developed products and solutions for all kinds of missions – from helping researchers track how great white sharks hunt in deep waters off the coast of Guadalupe Island to supporting the removal of lost fishing gear that threatens the safety of fish and other marine animals. Deep Trekker also produces the most widely used fish farming inspection robot in the world, with two of the world’s largest salmon producers using Deep Trekkers ROVs for their net and mooring inspections.

Since its inception in 2010, the company has expanded to offer its innovative, affordable solutions to environmental and industrial clients. Its underwater robot and subsurface surveillance cameras now service several industries across 80 countries, including aquaculture, municipal contracting, military, search and rescue, shipping and infrastructure.

Deep Trekker’s products include five robot lines with two remotely operated underwater vehicles (ROVs), two submersible crawler systems and subsurface surveillance cameras. The company has earned recognition for its innovation in ROVs. In 2017, Deep Trekker won the Abbott Most Innovative Product Award from the North American Society for Trenchless Technology for their DT-430 Pipe Crawler

Deep Trekker robots have also become the product of choice in many national and international search and exploration missions, including the famed 1845 Franklin expedition shipwrecks (HMS Terror and HMS Erebus), the USS Arizona shipwreck and Belize’s Great Blue Hole.

True to its mission, Deep Trekker’s durable, innovative and affordable products make tough tasks easy. The company has garnered attention for its range of products and services.  Deep Trekker President, Sam Macdonald was featured in The Fish Site’s Women of Agriculture series, where she was recognized for her work in supporting the field of Aquaculture.

Recognizing their growing success, in 2019, FedDev Ontario contributed $100,000 to support Deep Trekker to expand to new international markets and create seven jobs. The company opened a new office in Puerto Montt, Los Lagos, Chile in May 2019.

With this funding, the company is bringing its technology to new countries and emerging markets in New Zealand, Australia, Latin America and the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) region in the Middle East, all while continuing to market its innovative products in Canada. 

Stay Connected

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS Feeds
At Deep Trekker it is our mission to make tough tasks, easy. By providing solutions for every mission, we empower and enable our users. The funding from FedDev Ontario has allowed us to continue to share our innovations on a global level.
Sam Macdonald, Founder & President, Deep Trekker
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Deep Trekker transporte l’esprit d’exploration et la technologie sous-marine dans de nouveaux endroits partout sur la planète

Destinataire : Deep Trekker Inc.
Région : Kitchener
Total des fonds alloués : 100 000 $

Deep Trekker

Imaginez pouvoir naviguer dans les profondeurs des lacs et des océans, découvrir des objets perdus ou plonger en profondeur pour mener des recherches en utilisant seulement un petit robot ou un drone portable. Deep Trekker rend tout cela plus facile, plus accessible et plus abordable, grâce au développement d’une technologie sous-marine révolutionnaire.

La fondatrice et présidente de Deep Trekker, Sam Macdonald, ainsi que ses partenaires Jeff Lotz et Shawn Pette, ont établi la société de Kitchener en se donnant pour mission de faciliter l’aventure et l’exploration sous-marines. Ce qui distingue Deep Trekker des autres entreprises, c’est l’accent mis sur la portabilité, la convivialité et la rentabilité.

Deep Trekker a mis au point des produits et des solutions pour toutes sortes de missions, de l’aide aux chercheurs pour suivre les méthodes de chasse des grands requins blancs dans les eaux profondes au large de l’île de Guadalupe à l’aide au retrait des apparaux de pêche perdus qui menacent la sécurité des poissons et autres animaux marins. Deep Trekker produit également le robot d’inspection de pisciculture le plus utilisé au monde. Deux des plus grands producteurs de saumon au monde utilisent les ROV Deep Trekker pour l’inspection de leurs filets et amarres.

Depuis sa création en 2010, l’entreprise a pris de l’expansion pour offrir ses solutions innovantes et abordables aux clients environnementaux et industriels. Ses robots sous-marins et ses caméras de surveillance souterraine sont désormais utilisés par plusieurs industries dans 80 pays, notamment l’aquaculture, les activités municipales effectuées par des sous-traitants, l’armée, la recherche et le sauvetage, le transport maritime et les infrastructures.

Les produits de Deep Trekker comprennent cinq gammes de robots avec deux véhicules sous-marins télécommandés (ROV), deux systèmes submersibles à chenilles et des caméras de surveillance souterraine. L’entreprise a été reconnue pour son innovation dans le domaine des ROV. En 2017, Deep Trekker a remporté le prix Abbott du produit le plus innovant décerné par la North American Society for Trenchless Technology pour son système à chenilles DT-430 Pipe Crawler.

Les robots Deep Trekker sont également devenus le produit de choix dans de nombreuses missions nationales et internationales de recherche et d’exploration, notamment les célèbres épaves de l’expédition Franklin de 1845 (HMS Terror et HMS Erebus), l’épave du USS Arizona et le Great Blue Hole au Bélize.

Fidèles à leur mission, les produits durables, innovants et abordables de Deep Trekker facilitent les tâches difficiles. L’entreprise a attiré l’attention sur sa gamme de produits et de services. La présidente de Deep Trekker, Sam Macdonald, a été présentée dans la série « Women of Agriculture » de The Fish Site, où elle a été reconnue pour son travail dans le domaine de l’aquaculture.

En 2019, FedDev Ontario a reconnu ce succès croissant et versé une contribution de 100 000 $ pour aider Deep Trekker à prendre de l’expansion vers de nouveaux marchés internationaux, créant ainsi sept nouveaux emplois. L’entreprise a ouvert un nouveau bureau à Puerto Montt, Los Lagos, au Chili, en mai 2019.

Grâce à ce financement, l’entreprise apporte sa technologie à de nouveaux pays et marchés émergents en Nouvelle-Zélande, en Australie, en Amérique latine et dans la région du Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG) au Moyen-Orient, tout en continuant à commercialiser ses produits innovants au Canada.

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
Chez Deep Trekker, notre mission est de rendre les tâches difficiles faciles. En fournissant des solutions pour chaque mission, nous donnons à nos utilisateurs les moyens d’agir. Le financement de FedDev Ontario nous a permis de continuer à partager nos innovations au niveau mondial.
Sam Macdonald, fondatrice et présidente, Deep Trekker
Date de modification :