Language selection

Search

La Cité Collégiale and La Factorie Desjardins: Inspiration, Innovation and Implementation

Recipient: La Cité Collégiale
Region: Ottawa
Most recent funding allocated: $3.21 million

Charles Cuerrier, CEO and founder of Spiderwort Inc. and Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers, manager of the Entrepreneurship Unit in the TAC-B laboratory
Charles Cuerrier, CEO and founder of Spiderwort Inc. and Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers, manager of the Entrepreneurship Unit in the TAC-B laboratory.

Official language minority communities (OLMCs) in Ontario represent the largest Francophone population in Canada outside Quebec, and are home to more than 75 percent of Ontario’s total Francophone population. Ottawa-based La Cité Collégiale (La Cité), the largest Canadian French-language college of applied research and technology outside of Québec, recognizes that the success and growth of OLMCs is vital to the economic fabric of this province and to Canada as a whole.

With the goal of offering French business support services for Francophone entrepreneurs and businesses, La Cité established La Factorie Desjardins (La Factorie), an entrepreneurial and growth accelerator on its Ottawa campus as a part of its Entrepreneurship Unit. As entrepreneurs begin their journey of product development at La Factorie, they are immersed in an environment with the experience and knowledge from professors and sector experts, fresh creativity from students and the necessary specialized equipment to pull everything together. Entrepreneurs have direct involvement at each stage of development so they can see their project evolve and are empowered every step of the way.

Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers, manager of the Entrepreneurship Unit said, “Intersectoral collaboration is an added value at La Cité, which allows for the offering of innovative solutions to our business partners. We have developed an effective and unique approach in Ontario, thanks to the expertise of our network of consultants who are aware of the needs of Francophone companies and provide them tailored services. At La Cité, we are proud to be able to contribute to the economic competitiveness of Francophone businesses in Ontario and to support them in the development of new markets.”

The Entrepreneurship Unit in La Factorie Desjardins
The Entrepreneurship Unit in La Factorie Desjardins.

La Cité is expanding the entrepreneurial programming at La Factorie with $1.35 million in support from FedDev Ontario. Building on a previous investment of nearly $1.86 million, this support addresses the growing need to pave the way for inclusive growth and inclusive recovery in OLMCs across southern Ontario and to continue to open new paths forward for Francophone entrepreneurs.

To support the entrepreneurial goals of Francophone women, La Cité breaks down the obstacles that women face when starting a new business. After assessing their existing business skills, La Cité then creates tailored learning activities to help participants develop the skills they need for success. Discussion groups provide mentoring opportunities as new entrepreneurs meet with successful businesswomen to discuss issues and find solutions.

La Cité is also addressing the challenges faced by newcomers to Canada in becoming part of the economic landscape of Francophone communities. Through discussions and workshops in cultural diversity with 12 established Canadian business owners and 20 immigrant start-up entrepreneurs, peers get the opportunity to learn more about each other’s cultures, experiences and realities to form strong working relationships based on understanding and respect.

La Cité is also focused on innovation in key sectors. Its Technology Access Centre in Bio-Innovation (TAC-B) leverages industry experts and students specializing in biotechnology to support product development and new market opportunities for innovative products and services in the areas of bio-innovation, intelligent prototyping and agri-food. The result is the growth of businesses, development of new technologies, and promoting a highly-skilled workforce.

For instance, Spiderwort Inc., a manufacturer of biomaterials for regenerative medicine, benefited from the support of La Cité’s TAC-B and the collaboration space at La Factorie. With access to highly qualified personnel, specialized equipment and business mentoring, Spiderwort was able to make significant advances with its innovative plant-based biomaterials that promote the repair and regeneration of living tissues, including the spinal cord. Charles M. Cuerrier, CEO and founder of Spiderwort, said, “We are very pleased with our collaboration with La Cité College. The office space at the business accelerator and the specialized labs at the Bio-Innovation Technology Access Center allowed us to accelerate the development of our technology."

To date, La Cité has exceeded its project targets and expectations, with support going out to 350 small- and medium-sized enterprises, including 150 women-led businesses, 100 youth entrepreneurs and 50 businesses led by new immigrants in Francophone communities. FedDev Ontario and La Cité are bringing meaningful business opportunities to OLMCs in southern Ontario and the region’s economic landscape is stronger through this diversity.

Stay Connected

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS Feeds
At La Cité, we are proud to be able to contribute to the economic competitiveness of Francophone businesses in Ontario and to support them in the development of new markets. - Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers,
Manager, Entrepreneurship Unit
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

La Cité Collégiale et La Factorie Desjardins : inspiration, innovation et mise en œuvre

Bénéficiaire : La Cité Collégiale
Région : Ottawa
Financement total attribué : 3,21 millions de dollars

Charles Cuerrier, PDG de l’entreprise Spiderwort Inc. et Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers, Gestionnaire de l’Unité Entrepreneuriale dans le laboratoire du CAT -B.
Charles Cuerrier, PDG de l’entreprise Spiderwort Inc. et Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers, Gestionnaire de l’Unité Entrepreneuriale dans le laboratoire du CAT -B.

Les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) de l’Ontario représentent la plus grande population francophone du Canada à l’extérieur du Québec et comptent plus de 75 pour cent de la population francophone totale de l’Ontario. Établie à Ottawa, La Cité Collégiale (La Cité), le plus grand collège canadien de recherche appliquée et de technologie de langue française à l’extérieur du Québec, reconnaît que le succès et la croissance des CLOSM sont essentiels à la santé du tissu économique de cette province et de l’ensemble du Canada.

Dans le but d’offrir des services de soutien aux entreprises francophones, La Cité a mis sur pied La Factorie Desjardins (La Factorie), un accélérateur d’entrepreneuriat et de croissance sur son campus d’Ottawa, dans le cadre de son Centre d’entrepreneuriat. Au moment où les entrepreneurs commencent leur parcours de développement de produits à La Factorie, ils sont plongés dans un environnement où ils peuvent compter sur l’expérience et les connaissances de professeurs et d’experts du secteur, la créativité des étudiants et l’équipement spécialisé nécessaire pour synthétiser leurs connaissances. Les entrepreneurs participent directement à chaque étape du développement afin de voir leur projet évoluer et être habilités à chaque étape du processus.

Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers, directrice du Centre d’entrepreneuriat, a déclaré : « La collaboration intersectorielle est une valeur ajoutée à La Cité, qui permet d’offrir des solutions innovantes à nos partenaires d’affaires. Nous avons développé une approche efficace et unique en Ontario, grâce au savoir-faire de notre réseau de consultants qui connaissent les besoins des entreprises francophones et leur offrent des services adaptés. À La Cité, nous sommes fiers de pouvoir contribuer à la compétitivité économique des entreprises francophones en Ontario et de les appuyer dans le développement de nouveaux marchés. »

L'Unité Entrepreneuriale dans l’espace La Factorie
L'Unité Entrepreneuriale dans l’espace La Factorie.

La Cité élargit le programme d’entrepreneuriat de La Factorie grâce à un soutien de 1,35 million de dollars de FedDev Ontario. S’appuyant sur un investissement précédent de près de 1,86 million de dollars, ce soutien répond au besoin croissant de faciliter une croissance inclusive et une relance inclusive dans les CLOSM du Sud de l’Ontario et de continuer à ouvrir de nouvelles voies aux entrepreneurs francophones.

Pour soutenir les objectifs entrepreneuriaux des femmes francophones, La Cité élimine les obstacles auxquels les femmes font face lorsqu’elles démarrent une nouvelle entreprise. Après avoir évalué leurs compétences en affaires, La Cité crée des activités d’apprentissage sur mesure pour aider les participantes à acquérir les compétences dont elles ont besoin pour réussir. Les groupes de discussion offrent des occasions de mentorat lorsque de nouvelles entrepreneures rencontrent des femmes d’affaires prospères pour discuter de problèmes et trouver des solutions.

La Cité s’attaque également aux défis que doivent relever les nouveaux arrivants au Canada pour s’intégrer au paysage économique des communautés francophones. Grâce à des discussions et à des ateliers sur la diversité culturelle avec 12 propriétaires d’entreprise canadiens établis et 20 immigrants qui possèdent des entreprises en démarrage, les pairs ont l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur les cultures de chacun, leurs expériences et leurs réalités pour établir de solides relations de travail fondées sur la compréhension et le respect.

La Cité se concentre aussi sur l’innovation dans des secteurs clés. Son Centre d’accès à la technologie en bio-innovation (CAT-B) met à contribution des experts de l’industrie et des étudiants spécialisés en biotechnologie pour appuyer le développement de produits et de nouveaux débouchés commerciaux pour des produits et services novateurs dans les domaines de la bio-innovation, du prototypage intelligent et de l’agroalimentaire. Il favorise la croissance des entreprises, le développement de nouvelles technologies et la promotion d’une main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée.

Par exemple, Spiderwort Inc., un fabricant de biomatériaux pour la médecine régénérative, a bénéficié du soutien du CAT-B de La Cité et de l’espace de collaboration de La Factorie. Grâce à l’accès à du personnel hautement qualifié, à de l’équipement spécialisé et à du mentorat en affaires, Spiderwort a pu réaliser d’importants progrès grâce à ses biomatériaux végétaux novateurs qui favorisent la réparation et la régénération des tissus vivants, y compris la moelle épinière. Charles M. Cuerrier, chef de la direction et fondateur de Spiderwort, a déclaré : « Nous sommes très heureux de notre collaboration avec le Collège La Cité. Les locaux à bureaux de l’accélérateur d’entreprises et les laboratoires spécialisés du Centre d’accès à la technologie en bio-innovation nous ont permis d’accélérer le développement de notre technologie. »

À ce jour, La Cité a excédé les objectifs et les attentes du projet, avec un soutien accordé à 350 petites et moyennes entreprises, notamment 150 entreprises dirigées par des femmes, 100 jeunes entrepreneurs et 50 entreprises dirigées par de nouveaux immigrants dans les communautés francophones. FedDev Ontario et La Cité offrent des occasions d’affaires intéressantes aux CLOSM du Sud de l’Ontario, et le paysage économique de la région est plus fort grâce à cette diversité.

Restez branchés

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Instagram YouTube RSS
À La Cité, nous sommes fiers de pouvoir contribuer à la compétitivité économique des entreprises francophones en Ontario et de les appuyer dans le développement de nouveaux marchés. - Danika Bourgeois-Desnoyers, directrice du Centre d’entrepreneuriat
Date de modification :