Language selection

Search

Where art and agriculture collide

Recipient: Popsilos Inc.
Region: Prescott-Russell
Total funding allocated: $100,000

Popsilos

If you find yourself in the United Counties of Prescott-Russell with a few hours to spare, allow us to suggest a road trip. The drive will fill your senses with the richness of an area that not only attracts bird-watchers, fishing enthusiasts and nature lovers. You will also see farms that have been in families for generations. The silos on these farms captured the imagination of Jen Larocque and Mat Mault, envisioning the transformation of these structures into 20 by 60 foot urban murals depicting the essence of this rural, mainly Francophone and proudly Canadian community. This touristic circuit is Popsilos.

Popsilos began in 2017 as part of the Canada 150 celebrations. Inspired by Kelburn Castle in Scotland   that has a full facade covered in graffiti art, Popsilos turned the spotlight on Prescott-Russell’s agricultural heritage. Five farms loaned their silos to Popsilos who created stunning, larger-than-life murals, each based on a particular theme: unity, the environment, diversity, youth and vulnerability. The self-directed Popsilos circuit immersed visitors in an outdoor, sensorial art gallery combined with agri-food tourism, with local producers’ and artisans’ shops open along the way.

After the first season, the numbers started to come in: more than 6,000 circuit visitors; 54,000 unique visitors to the website; 12 cultural workshops; 14 partners; a 50 percent increase in sales from one producer and the opportunity to quadruple sales in others. Two additional culinary tourism locations – Beau’s All-Natural Brewing and the St-Albert Cheese Co-op – joined the circuit as food and beverage stops where Popsilos curated additional 8 by 8 foot murals to represent the partnerships. It was clear that the more stops along the circuit, the greater the economic impact. 

When the Canadian Experience Fund (CEF) was introduced in 2019, Popsilos saw an opportunity to expand not only the number of silos on the circuit, but also the connections between urban art, rural agriculture and the awareness of Franco-Ontarian culture. The $100,000-CEF contribution was used to produce two new silos in Casselman and Alfred.

“Popsilos is grateful for the Canadian Experiences Fund contribution that has allowed artistic, agricultural and traditional heritages to shine in the rural region of Prescott-Russell. People from all walks of life and communities can gain an appreciation for urban art and rural life, with benefits reaching local producers and artisans through increased visibility and business. By supporting Popsilos, the government is monumentalizing an important part of Canadian culture,” says Jennifer Larocque, Creator and Director of Popsilos, Inc.

While the economic growth in this agricultural community resulting from the Popsilos circuit is significant, the synergies from the unexpected union of art and agriculture add to the visceral experience that will not be forgotten quickly. “Through meaningful exchanges between farmers and artists, the worlds of agriculture and art collide to create memorable experiences captured in monumental pieces of art that also reveal a truth: we are more alike than we know. We work together to create powerful messages that celebrate agriculture and give way to artistic interpretations. It’s a creative way to bring to life themes that speak not only to the rural farming community, but to all.”

Stay Connected

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS Feeds
Popsilos is grateful for the Canadian Experiences Fund contribution that has allowed artistic, agricultural and traditional heritages to shine in the rural region of Prescott-Russell.
Jennifer Larocque, Creator and Director of Popsilos, Inc.
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Où l’art et l’agriculture se rencontrent

Bénéficiaire : Popsilos Inc.
Région : Prescott-Russell
Total des fonds alloués : 100 000 $

Popsilos

Si vous vous trouvez dans les Comtés unis de Prescott-Russell avec quelques heures à votre disposition, permettez-nous de vous suggérer une belle balade en voiture. Le trajet vous fera profiter de la richesse d’une région qui attire non seulement les ornithologues amateurs, mais aussi les amateurs de pêche et les amoureux de la nature. Vous verrez aussi des fermes qui sont exploitées par les mêmes familles depuis des générations. Les silos de ces fermes ont capté l’imagination de Jen Larocque et de Mat Mault, qui ont pensé à transformer ces structures en murales urbaines de 20 pieds sur 60 pieds représentant l’essence de cette communauté rurale, principalement francophone et fièrement canadienne. Ce circuit touristique s’appelle Popsilos.

Les popsilos ont vu le jour en 2017 dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada. Inspirés par le château de Kelburn, en Écosse, dont la façade est entièrement recouverte de graffitis, les instigateurs de Popsilos ont braqué les projecteurs sur le patrimoine agricole de Prescott-Russell. Cinq fermes ont prêté leurs silos aux artistes de Popsilos qui ont créé des murales plus grandes que nature, chacune basée sur un thème particulier, l’unité, l’environnement, la diversité, la jeunesse et la vulnérabilité. Le circuit auto-interprété de Popsilos a plongé les visiteurs dans une galerie d’art sensoriel en plein air, combinée au tourisme agroalimentaire, avec des boutiques de producteurs et d’artisans locaux ouvertes tout le long du parcours.

Après la première saison, on a commencé à recevoir plus de 6 000 visiteurs du circuit, 54 000 visiteurs uniques sur le site Web, 12 ateliers culturels, 14 partenaires, une augmentation de 50 % des ventes d’un producteur et la possibilité de quadrupler les ventes d’autres producteurs. Deux autres sites de tourisme culinaire – Beau’s All-Natural Brewing et la fromagerie St-Albert Cheese Co-op – se sont joints au circuit comme haltes pour la nourriture et les boissons où Popsilos a créé des murales supplémentaires de 8 pieds sur 8 pieds pour représenter les partenariats. Il était clair que plus le nombre d’arrêts le long du circuit serait important, plus l’impact économique serait grand.

Lorsque le Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes (FEC) a été créé en 2019, Popsilos a vu une occasion d’accroître non seulement le nombre de silos dans le circuit, mais aussi les liens entre l’art urbain, l’agriculture rurale et la sensibilisation à la culture franco-ontarienne. La contribution de 100 000 $ au titre du FEC a servi à produire deux nouvelles murales de silos à Casselman et à Alfred.

« L’organisation Popsilos est reconnaissante pour la contribution reçue au titre du Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes qui a permis à des éléments des patrimoines artistiques, agricoles et traditionnels de rayonner dans la région rurale de Prescott-Russell. Les gens de tous les milieux et de toutes les communautés peuvent apprécier l’art urbain et la vie rurale, et les producteurs et les artisans locaux en profitent grâce à une visibilité accrue et à l’augmentation de leurs affaires. En appuyant Popsilos, le gouvernement monumentalise une partie importante de la culture canadienne », affirme Jennifer Larocque, créatrice et directrice de Popsilos Inc.

Bien que la croissance économique de cette communauté agricole résultant du circuit de Popsilos soit importante, les synergies de l’union inattendue de l’art et de l’agriculture ajoutent à une expérience viscérale qui ne sera pas oubliée de sitôt. « Grâce à des échanges significatifs entre agriculteurs et artistes, les mondes de l’agriculture et de l’art s’entrechoquent pour créer des expériences mémorables dont témoignent ces œuvres d’art monumentales qui révèlent aussi une vérité : nous nous ressemblons plus que nous le pensons. Nous travaillons ensemble pour créer des messages puissants qui célèbrent l’agriculture et font place à des interprétations artistiques. C’est une façon créative de donner vie à des thèmes qui parlent non seulement à la communauté agricole rurale, mais à tous. »

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
L'organisation Popsilos est reconnaissante pour la contribution reçue au titre du Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes qui a permis à des éléments des patrimoines artistiques, agricoles et traditionnels de rayonner dans la région rurale de Prescott-Russell.
Jennifer Larocque, créatrice et directrice de Popsilos Inc.
Date de modification :